Tag Archives: Leonard Bernstein

In March 1959.

In March 1959, “Riverside” label released “Everybody Digs Bill Evans”, the third Bill Evans studio album. It was recorded on December 15, 1958, at “Reeves Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  1. Minority – Gigi Gryce
  2. Young and Foolish – Albert Hague, Arnold B. Horwitt
  3. Lucky to Be Me – Leonard Bernstein, Betty Comden, Adolph Green
  4. Night and Day – Cole Porter
  5. Tenderly – Walter Gross
  6. Peace Piece – Bill Evans
  7. What Is There to Say? – Vernon Duke, Yip Harburg
  8. Oleo – Sonny Rollins
  9. Epilogue – Bill Evans


  • Bill Evans- piano
  • Sam Jones- bass
  • Philly Joe Jones- drums



On October 14, 1990.

On October 14, 1990, Leonard Bernstein died aged 72. He was pianist, composer,  conductor and music lecturer, regarded as one of the most important, influential and successful artists in the American music history. He was director of the New York Philharmonic and has been conducting concerts with some of the leading world orchestras. As composer he has worked with various music forms including ballet, opera, musicals, film scores, orchestral, chamber, choral, piano and  vocal music. Many of his music works are still regularly performed on the stages around the world, and his best known and most popular musical “West Side Story” is regarded as one of the classics of the world music literature.

In September 1978.

In September 1978, “Asylum” label released “Blue Valentine”, the fifth Tom Waits studio album. It was recorded July – August 1978, at “Filmways/Heider Recording” in San Francisco, and was produced by Bones Howe. The girl pictured with Waits on the back cover was Rickie Lee Jones.


  • Tom Waits – vocals, electric guitar, piano
  • Ray Crawford, Roland Bautista, Alvin “Shine” Robinson- electric guitar
  • Scott Edwards, Jim Hughart, Byron Miller – bass
  • Da Willie Gonga (George Duke), Harold Battiste- piano
  • Charles Kynard – organ
  • Herbert Hardesty, Frank Vicari- tenor saxophone
  • Rick Lawson, Earl Palmer, Chip White- drums
  • Bobbye Hall Porter- congas
  • Bob Alcivar- orchestra

Track listing:

All tracks by Tom Waits, except where noted.

  1. Somewhere” (From West Side Story) – music by Leonard Bernstein, lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
  2. Red Shoes by the Drugstore
  3. Christmas Card from a Hooker in Minneapolis
  4. Romeo Is Bleeding
  5. $29.00
  6. Wrong Side of the Road
  7. Kentucky Avenue
  8. A Sweet Little Bullet from a Pretty Blue Gun
  9. Blue Valentines


In June 1972.

In June 1972, “Warner Bros” label released “School’s Out”, the fifth Alice Cooper studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “The Record Plant” in New York City, and was produced by Bob Ezrin. The album cover was by Craig Braun.


  • Alice Cooper– vocals
  • Glen Buxton– lead guitar
  • Michael Bruce– rhythm guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Dennis Dunaway– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Neal Smith– drums, backing vocals
  • Bob Ezrin– keyboards
  • Dick Wagner– lead guitar
  • Rockin’ Reggie Vincent – guitar, backing vocals
  • Wayne Andre– trombone

Track listing:

  1. School’s Out – Alice Cooper, Glen Buxton, Michael Bruce, Dennis Dunaway, Neal Smith
  2. Luney Tune – Alice Cooper, Dennis Dunaway
  3. Gutter Cat vs. the Jets – Glen Buton, Dennis Dunway, Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Sondheim
  4. Street Fight – Alice Cooper, Glen Buxton, Michael Bruce, Dennis Dunaway, Neal Smith
  5. Blue Turk – Alice cooper, Michael Bruce
  6. My Stars – Alice Cooper, Bob Ezrin
  7. Public Animal #9 – Alice Cooper, Michael Bruce
  8. Alma Mater – Neal Smith
  9. Grand Finale – Alice Cooper, Glen Buxton, Michael Bruce, Dennis Dunaway, Bob Ezrin, Neal Smith, Mack David, Leonard Bernstein

In May 1964.

In May 1964, “Columbia” label released “Dance with The Shadows”, the third Shadows studio album. It was recorded in 1964, and was produced by Nome Paramor.


