Tag Archives: Andrew Shulman

On May 31, 2005.

On May 31, 2005, “Verve” label released “Rock Swings”, album  by Paul Anka. It was recorded in November 2004, and was produced by Paul Anka.


  • Paul Anka – vocal, executive producer
  • Jon Bon Jovi – guitar, piano, backing vocals
  • Randy Kerber – piano
  • Mike Lang – piano
  • Jon Crosse – tenor saxophone
  • Vinnie Colaiuta – drums
  • Mike Valerio – bass
  • Larry Koonse – guitar
  • Dean Parks – guitar
  • Emil Richards – vibes
  • Gary Grant, Charles Davis, Larry Hall, Warren Luening, Sal Cracchiolo – trumpet
  • Steve Holtman, Andrew Martin, Alex Iles, Bill Reichenbach, Bob McChesney, Bryant Byers – trombone
  • Gene Cipriano – tenor saxophone, flute
  • Dan Higgins, Greg Huckins – alto saxophone, flute
  • Bill Liston – tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet
  • Joel Peskin – bass clarinet, baritone saxophone
  • Joel Derouin, Bruce Dukov – concert-master, violin
  • Rebecca Bunnell, Mario De Leon, Tiffany Yi Hu, Patricia Johnson, Peter Kent, Miran Kojian, Haim Shtrum, Mari Tsumura, Shari Zippert, Kirstin Fife, Razdan Kuyumjian, Dennis Molchan, Les Terry, Jennifer Munday, Anatoly Rosinsky, Charles Everett, Armen Garabedian, Berj Garabedian, Darius Campo – violin
  • Marilyn Baker, Jorge Moraga, James Ross, Harry Shirinian, Karie Prescott, Evan Wilson, Simon Oswell, Pam Goldsmith – viola
  • Larry Corbett, Vanessa Freebairn-Smith, Miguel Martinez, Steve Richards, Andrew Shulman, Anne Karam, Ernie Ehrhardt – cello
  • Peter Doubrovsky, Frances Liu-Wu – bass
  • Gayle Levant – harp
  • Brad Warnaar, Jim Atkinson, Kurt Snyder: French horn
  • Alex Christensen – session producer
  • Al Schmitt – session engineer
  • Jon Crosse – conductor
  • Patrick Williams, Randy Kerber, John Clayton – session arrangers, conductors

Track listing:

  1. Eye of the Tiger
  2. Jump
  3. Everybody Hurts
  4. Wonderwall
  5. Black Hole Sun
  6. It’s My Life
  7. It’s a Sin
  8. True
  9. Smells Like Teen Spirit
  10. Hello
  11. Eyes Without a Face
  12. Lovecats
  13. The Way You Make Me Feel
  14. Tears in Heaven

On August 5, 2008.

On August 5, 2008, “Nonesuch” label released “Harps and Angels”, the eleventh  Randy Newman studio album. It was recorded in 2008, at “Recorded at Sunset Sound Studios” in Hollywood, “The Newman Stage”, “Twentieth Century Fox Studios” in Beverly Hills, and was produced by Mitchell Froom and Lenny Waronker.

Track listing:

  • Randy Newman – pianist, bandleader
  • Greg Cohen- bass
  • Steve Donnelly – guitar
  • Pete Thomas- drums
  • Greg Leisz- pedal steel and acoustic slide guitar
  • Mitchell Froom- keyboard and organ
  • Violins: Roger Wilkie (concertmaster), Eun-Mee Ahn, Jacqueline Brand, Kevin Connolly, Joel Derouin, Julie Ann Gigante, Natalie Leggett, Helen Nightengale, Alyssa Park, Sara Parkins, Katia Popov, Rafael Rishik, Anatoly Rosinsky, Marc Sazer, Tereza Stanislav, Lisa M. Sutton, Sarah Thornblade, Irina Voloshina
  • Violas: Brian Dembow (first viola), Robert Berg, Thomas Diener, Steven Gordon, Roland Kato, Darrin McCann, Victoria Miskolczy, Michael Nowak, Shanti Randall, David Walther
  • Violoncelli: Dennis Karmazyn (first cello), Antony Cooke, Steve Erdody, Christine Ermacoff, Armen Ksajikian, Andrew Shulman, David Speltz, Cecelia Tsan
  • Bass violins: Michael Valerio (first bass violin), Drew Dembowski, Edward Meares, Susan Ranney
  • Flutes: James Walker, Norda Mullen, Geraldine Rotella, David Shostac
  • Clarinets: Gary Boyver, Stuart Clark, Donald Foster, Marty Krystall
  • Saxophones: Daniel Higgins, Gary Foster, Greg Huckins, Bill Liston, Brian Scanlon
  • Oboes: Thomas Boyd, Leslie Reed
  • Bassoons: Kenneth Munday, Michael O’Donovan, Judith Farmer
  • French horns: James Thatcher, Mark Adams, Richard Todd
  • Trumpets: Warren Luening, Malcolm McNab, Daniel Fornero, Jon Lewis, Timothy Morrison
  • Trombones: William Booth, Bruce Fowler, Alesander Iles, William Reichenbach, George Thatcher
  • Tuba: Doug Tornquist
  • Percussion (including mallets): Alan Estes, Gregory Goodall
  • Harps: Jo Ann Turovsky, Allison Allport
  • Accordion: Frank Marocco
  • Background vocals: Carmen Carter, Tim Davis, Luana Jackman, Steve Jackson, Rick Logan, Susan Stevens Logan, Fletcher Sheridan, Oren Waters, Terry Woods
  • Engineered by David Boucher
  • Mastered by Robert C. Ludwig
  • Angry Belgians on “A Piece of the Pie”: Kathie Van Kerckhoven and Jeremy Altervain
  • Happy immigrants on “Laugh and Be Happy”: Los Amigos Locos del Este
  • Orchestral contractor: Sandy DeCrescent
  • Music preparation: Jo Ann Kane Music Services
  • Vocal contractor: Luana Jackman
  • Album photography: Autumn De Wilde
  • Stock photography for booklet by Jupiterimages, Perry Mastrovito, and Photo 24
  • Art direction and design: Barbara De Wilde
  • Production manager for Nonesuch Records: Eli Cane
  • Editorial coordinator for Nonesuch Records: Ronen Givony
  • Executive in charge of production for Nonesuch Records: Karina Beznicki
  • Executive producer: Robert Hurwitz

Track listing:

All tracks by Randy Newman

  1. Harps and Angels
  2. Losing You
  3. Laugh and Be Happy
  4. A Few Words in Defense of Our Country
  5. A Piece of the Pie
  6. Easy Street
  7. Korean Parents
  8. Only a Girl
  9. Potholes
  10. Feels Like Home