In August 1958.

In August 1958, “Riverside” label released “Big 6”, the debut Blue Mitchell album. It was recorded in July 1958, in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Blue Mitchell- trumpet
  • Wynton Kelly- piano
  • Curtis Fuller- trombone
  • Johnny Griffin- tenor saxophone
  • Wilbur Ware- bass
  • Philly Joe Jones- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Blue Mitchell, except where noted.

  1. Blues March – Benny Golson
  2. Big Six – William Boone Jr.
  3. There Will Never Be Another You – Mack Gordon, Harry Warren
  4. Brother Ball
  5. Jamph – Curtis Fuller
  6. Sir John
  7. Promenade – William Boone Jr.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.