  • Hank Marvin– lead guitar, piano, vocals
  • Bruce Welch– rhythm guitar, vocals
  • John Rostill– bass guitar
  • Brian Locking– bass guitar
  • Brian Bennett– drums
  • Malcolm Addey – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Chattanooga Choo Choo – Mack Gordon, Harry Warren
  2. Blue Shadows – Brian Bennett, Brian ‘Licorice’ Locking, Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch
  3. Fandango – Johnny Bradford, Frank Perkins
  4. Tonight (from West Side Story) – Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Sondheim
  5. That’s the Way It Goes – Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch
  6. Big B – Brian Bennett
  7. In the Mood – Joe Garland, Andy Razaf
  8. Lonely Bull(El Solo Toro) – Sol Lake
  9. Dakota – Alan Braden
  10. French Dressing – Brian Bennett
  11. The High and the Mighty – Dimitri Tiomkin
  12. Don’t It Make You Feel Good – Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch
  13. Zambesi – Nico Carstens, Anton De Waal
  14. Temptation – Nacio Brown, Arthur Freed

On September 12, 2000.


On September 12, 2000, “Artemis” label released “It’s Like This”, the tenth Rickie Lee Jones album. It was recorded in 2000, and was produced by Rickie Lee Jones and Bruce Brody.


  • Rickie Lee Jones – vocals, guitar, organ
  • Bruce Brody– organ
  • John Pizzarelli– acoustic guitar
  • Alex Foster– saxophone
  • Jeff Dellisanti– bass clarinet
  • Conrad Herwig– trombone
  • Richard Davis- acoustic bass
  • Paul Nowinski- acoustic bass
  • Michael Elizondo- acoustic bass
  • Peter Erskine– drums
  • Carl Allen– drums
  • Rick Marotta– drums
  • Bashiri Johnson– percussion

Track listing:

  1. Show Biz Kids – Donald Fagen, Walter Becker
  2. Trouble Man – Marvin Gaye
  3. For No One – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  4. Smile – Charlie Chaplin, Geoffrey Parsons, John Turner
  5. Low Spark of High Heeled Boys – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood
  6. On the Street Where You Live – Alan Jay Lerner, Frederick Loewe
  7. I Can’t Get Started – Vernon Duke, Ira Gershwin
  8. Up a Lazy River – Hoagy Carmichael, Sidney Arodin
  9. Someone to Watch Over Me – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  10. Cycles – G. Caldwell
  11. One Hand, One Heart – Leonard Bernstein


On March 29, 1988.


On March 29, 1988, “Columbia” label released “Lefty”, the seventh Art Garfunkel solo album. It was recorded in 1987, and was produced by Geoff Emerick, Art Garfunkel, Jay Graydon and Steve Gadd. The album title came from the fact that Garfunkel is left-handed, and his cover photo was taken by his brother Jules.


  • Art Garfunkel– vocals
  • Hugh McCracken– guitar
  • Joe Osborn– bass guitar
  • Eddie Gómez– acoustic bass guitar
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Jeremy Steig – flute
  • Nicky Hopkins– keyboards
  • Stephen Bishop– omnichord, backing vocals
  • Michael Brecker– saxophone
  • Del Newman – strings, brass, woodwind
  • Rob Sabino– synthesizer
  • Kenny Rankin– backing vocals
  • Leah Kunkel– backing vocals
  • Mary Ann Kennedy – backing vocals
  • Pam Rose – backing vocals
  • Geoff Emerick– engineer
  • Jay Graydon– engineer
  • Stuart Breed – engineer
  • Ian Eales – engineer
  • Mick Gazauski – engineer
  • Doug Sax – mastering
  • Ron Lewter – mastering
  • Chris Austropchuk – cover design
  • Jules Garfunkel – photography
  • Caroline Greyshock – photography (back cover)

Track listing:

  1. This Is the Moment – David Foster, Cynthia Weil, Linda Jenner and Ray ParkerJr.
  2. I Have a Love – Stephen Sondheim and Leonard Bernstein
  3. So Much in Love – George Williams, Bill Jackson and Roy Straigis
  4. Slow Breakup – Stephen Bishop
  5. Love Is the Only Chain – Mary Ann Kennedy, Pam Rose and Pat Bunch
  6. When a Man Loves a Woman – Calvin Lewis and Andrew Wright
  7. I Wonder Why – Bill Lovelady, Marita Phillips and Peter Skellern
  8. King of Tonga – Stephen Bishop
  9. If Love Takes You Away – Stephen Bishop
  10. The Promise – Nick Holmes