On October 1, 1999.

On October 1, 1999, “High Note” label released “Chillin’”, the 29th David “Fathead” Newman album. It was recorded in December 1998, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by David “Fathead” Newman and Houston Person.


  • David “Fathead” Newman– soprano, alto and tenor saxophone, flute
  • John Hicks– piano
  • Bryan Carrott– vibraphone
  • Steve Novosel– bass
  • Winard Harper– drums
  • Cadino Newman – vocals

Track listing:

  1. Take the Coltrane – Duke Ellington
  2. Return to Paradise – Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington
  3. The Whole Tzimmes – David “Fathead” Newman
  4. These Foolish Things – Jack Strachey, Holt Marvell, Harry Link
  5. Invitation – Bronisław Kaper, Paul Francis Webster
  6. Chillin’ – David “Fathead” Newman
  7. Caravan – Juan Tizol, Duke Ellington, Irving Mills
  8. Red Top – Lionel Hampton, Ben Kynard

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.