Tag Archives: Michael Valerio

On August 5, 2008.

On August 5, 2008, “Nonesuch” label released “Harps and Angels”, the eleventh  Randy Newman studio album. It was recorded in 2008, at “Recorded at Sunset Sound Studios” in Hollywood, “The Newman Stage”, “Twentieth Century Fox Studios” in Beverly Hills, and was produced by Mitchell Froom and Lenny Waronker.

Track listing:

  • Randy Newman – pianist, bandleader
  • Greg Cohen- bass
  • Steve Donnelly – guitar
  • Pete Thomas- drums
  • Greg Leisz- pedal steel and acoustic slide guitar
  • Mitchell Froom- keyboard and organ
  • Violins: Roger Wilkie (concertmaster), Eun-Mee Ahn, Jacqueline Brand, Kevin Connolly, Joel Derouin, Julie Ann Gigante, Natalie Leggett, Helen Nightengale, Alyssa Park, Sara Parkins, Katia Popov, Rafael Rishik, Anatoly Rosinsky, Marc Sazer, Tereza Stanislav, Lisa M. Sutton, Sarah Thornblade, Irina Voloshina
  • Violas: Brian Dembow (first viola), Robert Berg, Thomas Diener, Steven Gordon, Roland Kato, Darrin McCann, Victoria Miskolczy, Michael Nowak, Shanti Randall, David Walther
  • Violoncelli: Dennis Karmazyn (first cello), Antony Cooke, Steve Erdody, Christine Ermacoff, Armen Ksajikian, Andrew Shulman, David Speltz, Cecelia Tsan
  • Bass violins: Michael Valerio (first bass violin), Drew Dembowski, Edward Meares, Susan Ranney
  • Flutes: James Walker, Norda Mullen, Geraldine Rotella, David Shostac
  • Clarinets: Gary Boyver, Stuart Clark, Donald Foster, Marty Krystall
  • Saxophones: Daniel Higgins, Gary Foster, Greg Huckins, Bill Liston, Brian Scanlon
  • Oboes: Thomas Boyd, Leslie Reed
  • Bassoons: Kenneth Munday, Michael O’Donovan, Judith Farmer
  • French horns: James Thatcher, Mark Adams, Richard Todd
  • Trumpets: Warren Luening, Malcolm McNab, Daniel Fornero, Jon Lewis, Timothy Morrison
  • Trombones: William Booth, Bruce Fowler, Alesander Iles, William Reichenbach, George Thatcher
  • Tuba: Doug Tornquist
  • Percussion (including mallets): Alan Estes, Gregory Goodall
  • Harps: Jo Ann Turovsky, Allison Allport
  • Accordion: Frank Marocco
  • Background vocals: Carmen Carter, Tim Davis, Luana Jackman, Steve Jackson, Rick Logan, Susan Stevens Logan, Fletcher Sheridan, Oren Waters, Terry Woods
  • Engineered by David Boucher
  • Mastered by Robert C. Ludwig
  • Angry Belgians on “A Piece of the Pie”: Kathie Van Kerckhoven and Jeremy Altervain
  • Happy immigrants on “Laugh and Be Happy”: Los Amigos Locos del Este
  • Orchestral contractor: Sandy DeCrescent
  • Music preparation: Jo Ann Kane Music Services
  • Vocal contractor: Luana Jackman
  • Album photography: Autumn De Wilde
  • Stock photography for booklet by Jupiterimages, Perry Mastrovito, and Photo 24
  • Art direction and design: Barbara De Wilde
  • Production manager for Nonesuch Records: Eli Cane
  • Editorial coordinator for Nonesuch Records: Ronen Givony
  • Executive in charge of production for Nonesuch Records: Karina Beznicki
  • Executive producer: Robert Hurwitz

Track listing:

All tracks by Randy Newman

  1. Harps and Angels
  2. Losing You
  3. Laugh and Be Happy
  4. A Few Words in Defense of Our Country
  5. A Piece of the Pie
  6. Easy Street
  7. Korean Parents
  8. Only a Girl
  9. Potholes
  10. Feels Like Home

On April 19, 2005.

Blinking Lights

On April 19, 2005, “Vagrant” label released “Blinking Lights and Other Revelations”, the sixth Eels studio album. It was recorded 1998 – 2004, at “One Hitsville” in Silverlake, California”, and was produced by E. The album features guest appearances by Tom Waits, Peter Buck and John Sebastian.


  • E– vocals, guitar, keyboards, melodica, production
  • Butch– drums, percussion
  • The Chet– guitar
  • Koool G. Murder – bass guitar
  • Puddin’– drums
  • Wayne Bergeron– trumpet
  • Bobby, Jr.– “wails”
  • Peter Buck– guitar Matt DeMerritt – saxophone
  • Wally Gagel– keyboards
  • Ludvig Girdland – violin
  • Joe Gore – guitar
  • Probyn Gregory– horns
  • David Hlebo – saxophone
  • Jim Jacobsen – keyboards, horn, string arrangements, programming
  • Jim Lang – strings,mixing
  • Bill Liston –woodwinds
  • Andy Martin– trombone
  • Joe Meyer – horn
  • Dick Mitchell – flute
  • John Sebastian– organ
  • Todd Simon– trumpet
  • Gerri Sutyak – cello
  • Michael Valerio – bass guitar
  • Tom Waits– vocals
  • Michael Aarvold – mixing
  • Ryan Boesch – mixing,programming
  • Robert Carranza– mixing
  • Greg Collins – mixing
  • Wally Gagel – mixing
  • Koool G. Murder – mixing, programming
  • Dan Pinder – mixing
  • Brendan Willard – mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by E, except where noted.

  1. Theme from Blinking Lights
  2. From Which I Came/A Magic World
  3. Son of a Bitch – E and Jim Lang
  4. Blinking Lights (For Me)
  5. Trouble with Dreams
  6. Marie Floating Over the Backyard
  7. Suicide Life
  8. In the Yard, Behind the Church
  9. Railroad Man
  10. The Other Shoe
  11. Last Time We Spoke
  12. Mother Mary
  13. Going Fetal
  14. Understanding Salesmen
  15. Theme for a Pretty Girl That Makes You Believe God Exists
  16. Checkout Blues
  17. Blinking Lights (For You)
  18. Dust of Ages” (E, Jim Jacobsen)
  19. Old Shit/New Shit
  20. Bride of Theme from Blinking Lights
  21. Hey Man (Now You’re Really Living)
  22. I’m Going to Stop Pretending That I Didn’t Break Your Heart
  23. To Lick Your Boots – Peter Buck, E
  24. If You See Natalie
  25. Sweet Li’l Thing
  26. Dusk: A Peach in the Orchard – E, John Sebastian
  27. Whatever Happened toSoy Bomb
  28. Ugly Love
  29. God’s Silence
  30. Losing Streak
  31. Last Days of My Bitter Heart
  32. The Stars Shine in the Sky Tonight – E, Jim Lang
  33. Things the Grandchildren Should Know