Tag Archives: I Should Care

On September 13, 2019.

On September 13, 2019, “Jazz Village” label released “Ballades”, the 69th Ahmad Jamal album.


  • Ahmad Jamal – piano
  • James Cammack – bass 

Track listing:

All tracks by Ahmad Jamal, except where noted.

  1. Marseille
  2. Because I Love You
  3. I Should Care – Paul Weston, Axel Stordahl, Sammy Cahn
  4. Poinciana – Nat Simon, Buddy Bernier
  5. Land of Dreams – Eddie Heywood, Jr., Norman Gimbel
  6. What’s New? – Bob Haggart, Johnny Burke
  7. So Rare – Jerry Herst, Jack Sharpe
  8. Whisperings
  9. Spring is Here – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart / Your Story – Bill Evans
  10. Emily – Johnny Mandel, Johnny Mercer

In August 1958.

In August 1958, “Verve” label released “Tormé”, the ninth Mel Tormé album. It was recorded in June 1958 and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Mel Tormé- vocals
  • Marty Paich- arranger, conductor

Track listing:

  1. That Old Feeling – Lew Brown, Sammy Fain
  2. Gloomy Sunday – Sam M. Lewis, Rezso Seress
  3. Body and Soul – Frank Eyton, Johnny Green, Edward Heyman, Robert Sour
  4. Nobody’s Heart – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  5. I Should Care – Sammy Cahn, Axel Stordahl, Paul Weston
  6. The House Is Haunted (by the Echo of Your Last Goodbye) – Basil Adlam, Billy Rose
  7. Blues in the Night – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer
  8. I Don’t Want to Cry Anymore – Victor Schertzinger
  9. Where Can I Go Without You? – Peggy Lee, Victor Young
  10. How Did She Look? – Gladys Shelley, Abner Silver
  11. ‘Round Midnight – Bernie Hanighen, Thelonious Monk, Cootie Williams
  12. I’m Gonna Laugh You Right out of My Life – Cy Coleman, Joseph McCarthy

On September 27, 2011.

On September 27, 2011, “Mack Avenue” label released “The Good Feeling”, album by the Christian McBride Big Band. It was recorded in 2011, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Christian McBride. In 2011, the album won “Grammy Award for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album”.


  • Christian McBride– double bass
  • Steve Wilson– alto saxophone, flute
  • Todd Bashore – alto saxophone, flute
  • Ron Blake– tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute
  • Todd Williams – tenor saxophone, flute
  • Loren Schoenberg– tenor saxophone
  • Carl Maraghi – baritone saxophone, bass clarinet
  • Frank Greene – trumpet
  • Freddie Hendrix – trumpet
  • Nicholas Payton– trumpet
  • Nabati Isles – trumpet
  • James Burton – trombone
  • Steve Davis– trombone
  • Michael Dease– trombone
  • Douglas Purviance– bass trombone
  • Xavier Davis– piano
  • Ulysses Owens– drums
  • Melissa Walker – vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Christian McBride except where noted.

  1. Shake ‘n’ Blake
  2. Broadway – Bill Bird, Teddy McRae, Henri Woode
  3. Brother Mister
  4. When I Fall in Love – Edward Heyman, Victor Young
  5. Science Fiction
  6. The Shade of the Cedar Tree
  7. The More I See You – Mack Gordon, Harry Warren
  8. I Should Care – Sammy Cahn, Axel Stordahl, Paul Weston
  9. A Taste of Honey – Ric Marlow, Bobby Scott
  10. Bluesin’ in Alphabet City
  11. In a Hurry

In January 1964.

In January 1964, “Riverside” label released “How My Heart Sings!”, the 13th Bill Evans album. It was recorded May – June 1963, at “Sound Makers Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Bill Evans- piano
  • Chuck Israels- bass
  • Paul Motian- drums

Track listing:

  1. How My Heart Sings – Earl Zindars
  2. I Should Care – Sammy Cahn, Axel Stordahl, Paul Weston
  3. In Your Own Sweet Way – Dave Brubeck
  4. In Your Own Sweet Way – alternate take – bonus track
  5. Walking Up – Bill Evans
  6. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  7. 34 Skidoo – Bill Evans
  8. Ev’rything I Love – Cole Porter
  9. Show-Type Tune – Bill Evans