On October 5, 1979.


On October 5, 1979, “A&M’ label released “I’m the Man”, Joe Jackson’s second album.  The album was recorded in March 1979, at the “TW Studios”, Fulham, in London, and was produced by David Kershenbaum.


  • Joe Jackson– vocals, piano, harmonica, melodica
  • Gary Sanford – guitar
  • Graham Maby– bass, vocals
  • David Houghton – drums, vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by Joe Jackson.

  1. On Your Radio
  2. Geraldine and John
  3. Kinda Kute
  4. It’s Different for Girls
  5. I’m the Man
  6. The Band Wore Blue Shirts
  7. Don’t Wanna Be Like That
  8. Amateur Hour
  9. Get That Girl
  10. Friday

On October 5, 1973.


On October 5, 1973, “DJM” label released “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road”, the seventh Elton John’s studio album.  It was recorded in May 1973, at the “Château d’Hérouville, in France, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon. The album included the singles “Candle in the Wind”,”Bennie and the Jets”, “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” and “Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting”, and became one of John’s  most commercial albums, being sold in more than 30 million copies worldwide. “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” is ranked No. 91 on “Rolling Stone’s” magazine list of “500 Greatest albums of all time” and was inducted in to the “Grammy Hall of Fame” in 2003.


  • Elton John– vocals, piano, electric piano, organ, Farfisa organ, mellotron, Leslie piano
  • Dee Murray– bass
  • Davey Johnstone– acoustic, electric, Leslie, slide and steel guitars, banjo
  • Nigel Olsson– drums, congas, tambourine
  • Ray Cooper– tambourine
  • Dee Murray, Davey Johnstone, Nigel Olsson – backing vocals
  • Del Newman[– orchestral arrangement
  • Leroy Gómez– saxophone solo
  • David Hentschel – ARP synthesizer
  • Kiki Dee– backing vocals

Track listing

All compositions by Elton John and Bernie Taupin except “Funeral for a Friend”, by Elton John.

  1. Funeral for a Friend / Love Lies Bleeding
  2. Candle in the Wind
  3. Bennie and the Jets
  4. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  5. This Song Has no Title
  6. Grey Seal
  7. Jamaica Jerk-off
  8. I’ve Seen That Movie Too
  9. Sweet Painted Lady
  10. The Ballad of Danny Bailey
  11. Dirty Little Girl
  12. All the Girls Love Alice
  13. Your Sister Can’t Twist
  14. Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting
  15. Roy Rogers
  16. Social Disease
  17. Harmony


On October 5, 1970.

Led_Zeppelin III

On October 5, 1970, “Atlantic” label released “Led Zeppelin III”, the third Led Zeppelin studio album. It was composed at a cottage in Wells, known as “Bron-Yr-Aur”, and was recorded  December 1969; January – August 1970, at “Rolling Stones Mobile Studio”, in Headley Grange, Hampshire; “Island Studios”, “Olympic Studios” in London,  and was produced by Jimmy Page. The album cover was designed the multimedia artist Zacron.  The album was certified Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 3 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 3 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in UK by “BPI, and 6 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • John Bonham– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar, Hammond organ, Moog synthesizer, mandolin, double bass, string arrangement
  • Jimmy Page– acoustic, electric and pedal steel guitars, banjo, dulcimer, bass, backing vocals
  • Robert Plant– lead vocals, harmonica

Track listing:

  1. Immigrant Song – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  2. Friends – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  3. Celebration Day – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  4. Since I’ve Been Loving You – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  5. Out in the Tiles – Jimmy page, Robert Plant, John Bonham
  6. Gallows Pole – traditional, arr. by Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  7. Tangerine – Jimmy Page
  8. That’s the Way – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  9. Bron-Y-Stomp – Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones, Robert Plant
  10. Hats Off to (Roy) Harper – traditional, arr. by Charles Obscure

On October 5, 1962.



On October 5, 1962, “Parlaphone” label released “Love Me Do”, the Beatles’ first single, with “P.S. I Love You” as B side. “Love Me Do” was written few years before it was released, and before the name The Beatles existed. The song is signed by Lennon and McCartney and the single was produced by George Martin. Three different versions of the song were recorded, each with a different drummer:

  • 6 June 1962 – with Pete Best
  • 4 September 1962 – with Ringo Starr
  • 11 September 1962 – with Andy White

George Martin said: When ‘Love Me Do’ was released, it was the day the world changed.

On October 2, 1979.

Police-Reggatta de blanc

On October 2, 1979, “A&M” label released “Reggatta de Blanc”, the second Police studio album. The album was recorded from February – August 1979, at the Surrey Sound Studios, and was produced by Nigel Gray and The Police. In 1980, the title track brought the band their first “Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance”. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Reggata de Blanc” No. 372 on its list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”.


  • Sting– bass guitar, lead  and backing vocals, double bass
  • Andy Summers– guitar, backing vocals, piano
  • Stewart Copeland– drums, backing and lead vocals, guitar, piano, spoken word

Track listing

All compositions by Sting, except where noted.

  1. Message in a Bottle
  2. Reggata de Blanc – Andy Summers, Sting and Stewart Copeland
  3. It’s Alright for You – Sting and Stewart Copeland
  4. Bring on the Night
  5. Deathwish – Andy Summers, Sting and Stewart Copeland
  6. Walking on the Moon
  7. On Any Other Day – Stewart Copeland
  8. The Bed’s Too Big Without You
  9. Contact
  10. Does Everyone Stare
  11. No Time This Time

On October 3, 1967.


On October 3, 1967, Woodrow Wilson “Woody” Guthrie died aged 55. He was musician, singer-songwriter and musician whose musical legacy includes hundreds of political, traditional, children’s songs, along with ballads and improvised works. He performed with the slogan “This machine kills fascists” displayed on his guitar. His song “This Land Is Your Land” has become one of the most popular music pieces in the history of the American popular music, and is regularly sung in American schools Big number of famous musicians and authors have acknowledged Guthrie as their major influence, including:Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, Bruce Springsteen, Harry Chapin, John Mellencamp, Pete Seeger,  Joe Strummer, Billy Bragg,Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir, Jeff Tweedy, and Tom Paxton.



On October 2, 1970.

Atom Heart Mother

On October 2, 1970, “Harvest” label released “Atom Heart Mother” the fifth Pink Floyd studio album. It was recorded February – August 1970, at the “Abbey Road Studios” in London,  and was produced by Roger Waters, Nick Mason, David Gilmour, Rick Wright and Norman Smith. The album cover was created by “Hipgnosis” and was band’s first album to be specially mixed for four-channel quadraphonic sound as well as conventional two-channel stereo.


  • Roger Waters– bass guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals, tape effects, tape collages
  • David Gilmour– guitars, vocals, bass, drums
  • Rick Wright– keyboards, vocals
  • Nick Mason– drums, percussion, tape editing, tape collage
  • EMI Pops Orchestra –brass and orchestral sections
  • Haflidi Hallgrimsson– cello
  • John Alldis Choir– vocals
  • Alan Styles –voice, sound effects
  • Ron Geesin– orchestration

Track listing:

  1. Atom Heart Mother – Nick Mason, David Gilmour, Roger Waters, Rick Wright, Ron Geesin
  2. If – Roger Waters
  3. Summer of ’68 – Rick Wright
  4. Fat Old Sun – David Gilmour
  5. Alan’s Psychedelic Breakfast – Roger Waters, Nick Mason, David Gilmour, Rick Wright

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas