Tag Archives: 1958

Tina Turner

On May 24, 2023, Anna Mae Bullock aka Tina Turner died aged 83. She was singer, author, dancer and actress, referred to as the “Queen of Rock ‘n’ Roll”, began her career with Ike Turner’s Kings of Rhythm in 1957. In 1958, under the name Little Ann, she released her first record, “Boxtop”. In 1960, she debuted as Tina Turner with the duet single “A Fool in Love”. The duo Ike & Tina Turner became “one of the most formidable live acts in history”. In the 1980s, Turner made a great comeback, and in the decades that followed she sold over 100 million records worldwide, and became one of  the best-selling recording artists of all time. She won twelve “Grammy Awards”, three “Grammy Hall of Fame” awards and a “Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award”. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked her among the “100 Greatest Artists of All Time” and the “100 Greatest Singers of All Time”. She was twice inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”, with Ike Turner in 1991 and as a solo artist in 2021. In 2005, she was recipient of the “Kennedy Center Honors” and “Women of the Year” award. As leader Tina Turner released nine albums.


Milt Jackson: Bean Bags

In April 1960, “Atlantic” label released “Bean Bags”, the fifteenth Milt Jackson album. It was recorded in September 1958, in New York City, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegun.


  • Milt Jackson – vibes
  • Coleman Hawkins – tenor saxophone
  • Tommy Flanagan – piano
  • Kenny Burrell – guitar
  • Eddie Jones – bass
  • Connie Kay – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Milt Jackson except where noted.

  1. Close Your Eyes – Bernice Petkere
  2. Stuffy – Coleman Hawkins
  3. Don’t Take Your Love from Me – Henry Nemo
  4. Get Happy – Harold Arlen, Ted Koehler
  5. Sandra’s Blues
  6. Indian Blues

John Coltrane: Lush Life

In March 1961, “Prestige” label released “Lush Life”, album by John Coltrane. It was assembled from previously unreleased tracks from three recording sessions at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey in May and August 1957, and January 1958, produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • John Coltrane – tenor saxophone
  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Red Garland – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Earl May – bass
  • Art Taylor – drums
  • Louis Hayes – drums
  • Albert Heath – drums

Track listing:

  1. Like Someone in Love – Jimmy Van Heusen
  2. I Love You – Cole Porter
  3. Trane’s Slow Blues – John Coltrane
  4. Lush Life – Billy Strayhorn
  5. I Hear a Rhapsody – Jack Baker, George Fragos, Dick Gasparre

Coleman Hawkins: Soul

In March 1959, “Prestige” label released “Soul”, the 20th Coleman Hawkins album. It was recorded in November 1958, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Esmond Edwards.


  • Coleman Hawkins – tenor saxophone
  • Ray Bryant – piano
  • Kenny Burrell – guitar
  • Wendell Marshall – bass
  • Osie Johnson – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Coleman Hawkins except where noted.

  1. Soul Blues
  2. I Hadn’t Anyone till You – Ray Noble
  3. Groovin’ – Kenny Burrell
  4. Greensleeves – traditional
  5. Sunday Mornin – Kenny Burrell
  6. Until the Real Thing Comes Along – Sammy Cahn, Saul Chaplin, L. E. Freeman, Mann Holiner, Alberta Nichols
  7. Sweetnin’

Cannonball Adderley: Things Are Getting Better

In February 1959, “Riverside” label released “Things Are Getting Better”, the eleventh Cannonball Adderley album. It was recorded in October 1958, at “Reeves Sound Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Cannonball Adderley – alto saxophone
  • Milt Jackson – vibes
  • Wynton Kelly – piano
  • Percy Heath – bass
  • Art Blakey – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Julian “Cannonball” Adderley except where noted.

  1. Blues Oriental – Milt Jackson
  2. Things Are Getting Better
  3. Serves Me Right [take 5] – Buddy Johnson
  4. Groovin’ High – Dizzy Gillespie
  5. The Sidewalks of New York [take 5] – James W. Blake, Charles B. Lawlor
  6. Sounds for Sid
  7. Just One of Those Things – Cole Porter

Hank Mobley: Peckin’ Time

In December 1959, “Blue Note” label released “Peckin’ Time”, the 14th Hank Mobley album. It was recorded in February 1958, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Hank Mobley – tenor saxophone
  • Lee Morgan – trumpet
  • Wynton Kelly – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Charlie Persip – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Hank Mobley except where noted.

  1. High and Flighty
  2. Speak Low – Kurt Weill, Ogden Nash
  3. Peckin’ Time
  4. Stretchin’ Out
  5. Git-Go Blues

Don Everly

On August 21, 2021, Don Everly died aged 84. He was musician (guitar), singer and songwriter, member of the Everly Brothers (with his brother Phil). Regarded as pioneers of rock ‘n’ roll, they began recording music in 1956, and had the first hit “Bye Bye Love” in 1957. In the period from 1958 to 1960, Everly Brothers had number of hits including “Wake Up Little Susie”, “All I Have to Do Is Dream”, and “Problems”. In the 1960s their vocal harmonies influenced many musicians and bands including the Beatles and Simon & Garfunkel. In 1986, Everly Brothers were the first group to be inaugurated in the “Rock & Roll Hall of Fame” (together with Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Little Richard, Buddy Holly and Jerry Lee Lewis).

Sonny Stitt: Burnin’

In May 1960, “Argo” label released “Burnin’”, the 18th Sonny Stitt album. It was recorded in August 1958, in Chicago, and was produced by Jordi Pujol.


  • Sonny Stitt – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Barry Harris – piano
  • William Austin – bass
  • Frank Gant – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Stitt, except where noted.

  1. Ko-Ko – Charlie Parker
  2. A Minor Sax
  3. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, James Sherman, Roger Ramirez
  4. Reed and a Half
  5. How High the Moon – Morgan Lewis, Nancy Hamilton
  6. I’ll Tell You Later
  7. Look for the Silver Lining – Jerome Kern, Buddy G. DeSylva
  8. Easy Living – Leo Robin, Ralph Rainger
  9. It’s Hipper Than That

Kenny Burrell & John Coltrane: Same

In April 1963, “New Jazz” label released “Kenny Burrell & John Coltrane”, album Kenny Burrell and John Coltrane. It was recorded in March 1958, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Kenny Burrell – guitar
  • John Coltrane – tenor saxophone
  • Tommy Flanagan – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Jimmy Cobb – drums

Track listing:

  1. Freight Trane -Tommy Flanagan
  2. I Never Knew – Ted Fio Rito, Gus Kahn
  3. Lyresto – Kenny Burrell
  4. Why Was I Born? – Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern
  5. Big Paul – Tommy Flanagan

Johnny Griffin: Johnny Griffin Sextet

In May 1958, “Riverside” label released “Johnny Griffin Sextet”, the fifth Johnny Griffin album. It was recorded in February 1958, in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Johnny Griffin — tenor saxophone
  • Pepper Adams – baritone saxophone
  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Kenny Drew — piano
  • Wilbur Ware — bass
  • Philly Joe Jones — drums

Track listing:

  1. Stix’ Trix – Wilbur Campbell
  2. What’s New? – Johnny Burke, Bob Haggart
  3. Woody ‘n’ You – Dizzy Gillespie
  4. Johnny G.G. – John Hines
  5. Catharsis – Johnny Griffin