On August 5, 2008.

On August 5, 2008, “Nonesuch” label released “Harps and Angels”, the tenth Randy Newman studio album. It was recorded 2003 – 2008, at “Sunset Sound Studios” in Hollywood, “The Newman Stage”, “Twentieth Century Fox Studios” in Beverly Hills, and was produced by Mitchell Froom and Lenny Waronker.


  • Randy Newman – vocals, piano, bandleader
  • Greg Cohen- bass
  • Steve Donnelly – guitar
  • Pete Thomas- drums
  • Greg Leisz- pedal steel and acoustic slide guitar
  • Mitchell Froom– keyboard, organ
  • Roger Wilkie (concertmaster), Eun-Mee Ahn, Jacqueline Brand, Kevin Connolly, Joel Derouin, Julie Ann Gigante, Natalie Leggett, Helen Nightengale, Alyssa Park, Sara Parkins, Katia Popov, Rafael Rishik, Anatoly Rosinsky, Marc Sazer, Tereza Stanislav, Lisa M. Sutton, Sarah Thornblade, Irina Voloshina – violin
  • Brian Dembow (first viola), Robert Berg, Thomas Diener, Steven Gordon, Roland Kato, Darrin McCann, Victoria Miskolczy, Michael Nowak, Shanti Randall, David Walther – viola
  • Dennis Karmazyn (first cello), Antony Cooke, Steve Erdody, Christine Ermacoff, Armen Ksajikian, Andrew Shulman, David Speltz, Cecelia Tsan – cello
  • Michael Valerio (first bass violin), Drew Dembowski, Edward Meares, Susan Ranney – bass violin
  • James Walker, Norda Mullen, Geraldine Rotella, David Shostac – flute
  • Gary Boyver, Stuart Clark, Donald Foster, Marty Krystall – clarinet
  • Daniel Higgins, Gary Foster, Greg Huckins, Bill Liston, Brian Scanlon – saxophone
  • Thomas Boyd, Leslie Reed – oboe
  • Kenneth Munday, Michael O’Donovan, Judith Farmer – bassoons
  • James Thatcher, Mark Adams, Richard Todd – French horns
  • Warren Luening, Malcolm McNab, Daniel Fornero, Jon Lewis, Timothy Morrison – trumpets
  • William Booth, Bruce Fowler, Alesander Iles, William Reichenbach, George Thatcher – trombones
  • Doug Tornquist – tuba
  • Alan Estes, Gregory Goodall – percussion
  • Jo Ann Turovsky, Allison Allport – harps
  • Frank Marocco – accordion
  • Carmen Carter, Tim Davis, Luana Jackman, Steve Jackson, Rick Logan, Susan Stevens Logan, Fletcher Sheridan, Oren Waters, Terry Woods – background vocals
  • David Boucher – engineer
  • Robert C. Ludwig – mastering
  • Kathie Van Kerckhoven, Jeremy Altervain – “angry Belgians”
  • Los Amigos Locos del Este – “happy immigrants”
  • Autumn De Wilde – album photography
  • Barbara De Wilde – art direction, design
  • Robert Hurwitz – executive producer

Track listing:

All tracks by Randy Newman

  1. Harps and Angels
  2. Losing You
  3. Laugh and Be Happy
  4. A Few Words in Defense of Our Country
  5. A Piece of the Pie
  6. Easy Street
  7. Korean Parents
  8. Only a Girl
  9. Potholes
  10. Feels Like Home

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.