Tag Archives: John Hicks

On August 1, 2006.

On August 1, 2006, “Blue Note” label released “Streams of Expression”, the 20th Joe Lovano studio album. It was recorded in December 2005, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Joe Lovano.


  • Joe Lovano: alto clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Larry Farrell: trombone
  • George Garzone: tenor saxophone
  • Tim Hagans: trumpet
  • John Hicks: piano
  • Dennis Irwin: bass
  • Ralph Lalama: clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Lewis Nash: drums
  • Michael Parloff: flute
  • Barry Ries: Trumpet
  • Charles Russo: clarinet, bass clarinet
  • Gunther Schuller: conductor
  • Steve Slagel: flute, alto and soprano saxophone
  • Gary Smulyan: baritone saxophone
  • James Weidman: piano

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Lovano.

  1. Streams of Expression: Streams, Pt. 1
  2. Streams of Expression: Cool, Pt. 2
  3. The Birth of the Cool Suite: Prelude/Moon Dreams
  4. The Birth of the Cool Suite: Interlude No. 1/Move/Interlude No. 2
  5. The Birth of the Cool Suite: Boplicity/Postlude
  6. Blue Sketches
  7. Buckeyes
  8. Streams of Expression: Enchantment, Pt. 3
  9. Streams of Expression: Second Nature, Pt. 4
  10. Streams of Expression: The Fire Prophets, Pt. 5
  11. Big Ben

On April 25, 2000.

On April 25, 2000, “Blue Note” label released “52nd Street Themes”, the seventeen Joe Lovano album. It was recorded in November 1999, at “Avatar Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Joe Lovano. The album won the “Grammy Award for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album.”


  • Joe Lovano– tenor saxophone
  • Steve Slagle– alto saxophone
  • George Garzone– tenor saxophone
  • Ralph Lalama – tenor saxophone
  • Gary Smulyan– baritone saxophone
  • Tim Hagans– trumpet
  • Conrad Herwig– trombone
  • John Hicks– piano
  • Dennis Irwin– bass
  • Lewis Nash– drums

Track listing:

  1. If You Could See Me Now – Tadd Dameron, Carl Sigman
  2. On a Misty Night – Tadd Dameron
  3. Slippin’ at Bells – Miles Davis
  4. Passion Flower – Billy Strayhorn
  5. Deal – Willie “Face” Smith
  6. The Scene Is Clean – Tadd Dameron
  7. Whatever Possess’d Me – Tadd Dameron
  8. Charlie Chan – Joe Lovano
  9. Theme for Ernie – Fred Laacey
  10. Tadd’s Delight – Tadd Dameron
  11. Abstractions on 52nd Street – Joe Lovano
  12. 52nd Street Theme – Thelonious Monk
  13. Embraceable You – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin

On December 16, 1990.

On December 16, 1990, “Paddle Wheel” label released “Blue Bossa”, the second George Adams album with the “New York Unit”. It was recorded in 1990, at “MusicInn Studio” in Tokyo.


  • George Adams– tenor sax
  • John Hicks– piano
  • Richard Davis– bass
  • Tatsuya Nakamura– drums

Track listing:

  1. Blue Bossa – Kenny Dorham
  2. The Everywhere Calypso – Sonny Rollins
  3. I Thought About You – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Mercer
  4. Monk’s Mood – Thelonious Monk
  5. A Minor Melody – Roland Hanna
  6. Blues for Moment – George Adams
  7. Misako and Beautiful Shores – Richard Davis
  8. Take the “A” Train – Billy Strayhorn

On December 4, 1995.

On December 4, 1995, “Milestone” label released “Heart Beats”, the debut Keystone Trio album. It was recorded in 1995, at “Clinton Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Todd Barkan.


  • John Hicks– piano
  • George Mraz– bass
  • Idris Muhammad– drums
  • Freddy Cole– vocals

Track listing:

  1. Speak Low
  2. I Fall in Love Too Easily
  3. If I Should Lose You
  4. It Had to Be You
  5. How Deep Is the Ocean
  6. Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered
  7. Dancing in the Dark
  8. Two Hearts
  9. Stay as Sweet as You Are


On February 19, 1997.

On February 19, 1997, “Milestone” label released “Newklear Music”, the second Keystone Trio album. It was recorded in 1996, at “Clinton Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Todd Barkan.


  • John Hicks– piano
  • George Mraz– bass
  • Idris Muhammad– drums
  • Troy Halderson – engineer
  • Jamie Putnam – art direction
  • Gilles Margerin – design
  • John Abbott – photography
  • Chip Stern – linear notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Sony Rollins.

  1. T.Y.O.G.
  2. Times Slimes
  3. Wynton
  4. Here’s to the People
  5. Airegin
  6. Tell Me You Love Me
  7. Silk ‘n’ Satin
  8. Kids Know
  9. Love Note for Sonny

On February 19, 2017.


On February 19, 2017, Larry Coryell died aged 73. He was guitarist known as the “Godfather of Fusion”. As a leader he has recorded 65 albums, and has performed and recorded with many world known music acts including: John McLaughlin,  Miroslav Vitouš, Chick Corea, Paul Santa Maria, Lenny White, Victor Bailey, Badi Assad, John Abercrombie, John Hicks, Willie Williams, Santi Debriano, Yoron Israel, Billy Cobham, Alphonse Mouzon, The Eleventh House, The Appletree Theatre, Jim Pepper, Gary Burton, Randy Brecker, Jazz Composer’s Orchestra, Wolfgang Dauner, The 5th Dimension, The Free Spirits, Chico Hamilton, Arnie Lawrence, Herbie Mann, Michael Mantler, Steve Marcus, Charles Mingus, Bob Moses, Chico O’Farrill, The Arista All Stars, Simon & Bard Group, Dennis Haklar, Joey DeFrancesco, The Fusion Syndicate, The Wide Hive Player, Kenny Drew Jr., Michael Urbaniak and Dylan Taylor.