Tag Archives: Ben Raleigh

In March 1962.

In March 1962, “Verve” label released “Rhythm Is My Business”, album by Ella Fitzgerald. It was recorded on January 30 and 31, 1962, and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Ella Fitzgerald- vocals
  • Taft Jordan, Ernie Royal, Joe Wilder – trumpet
  • Melba Liston, Kai Winding, Britt Woodman – trombone
  • Carl Davis, Jerry Dodgion, William Shakesnider, Les Taylor, Phil Woods – reeds
  • Hank Jones- piano
  • Mundell Lowe- guitar
  • Lucille Dixon, George Duvivier – double bass
  • Gus Johnson- drums
  • Bill Doggett- arranger, conductor, organ

Track listing:

  1. Rough Ridin’ – Ella Fitzgerald, Hank Jones, William Tennyson
  2. Broadway – Billy Bird, Teddy McRae, Henri Woode
  3. You Can Depend On Me – Charles Carpenter, Louis Dunlap, Earl Hines
  4. Runnin’ Wild – Arthur Gibbs, Joe Grey, Leo Wood
  5. Show Me the Way to Get Out of This World ‘Cause That’s Where Everything Is – Les Clark, Matt Dennis
  6. I’ll Always Be In Love With You – Bud Green, Herman Ruby, Sam H. Stept
  7. Hallelujah, I Love Him So – Ray Charles
  8. I Can’t Face the Music – Rube Bloom, Ted Koehler
  9. No Moon at All – Redd Evans, Dave Mann
  10. Laughin’ on the Outside – Ben Raleigh, Bernie Wayne
  11. After You’ve Gone – Henry Creamer, Turner Layton

In May 1963.

In May 1963, “Capitol” label released “Where Did Everyone Go?” the 34th Nat King Cole album. It was recorded in August 1962, and was produced by Lee Gillette.


  • Nat King Cole– vocal
  • Gordon Jenkins– arranger, conductor

Track listing:

  1. Where Did Everyone Go? – Mack David, Jimmy Van Heusen
  2. Say It Isn’t So – Irving Berlin
  3. If Love Ain’t There – Johnny Burke
  4. (Ah, the Apple Trees) When the World Was Young – Philippe Gerard, Angela Vannier, Johnny Mercer
  5. Am I Blue – Harry Akst, Grant Clarke
  6. Someone to Tell It To – Sammy Cahn, Dolores Fuller, Van Heusen
  7. The End of a Love Affair – Edward Redding
  8. I Keep Going Back to Joe’s – Marvin Fisher, Jack Segal
  9. Laughing on the Outside (Crying on the Inside) – Ben Raleigh, Bernie Wayne
  10. No, I Don’t Want Her – Joe Bailey
  11. Spring Is Here – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  12. That’s All There Is (There Isn’t Anymore) – Gordon Jenkins

On February 17, 1969.

cloud 9

On February 17, 1969, “Gordy” label released “Cloud Nine”, the ninth Temptations studio album. It was recorded 1968 – January 1969, and was produced by Norman Whitfield. This was first Temptations studio album to feature Dennis Edwards as the replacement for David Ruffin, and it marks the beginning of the Temptations’ psychedelia period, in a fusion genre referred to as “psychedelic soul.” In 1969, the album won The Temptations their first “Grammy Award”.


  • Dennis Edwards– vocals (tenor)
  • Eddie Kendricks– vocals (tenor/falsetto)
  • Paul Williams– vocals (tenor/baritone)
  • Melvin Franklin– vocals (bass)
  • Otis Williams– vocals (tenor/baritone)

Track listing:

  1. Cloud Nine – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  2. I Heard It Through the Grapevine – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  3. Run Away Child, Running Wild – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  4. Love Is a Hurtin’ Thing – Ben Raleigh, Dave Linden
  5. Hey Girl – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  6. Why Did She Have to Leave Me (Why Did She Have to Go) – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  7. I Need Your Lovin’ – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  8. Don’t Let Him Take Your Love From Me – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  9. I Gotta Find a Way (To Get You Back) – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield,Eddie Holland, Cornelius Grant, Eddie Kendricks
  10. Gonna Keep on Tryin’ till I Win Your Love – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield