Tag Archives: Christopher Cross

On September 3, 1996.

On September 3, 1996, “Capitol” label released “Venus Isle”, the third Eric Johnson studio album. It was recorded in 1996, at “Saucer One Studio” and “Arlyn Studios” in Austin, Texas, “A&M Studios” in Hollywood, “Digital Services Recording”, “Rocket Ranch Studios” in Houston, “Reelsound Recording Company” in Buda, Texas, and was produced by Eric Johnson and Richard Mullen.


  • Eric Johnson – lead vocals, guitar, guitar synthesizer, synthesizer, piano, electric sitar, arrangements, engineer
  • Amit Chatterjee – vocals
  • Christopher Cross – vocals
  • Jimmie Vaughan – additional guitar
  • Steve Barber – synthesizer, Hammond B3, arrangements
  • Kyle Brock – bass, arrangements
  • Roscoe Beck – bass, engineering
  • Chris Maresh – bass
  • Tommy Taylor – drums, percussion, arrangements
  • Bill Maddox – drums, engineer
  • James Fenner – percussion
  • Chris Searles – percussion
  • Richard Kilmer – strings
  • Bruce Williams – strings
  • Jennifer Bourianoff – strings
  • Anthony Stogner – strings
  • Scott McIntosh – trumpet

Track listing:

All tracks by Eric Johnson, except where noted.

  1. Venus Isle
  2. Battle We Have Won
  3. All About You
  4. S.R.V.
  5. Lonely in the Night – Vince Mariani
  6. Manhattan
  7. Camel’s Night Out – Kyle Brock, Mark Younger-Smith
  8. Song for Lynette
  9. When the Sun Meets the Sky – Johnson, Steve Barber
  10. Pavilion
  11. Venus Reprise

On November 6, 1998.

On November 6, 1998, “Ark 21” label released “Seven Worlds”, the fourth Eric Johnson album. It was recorded 1976 – 1978, at “Odyssey Sound” and “Pecan Street” in Austin, Texas, and was produced by Jay Aaron Podolnick.


  • Eric Johnson – lead vocals, guitar, Fender Rhodes electric piano, piano, lap steel guitar
  • Jay Aaron – vocals
  • Christopher Cross – vocals
  • Liza Farrow – vocals
  • Kim Wilson – harmonica
  • Nick Phelps – trumpet
  • Jimmy Martin – guitar
  • Steve Barber – synthesizers
  • Roscoe Beck – bass guitar
  • Kyle Brock – bass guitar
  • David Dennard – bass
  • Bill Maddox – drums
  • Mark Singer – drums
  • Linda Wetherby – viola da gamba

Track listing:

All tracks by Eric Johnson, except where noted.

  1. Zap
  2. Emerald Eyes – Eric Johnson, Jay Aaron Podolnick
  3. Showdown – Eric Johnson, Jay Aaron Podolnick
  4. Missing Key
  5. Alone with You
  6. I Promise I Will Try
  7. Winter Came
  8. Turn the Page
  9. A Song for Life
  10. By Your Side

On August 5, 1992.

On August 5, 1992, Jeffrey Thomas Porcaro died aged 38. He was a songwriter, musician (drums), and record producer, best known as the drummer with Toto. He was one of the most south after session drummers in popular music, played on hundreds of albums and worked with numerous artists such as Paul McCartney, Pink Floyd, Michael Jackson, George Benson, Greg Lake, Seals & Crofts, Les Dudek, Joe Cocker, Steely Dan, The Jacksons, Tommy Bolin, Jackson Browne, Leo Sayer, Boz Scaggs, Carly Simon, Eric Carmen, Valerie Carter, Lisa Dal Bello, Hall & Oates, Diana Ross, Colin Blunstone, Larry Carlton, Allen Toussaint, Dave Mason, Warren Zevon, Ruben Blades, Bim, Jerry Williams, Al Stewart, Marc Jordan, Rickie Lee Jones, Janne Schaffer, Lowell George, Aretha Franklin, Jon Anderson, Luis Miguel, Love and Money, Patti Austin, Mariya Takeuchi, The Brothers Johnson, Peter Frampton, Bee Gees, Char, Christopher Cross, Randy Crawford, Al Jarreau, Amii Ozaki, Crosby, Stills & Nash, Eye to Eye, Donna Summer, Elton John, Melissa Manchester, Donald Fagen, Herbie Hancock, Don Henley, Michael McDonald, Lionel Richie, Paul Simon, Randy Newman, Russ Taff, Chicago, David Gilmour Joe Walsh, Eric Clapton, Peter cetera, Earth Wind & Fire, roger Hodgson, David Benoit, Dr. John, Steve Porcaro, Nik Kershaw, Poco, Clair Mario, Celine Dion, Natalie Cole, Madonna, Jude Cole, Sandy Patty, Bruce Springsteen, Michael Bolton, Cher, Dire Straits, Richard Marx, Bonnie Raitt, Rod Stewart, B-52’s, Go West, 10CC, Roger Waters, Paul Young, and David Crosby. In 1993, Porcaro was posthumously inducted into the “Modern Drummer Hall of Fame”.

