Tag Archives: Al Stewart

On October 17, 2000.

On October 17, 2000, “EMI” label released “Down in the Cellar”, the fourteenth Al Stewart studio album. It was recorded May – June 2000, at “Capitol B Studios” in Hollywood and “Sign of the Scorpion” in Studio City, California, and was produced by Laurence Juber.


  • Al Stewart – vocals, guitar, bass, harmonica
  • Simon Boswell – viola
  • Jim Cox – piano, organ
  • Bruce Dukov – violin
  • Dominic Genova – electric bass, bass
  • Jimmy Hoyson – assistant
  • David P. Jackson – accordion
  • Michael Jochum – percussion, drums
  • Laurence Juber – acoustic guitar, arranger, electric guitar, engineer
  • David Low – cello
  • Rachel Purkin – violin
  • Avi Kipper – engineer
  • Joe Gastwirt – mastering
  • Ramon Breton – mastering assistant
  • Lori Stoll – photography

All tracks by Al Stewart except where noted.

  1. Waiting for Margaux
  2. Tasting History – Laurence Juber, Al Stewart
  3. Down in the Cellars
  4. Turning It into Water
  5. Soho – Bert Jansch
  6. The Night That the Band Got the Wine
  7. Millie Brown
  8. Under a Wine-Stained Moon
  9. Franklin’s Table
  10. House of Clocks
  11. Sergio
  12. Toutes les Etoiles
  13. The Shiraz Shuffle – Laurence Juber, Al Stewar



On April 18, 2013.

On April 18, 2013, Storm Thorgerson died aged 69. He was graphic designer and music video director, known for his work with music artists including Led Zeppelin,  Nik Kershaw, Black Sabbath,  Scorpions, Peter Gabriel, Genesis, Yes, Al Stewart,  Europe,  Catherine Wheel, Bruce Dickinson, Dream Theater,  Anthrax, The Cranberries, The Mars Volta, Muse, The Alan Parsons Project, Helloween, Biffy Clyro, Ween, Angels and Airwaves and Rival Sons His best known work is the album cover artwork of  Pink Floyd’s “The Dark Side of The Moon”.



In December 1965.

In December 1965, “Columbia” label released the self-titled, debut Jackson C. Frank album. It was recorded in July 1965, at “CBS Studios” in London, and was produced by Paul Simon.


  • Jackson C. Frank– guitar, vocals, linear notes
  • Al Stewart– guitar picking
  • Liner notes – Bert Jansch

Track listing:

All tracks by Jackson C. Frank except where noted.

  1. Blues Run the Game
  2. Don’t Look Back
  3. Kimbie – Bascom Lamar Lunsford
  4. Yellow Walls
  5. Here Come the Blues
  6. Milk and Honey
  7. My Name Is Carnival
  8. Dialogue (I Want to Be Alone)
  9. Just Like Anything
  10. You Never Wanted Me

In October 1968.

In October 1968, “Island” label released “The Tumble”, the second John Martyn album. It was recorded in July 1968, at “Regent Sound” in London, and was produced by Al Stewart.


  • John Martyn – vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards
  • Harold McNair– flute
  • David Moses – double bass
  • Paul Wheeler – guitar
  • Francine Winham – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Martyn except where noted.

  1. Sing A Song of Summer
  2. The River
  3. Goin’ Down to Memphis
  4. The Gardeners – Bill Lyons
  5. A Day at the Sea
  6. Fishin’ Blues – Henry Thomas
  7. Dusty
  8. Hello Train
  9. Winding Boy – Jelly Roll Morton
  10. Fly on Home – John Martyn, Paul Wheeler
  11. Knuckledy Crunch and Slippledee-slee Song
  12. Seven Black Roses


In September 1969.

In September 1969, “CBS” label released “Love Chronicles”, the second Al Stewart studio album. It was recorded 1968 – 1969, and was produced by Roy Guest, John Wood and Al Stewart.


  • Al Stewart – vocals, guitar
  • Jimmy Page- guitar
  • Simon Breckenridge (Simon Nicol)- guitar
  • Mervyn Prestwyck (Richard Thompson)- guitar
  • Brian Brocklehurst – bass
  • Harvey Burns – drums
  • Martyn Francis (Martin Lamble) – drums
  • Brian Odgers, John Paul Jones, Ashley Hutchings- bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Al Stewart

  1. In Brooklyn
  2. Old Compton Street Blues
  3. The Ballad of Mary Foster
  4. Life and Life Only
  5. You Should Have Listened to Al
  6. Love Chronicles

On August 20, 1980.

On August 20, 1980, “RCA” label released “24 Carrots”, the ninth Al Stewart studio album. It was recorded in May 1980 at “Davlen Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Chris Desmond and Al Stewart. It was his first album with his band Shot in the Dark.


  • Al Stewart- vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, synthesizer
  • Peter White- keyboards, acoustic and lectric guitar
  • Adam Yurman – electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Robin Lamble – bass guitar, backing vocals, acoustic guitar, percussion
  • Krysia Kristianne – backing vocals
  • Bryan Savage – alto saxophone, flute
  • Harry Stinson, Ken Nicol- backing vocals
  • Bob Marlette– keyboards
  • Russ Kunkel, Mark Sanders, Jeff Porcaro, Steve Chapman, Beau Segal – drums
  • Lenny Castro– congas
  • Robin Williamson– mandocello
  • Sylvia Woods- Celtic harp
  • Jerry McMillan – violin

Track listing:

  1. Running Man
  2. Midnight Rocks
  3. Constantinople
  4. Merlin’s Time
  5. Mondo Sinistro
  6. Murmansk Run/Ellis Island
  7. Rocks in the Ocean
  8. Paint by Numbers
  9. Optical Illusion


In July 1976.

In July 1976, “RCA” label released “Year of the Cat”, the seventh Al Stewart studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Alan Parsons. The cover design was by Hipgnosis and illustrator Colin Elgie.


  • Al Stewart – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Peter White- guitar, keyboards
  • John Perry – background vocals
  • Tim Renwick- guitar
  • Andrew Powell- string arrangements
  • Bobby Bruce – violin
  • Marion Driscoll – percussion
  • Stuart Elliott- drums, percussion
  • George Ford – bass
  • Phil Kenzie- alto saxophone
  • Don Lobster – keyboards
  • David Pack- background vocals
  • Tony Rivers- background vocals
  • Graham Smith – harmonica
  • Peter Wood- keyboards

Track listing:

All tracks by Al Stewart, except where noted.

  1. Lord Grenville
  2. On the Border
  3. Midas Shadow
  4. Sand in Your Shoes
  5. If it Doesn’t Come Naturally, Leave It
  6. Flying Sorcery
  7. Broadway Hotel
  8. One Stage Before
  9. Year of the Cat – Al Stewart, Peter Wood