Tag Archives: James Sherman

In May 1960.

In May 1960, “Argo” label released “Burnin’”, the 18th Sonny Stitt album. It was recorded in August 1958, in Chicago, and was produced by Jordi Pujol.


  • Sonny Stitt – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Barry Harris – piano
  • William Austin – bass
  • Frank Gant – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Stitt, except where noted.

  1. Ko-Ko – Charlie Parker
  2. A Minor Sax
  3. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, James Sherman, Roger Ramirez
  4. Reed and a Half
  5. How High the Moon – Morgan Lewis, Nancy Hamilton
  6. I’ll Tell You Later
  7. Look for the Silver Lining – Jerome Kern, Buddy G. DeSylva
  8. Easy Living – Leo Robin, Ralph Rainger
  9. It’s Hipper Than That

In April 1957.

In April 1957, “Prestige” label released “The Young Bloods”, the fifth Donald Byrd album. It was recorded in November 1956, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Phil Woods – alto saxophone
  • Al Haig – piano
  • Teddy Kotick – bass
  • Charlie Persip – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Phil Woods except where noted.

  1. Dewey Square – Charlie Parker
  2. Dupeltook
  3. Once More
  4. House of Chan
  5. In Walked George
  6. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman

On August 19, 1997.

On August 19, 1997, “Mapleshade” label released “When Alto Was King”, the fifth and the final C. I. Williams album. It was recorded May 1995 – March 1996 and was produced by Hamiet Bluiett.


  • I. Williams- alto saxophone
  • Larry Willis- piano
  • Don Blackman- piano
  • Ed Cherry- guitar
  • Keter Betts- bass
  • Jimmy Cobb- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by C. I. Williams except where noted.

  1. You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To – Cole Porter
  2. Punkin Juice
  3. ‘Round Midnight – Thelonious Monk
  4. Catfish Sammich
  5. Misty – Erroll Garner
  6. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman
  7. Because of You – Arthur Hammerstein, Dudley Wilkinson
  8. Jeep’s Blues – Duke Ellington, Johnny Hodges
  9. I’ll Close My Eyes – Buddy Kaye, Billy Reid
  10. Avalon – Buddy DeSylva, Al Jolson, Vincent Rose
  11. Precious Lord – Thomas A. Dorsey

On May 6, 2008.

On May 6, 2008, “High Note” label releases “Just Between Friends”, the 57th Houston Person album. It was recorded in October 2005, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Houston Person.


  • Houston Person- tenor saxophone
  • Ron Carter- bass

Track listing:

  1. How Deep Is the Ocean – Irving Berlin
  2. You’ve Changed – Bill Carey, Carl Fischer
  3. Blueberry Hill – Vincent Rose, Larry Stock, Al Lewis
  4. Darn That Dream – Jimmy Van Heusen, Eddie DeLange
  5. Meditation – Antonio Carlos Jobim, Newton Mendonça, Norman Gimbel
  6. Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?) – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman
  7. Lover, Come Back to Me – Sigmund Romberg, Oscar Hammerstein II
  8. Polka Dots and Moonbeams – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  9. Always – Irving Berlin
  10. Alone Together – Arthur Schwartz, Howard Dietz