In December 1979.

In December 1979, “Warner Bros” label released the self-titled, debut Christopher Cross album. It was recorded in July 1979, at “Warner Bros Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Michael Omartian. The album was certified Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and 5 x Platinum in US by “RIAA”.


  • Christopher Cross – lead and backing vocals, electric and acoustic guitar, arrangements
  • Larry Carlton– guitar solo
  • Valerie Carter– lead and background vocals
  • Lenny Castro– percussion
  • Assa Drori – concertmaster
  • Victor Feldman– vibraphone, percussion
  • Chuck Findley– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Jay Graydon– guitar solo
  • Jim Horn– saxophone
  • Eric Johnson– guitar solo
  • Jackie Kelso– saxophone
  • Nicolette Larson, Myrna Matthews, Marty McCall, Michael McDonald, Don HenleyStormie Omartian, D. Souther– background vocals
  • Lew McCreary – trombone
  • Rob Meurer – arrangements, synthesizer, electric piano, celesta, acoustic piano, organ
  • Michael Omartian– arrangements, acoustic piano, synthesizer, background vocals
  • Tomás Ramírez – saxophone
  • Don Roberts – saxophone
  • Andy Salmon – bass
  • Tommy Taylor – drums
  • Michael Osttin – assistant producer
  • Chet Himes – engineer, mixing
  • Stuart Gitlin – second engineer
  • Bobby Hata – mastering
  • Danny Henderson, James Flournoy Holmes –artwork
  • James Flournoy Holmes, Wonder Graphics – design
  • Jim Newhouse – flamingo concept

Track listing:

All tracks by Christopher Cross.

  1. Say You’ll Be Mine
  2. I Really Don’t Know Anymore
  3. Spinning
  4. Never Be the Same
  5. Poor Shirley
  6. Ride Like the Wind
  7. The Light Is On
  8. Sailing
  9. Minstrel Gigolo


In August 1982.

In August 1982, “Warner Bros” label released “If That’s What It Takes”, the debut Michael McDonald studio album. It was recorded 1981 – 1982, at “Warner Bros. Recording Studio”; “Sunset Sound Recorders” and “Ocean Way Recording” in Hollywood, and was produced by Ted Templeman and Lenny Waronker.


  • Michael McDonald – lead vocals, piano, Fender Rhodes, synthesizer, background vocals
  • Willie Weeks, Louis Johnson, Mike Porcaro – bass
  • Steve Gadd, Jeff Porcaro – drums
  • Dean Parks, Steve Lukather, Robben Ford – guitar
  • Edgar Winter, Tom Scott – saxophone
  • Lenny Castro, Bobby LaKind, Paulinho Da Costa, Ted Templeman – percussion
  • Greg Phillinganes – piano, clavinet
  • Greg Phillinganes – organ
  • Michael McDonald, Greg Phillinganes, Michael Omartian – Fender Rhodes
  • Michael Boddicker – synthesizer
  • Tom Scott – lyricon
  • Ed Sanford, Maureen McDonald,  Kenny Loggins, Christopher Cross, Brenda Russell, Kathy Walker, Amy Holland – background vocals
  • Ken Deane, Bobby Hata, Lee Herschberg, James Isaacson, Donn Landee, Mark Linett, Steve McManus – engineer
  • Lee Herschberg, James Isaacson, Donn Landee, Mark Linett – overdub engineer
  • Lee Herschberg – mixing
  • Bobby Hata – mastering
  • Jerry Hey – horn arrangements
  • Marty Paich – string arrangements
  • Paul Mederios – keyboard technician
  • Joan Parker, Kathy Walker, Vicki Fortson – production coordinator
  • Jeff Adamoff – art direction, design
  • Jim Shea – photography
  • Irving Azoff – direction

Track listing:

  1. Playin’ by the Rules – Michael McDonald, Ed Sanford
  2. I Keep Forgetting – Michael McDonald, Ed Sanford, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  3. Love Lies – Michael McDonald, Randy Goodrum
  4. I Gotta Try – Michael McDonald, Kenny Loggins
  5. I Can Let Go Now – Michael McDonald
  6. That’s Why – McDonald, Randy Goodrum
  7. If That’s What It Takes – Michael McDonald, Jackie De Shannon
  8. No Such Luck – Michael McDonald, Grady Walker, Harry Garfield
  9. Losin’ End – Michael McDonald
  10. Believe in It – Michael McDonald