Tag Archives: February 14

On February 14, 1990.

On February 14, 1990, “WEA International” label released “The City”, the 15th Vangelis studio album. It was recorded in 1989, at “Hotel de la Ville” in Rome and “Mega Studios” in Paris, and was produced by Vangelis.


  • Vangelis – synthesizers, drum machines, arrangements
  • Roman Polanski– narrative
  • Emmanuelle Seigner – narrative
  • Kathie Hill – voices
  • Kimura Reiko – voices
  • Mixamo Yuko – voices
  • Red Tiger! – art direction, design
  • Stathis Zalikis – photography
  • Vassilis Markis – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Vangelis.

  1. Dawn
  2. Morning Papers
  3. Nerve Centre
  4. Side Streets
  5. Good to See You
  6. Twilight
  7. Red Lights
  8. Procession

On February 14, 1974.

On February 14, 1974, “Harvest” label released “Valentine”, seventh Roy Harper album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Peter Jenner and Roy Harper.


  • Roy Harper– vocals, guitar
  • Pete Sears- electric bass
  • Mike Gibbs – brassarrangement
  • Ronnie Lane- electric bass
  • Steve Broughton – percussion
  • David Bedford- orchestral arrangements
  • Joe Petagno – artwork (carbon Roy Harper portrait)

Track listing:

All tracks by Roy Harper, except where noted.

  1. Forbidden Fruit
  2. Male Chauvinist Pig Blues
  3. I’ll See You Again
  4. Twelve Hours of Sunset
  5. Acapulco Gold
  6. Commune
  7. Magic Woman (Liberation Reshuffle)
  8. Che
  9. North Country – traditional, arranged by Roy Harper
  10. Forever

On February 14, 2014.


On February 14, 2014, “PUSA Inc” label released “Kudos to You!” the sixth The Presidents of the United States of America studio album. It was recorded in 2007, and October and November 2013, and was produced by Martin Feveyear, Chris Ballew, Andrew McKeag, Jason Finn and John Roderick.


  • Chris Ballew– vocals, bass guitar
  • Andrew McKeag– guitar
  • Jason Finn– drums
  • John Roderick– backing vocals
  • Martin Feveyear– vocals
  • Derek Vander Griend, Evan Bross – layout, art direction

Track listing:

All tracks by Chris Ballew, except where noted.

  1. Slow Slow Fly
  2. Crappy Ghost
  3. Good Morning Tycoon
  4. Poor Little Me
  5. Rooftops in Spain
  6. Stay with Me – Chris Ballew, Tad Hutchison
  7. Crown Victoria
  8. Electric Spider
  9. Finger Monster
  10. Flea Versus Mite
  11. Innocent Bird
  12. Ohio – Chris Ballew, Dave Thiele
  13. She’s a Nurse
  14. Truckstop on the Moon



On February 14, 1994.


On February 14, 1994, “Epic” label released “Hanky Panky”, the sixth The The studio album. It was recorded in 1993, at “The War Room” in Pittsburgh, and was produced by Matt Johnson and Bruce Lampcov. The album featured cover versions of Hank Williams’ songs.


  • Matt Johnson- vocals, guitar, bass
  • Eric Schermerhorn- electric & slide guitar
  • Hollywood Dorsey- bass
  • Reverend Brian McLeod – drums
  • Kevin Halton – steel guitar
  • Gentleman Jim Fitting – harmonica
  • D. C. Collard – treated melodica, arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Hank Williams, arrangements/re-arrangements by Matt Johnson and D. C. Collard

  1. Honky Tonkin’
  2. Six More Miles
  3. My Heart Would Know
  4. If You’ll Be A Baby To Me
  5. I’m A Long Gone Daddy
  6. Weary Blues From Waitin’
  7. I Saw the Light
  8. Your Cheatin’ Heart
  9. I Can’t Get You Off of my Mind
  10. There’s a Tear in My Beer
  11. I Can’t Escape from You


On February 14, 1994.


On February 14, 1994, “Matador” label released “Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain”, the second Pavement studio album. It was recorded August – September 1993. at “Random Falls Studios” in New York, and was produced by Stephen Malkmus, Scott Kannberg, Mark Ibold, Steve West, Bob Nastanovich and Bryce Goggin. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 210 on its  list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time” and at number 10 on the list of “Best Albums of the Nineties”. In 2003, it was ranked number 8 on “Pitchfork Media’s” list “Top 100 Albums of the 1990s”. In July 2014, magazine “Guitar World”  ranked “Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain” at number 21 in their “Superunknown: 50 Iconic Albums That Defined 1994” list.


  • Stephen Malkmus – vocals, guitar
  • Scott Kannberg– guitar, backing vocals
  • Mark Ibold– bass
  • Steve West– drums, percussion
  • Bob Nastanovich– percussion
  • Bryce Goggin– piano

Track listing:

All tracks by Stephen Malkmus, except where noted.

  1. Silence Kid
  2. Elevate Me Later
  3. Stop Breathin
  4. Cut Your Hair
  5. Newark Wilder
  6. Unfair
  7. Gold Soundz
  8. 5-4=Unity
  9. Range Life
  10. Heaven Is a Truck
  11. Hit the Plane Down – Scott Kannberg
  12. Fillmore Jive

On February 14, 1972.

Neil Young Harvest

On February 14, 1972, “Reprise” label released “Harvest”, the fourth Neil Young album.  It was recorded January – September 1971, at “Quadrafonic Sound Studios” in Nashville; “Barking Town Hall” in London; “Royce Hall” at UCLA and “Broken Arrow Studio No. 2” in Woodside, and was produced by Neil Young, Elliot Mazer, Henry Lewy and  Jack Nitzsche. “Harvest” was the best-selling album of 1972 in the United States. in 1998, “Q” magazine readers voted “Harvest” the 64th greatest album of all time. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Harvest” at number 78 on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Neil Young— acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, harmonica, lead vocals
  • Kenny Buttrey— drums
  • Tim Drummond— bass
  • Ben Keith— pedal steel guitar
  • Jack Nitzsche— piano, lap steel guitar, arrangements
  • John Harris — piano
  • Teddy Irwin — acoustic guitar
  • James McMahon — piano
  • James Taylor— banjo guitar, backing vocals
  • Linda Ronstadt— backing vocals
  • David Crosby— backing vocals
  • Stephen Stills— backing vocals
  • Graham Nash— backing vocals
  • London Symphony Orchestra— orchestrations

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young.

  1. Out on the Weekend
  2. Harvest
  3. A Man Needs a Maid
  4. Heart of Gold
  5. Are You Ready for the Country?
  6. Old Man
  7. There’s a World
  8. Alabama
  9. The Needle and the Damage Done
  10. Words