In August 1960.

In August 1960, “New Jazz” label released “Cry! – Tender”, the twelve Yusef Lateef album. It was recorded in October 1957 and in October 1959, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Esmond Edwards.


  • Yusef Lateef– tenor saxophone, flute, oboe
  • Lonnie Hillyer– trumpet
  • Wilbur Harden– flugelhorn
  • Hugh Lawson– piano
  • Ernie Farrow– bass
  • Herman Wright – bass
  • Frank Gant – drums, percussion
  • Oliver Jackson – drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Yusef Lateef except where noted.

  1. Seabreeze – Larry Douglas, Fred Norman, Rommie Bearden
  2. Dopolous
  3. Cry! – Tender
  4. Butter’s Blues
  5. Yesterdays – Otto Harbach, Jerome Kern
  6. The Snow Is Green
  7. If You Could See Me Now – Tadd Dameron, Carl Sigman
  8. Ecaps


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.