Tag Archives: Roland Kato

On September 17, 2013.

On September 17, 2013, “Blue Note” label released “Wise Up Ghost”, a collaborative album by Elvis Costello and the band The Roots. It was recorded 2012 – 2013, and was produced by Elvis Costello, Questlove and Steven Mandel.


  • Elvis Costello – vocals, Ampeg Baby bass, baritone, distortion, wah wah and rhythm guitar, horn arrangements, melodica, organ, piano, Wurlitzer piano
  • The Roots
  • Questlove – drums
  • Ray Angry – bells, clavinet, Farfisa organ, keyboards, organ, piano
  • Kirk Douglas – vocals, acoustic, electric and rhythm guitar
  • Drew Dembowski, Mark Kelley, Pino Palladino, Ken Wild – bass
  • Robert Berg, Roland Kato, Kazi Pitelka – viola
  • Sally Berman, Mark Cargill, Sam Fischer, Alex Gorlovsky, Anna Kostyuchek, Mike Ferrill, Elizabeth Wilson – violin
  • Diane Birch– background vocals
  • Damon Bryson – sousaphone
  • Alex Budman– bass clarinet
  • Matt Cappy – flugelhorn, horn arrangements, trumpet
  • Bob Carr – bassoon, contrabassoon
  • Chris Farr – flute, horn arrangements, saxophone
  • Miguel Martinez, Kevan Torfeh, Cecilia Tsan – cello
  • Colin Nairne – session coordinator
  • James Poyser- keyboards, piano
  • Frank “Knuckles” Walker – bells, chimes, percussion, tambourine
  • Bill Reichenbach- contrabass trombone, euphonium, tuba
  • Korey Riker – horn arrangements, baritone and tenor saxophone
  • Marisol “La Marisoul” Hernandez – vocals, translation
  • Steven Mandel – engineer, horn arrangements, mixing
  • Brent Fischer- conductor, orchestration
  • Assa Drori – concert master, contractor
  • The Brent Fischer Orchestra
  • Mike Cashin – assistant engineer
  • Eric Eylands, Keith Horn, Frank Rodriguez, Felix Romero, Claris Sayadian-Dodge – production assistant
  • Sebastián Krys, Richard Stolz – vocal engineer
  • Dave Kutch – mastering
  • Coco Shinomiya – art direction
  • Nicole Frantz – creative director
  • Ben Greenman – liner notes
  • Danny Clinch- photography
  • Zach Hochkeppel – product manager
  • Steve Hughes – euphonium
  • Guadalupe Jolicoeur – translation
  • Brendan Steele – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello, Ahmir Thompson and Steven Mandel, except where noted

  1. Walk Us Uptown
  2. Sugar Won’t Work
  3. Refuse To Be Saved
  4. Wake Me Up
  5. Tripwire
  6. Stick Out Your Tongue
  7. Come the Meantimes – Elvis Costello, Ahmir Thompson, Steven Mande, Ronald Dunbar, Daphne Ann Dozier, Edythe Vernelle Craighead
  8. (She Might Be A) Grenade
  9. Cinco Minutos Con Vos
  10. Viceroy’s Row
  11. Wise Up Ghost
  12. If I Could Believe – Elvis Costello

On August 5, 2008.

On August 5, 2008, “Nonesuch” label released “Harps and Angels”, the eleventh  Randy Newman studio album. It was recorded in 2008, at “Recorded at Sunset Sound Studios” in Hollywood, “The Newman Stage”, “Twentieth Century Fox Studios” in Beverly Hills, and was produced by Mitchell Froom and Lenny Waronker.

Track listing:

  • Randy Newman – pianist, bandleader
  • Greg Cohen- bass
  • Steve Donnelly – guitar
  • Pete Thomas- drums
  • Greg Leisz- pedal steel and acoustic slide guitar
  • Mitchell Froom- keyboard and organ
  • Violins: Roger Wilkie (concertmaster), Eun-Mee Ahn, Jacqueline Brand, Kevin Connolly, Joel Derouin, Julie Ann Gigante, Natalie Leggett, Helen Nightengale, Alyssa Park, Sara Parkins, Katia Popov, Rafael Rishik, Anatoly Rosinsky, Marc Sazer, Tereza Stanislav, Lisa M. Sutton, Sarah Thornblade, Irina Voloshina
  • Violas: Brian Dembow (first viola), Robert Berg, Thomas Diener, Steven Gordon, Roland Kato, Darrin McCann, Victoria Miskolczy, Michael Nowak, Shanti Randall, David Walther
  • Violoncelli: Dennis Karmazyn (first cello), Antony Cooke, Steve Erdody, Christine Ermacoff, Armen Ksajikian, Andrew Shulman, David Speltz, Cecelia Tsan
  • Bass violins: Michael Valerio (first bass violin), Drew Dembowski, Edward Meares, Susan Ranney
  • Flutes: James Walker, Norda Mullen, Geraldine Rotella, David Shostac
  • Clarinets: Gary Boyver, Stuart Clark, Donald Foster, Marty Krystall
  • Saxophones: Daniel Higgins, Gary Foster, Greg Huckins, Bill Liston, Brian Scanlon
  • Oboes: Thomas Boyd, Leslie Reed
  • Bassoons: Kenneth Munday, Michael O’Donovan, Judith Farmer
  • French horns: James Thatcher, Mark Adams, Richard Todd
  • Trumpets: Warren Luening, Malcolm McNab, Daniel Fornero, Jon Lewis, Timothy Morrison
  • Trombones: William Booth, Bruce Fowler, Alesander Iles, William Reichenbach, George Thatcher
  • Tuba: Doug Tornquist
  • Percussion (including mallets): Alan Estes, Gregory Goodall
  • Harps: Jo Ann Turovsky, Allison Allport
  • Accordion: Frank Marocco
  • Background vocals: Carmen Carter, Tim Davis, Luana Jackman, Steve Jackson, Rick Logan, Susan Stevens Logan, Fletcher Sheridan, Oren Waters, Terry Woods
  • Engineered by David Boucher
  • Mastered by Robert C. Ludwig
  • Angry Belgians on “A Piece of the Pie”: Kathie Van Kerckhoven and Jeremy Altervain
  • Happy immigrants on “Laugh and Be Happy”: Los Amigos Locos del Este
  • Orchestral contractor: Sandy DeCrescent
  • Music preparation: Jo Ann Kane Music Services
  • Vocal contractor: Luana Jackman
  • Album photography: Autumn De Wilde
  • Stock photography for booklet by Jupiterimages, Perry Mastrovito, and Photo 24
  • Art direction and design: Barbara De Wilde
  • Production manager for Nonesuch Records: Eli Cane
  • Editorial coordinator for Nonesuch Records: Ronen Givony
  • Executive in charge of production for Nonesuch Records: Karina Beznicki
  • Executive producer: Robert Hurwitz

Track listing:

All tracks by Randy Newman

  1. Harps and Angels
  2. Losing You
  3. Laugh and Be Happy
  4. A Few Words in Defense of Our Country
  5. A Piece of the Pie
  6. Easy Street
  7. Korean Parents
  8. Only a Girl
  9. Potholes
  10. Feels Like Home