Tag Archives: Dave Charles

On June 20, 1995.

On June 20, 1995, “Essential” label released “White Zone”, album by Psychedelic Warriors, side project of the Hawkwind members, and is considered the nineteenth Hawkwind album. It was recorded in 1995, and was produced by Dave Brock, Alan Davey, Richard Chadwick and Dave Charles.

  • Dave Brock – guitar, keyboards
  • Alan Davey – bass guitar, keyboards
  • Richard Chadwick – drums
  • Dave Charles – sampler, OSCI

Track listing:

  1. Am I Fooling – Dave Brock, Alan Davey, Richard Chadwick
  2. Frenzzy – Dave Brock
  3. Pipe Dreams – Dave Brock
  4. Heart Attack – Dave Brock
  5. Time And Space – Dave Brock, Alan Davey
  6. The White Zone – Dave Brock
  7. In Search of Shangrila – Dave Brock
  8. Bay of Bengal – Dave Brock
  9. Moonbeam – Richard Chadwick
  10. Window Pane – Alan Davey
  11. Love in Space – Alan Davey

On June 15, 1979.

On June 15, 1979, “Charisma” label released “PXR5”, the ninth Hawkwind studio album. It was recorded September 1977 – June 1978, at “Leicester”, “De Montfort Hall”, “Hammersmith Odeon” in London, “Rockfield Studios” and “Week Park Farm” in Devon, and was produced by Robert Calver, Dave Brock, Adrian Shaw, Simon House, and Simon King.


  • Robert Calvert– vocals
  • Dave Brock– vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Adrian Shaw– bass guitar
  • Simon House– violin, keyboards
  • Simon King– drums
  • Dave Charles, Anton Matthews – engineer
  • Phillip Tonkyn – artwork

Track listing:

  1. Death Trap – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  2. Jack of Shadows – Robert Calvert, Simon House, Adrian Shaw
  3. Uncle Sam’s on Mars – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock, Simon House, Simon King
  4. Infinity – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  5. Life Form – Dave Brock
  6. Robot – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  7. High Rise – Robert Calvert, Simon House
  8. PXR5 – Dave Brock


In January 1975.

In January 1975, “United Artists” label released “Down by the Jetty”, the debut Dr. Feelgood album. It was recorded June – November 1974, and was produced by Vic Maile.


  • Lee Brilleaux- lead vocals, electric and slide guitar, harmonica
  • Wilko Johnson – lead and backing vocals, guitar, piano
  • John B. Sparks – bass
  • The Big Figure – drums
  • Bob Andrews- organ, saxophone
  • Brinsley Schwarz- saxophone
  • Dave Charles, Kingsley Ward, Pat Moran – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Wilko Johnson, except where noted.

  1. She Does It Right
  2. Boom Boom – John Lee Hooker
  3. The More I Give
  4. Roxette
  5. One Weekend
  6. That Ain’t the Way to Behave
  7. I Don’t Mind
  8. Twenty Yards Behind
  9. Keep It Out of Sight
  10. All Through the City
  11. Cheque Book – Mickey Jupp
  12. Oyeh! – Mick Green
  13. Bony Moronie / Tequila – Larry Williams, Danny Flores (live recording)

On November 11, 1985.


On November 11, 1985, “Ficknife Records” label released “The Chronicle of the Black Sword”, the fourteenth Hawkwind” studio album. It was recorded August – September 1985, at “Rockfield Studios”, and was produced by Dave Brock, Huw Lloyd Langton, Harvey Bainbridge, Alan Davey, Danny Thompson Jr, and Dave Charles.


  • Dave Brock– vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Huw Lloyd-Langton – vocals, guitar
  • Harvey Bainbridge – vocals, keyboards
  • Alan Davey – vocals, bass guitar
  • Danny Thompson Jr. – drums
  • Dave Charles– percussion

Track listing:

  1. Song of the Swords – Dave Brock
  2. Shade Gate – Harvey Bainbridge
  3. The Sea King – Huw Lloyd-Langton
  4. The Pulsing Cavern – Harvey Bainbridge, Alan Davey
  5. Elric the Enchanter – Alan Davey
  6. Needle Gun – Dave Brock
  7. Zarozinia – Dave Brock, Kris Tait
  8. The Demise – Harvey Bainbridge, Dave Brock
  9. Sleep of a Thousand Tears – Dave Brock, Michael Moorcock
  10. Chaos Army – Harvey Bainbridge, Dave Brock
  11. Horn of Destiny – Dave Brock

On June 17, 1977.

Quark Strangeness And Charm

On June 17, 1977, “Charisma” label released “Quark, Strangeness and Charm”, the seventh Hawkwind studio album. It was recorded in February 1977, at “Rockfield Studios”, and was produced by Dave Brock, Robert Calver, Simon House, Adrian Shaw, and Simon King. The art cover designed by Hipgnosis and Geoff Halpin, features photographs are of the control room at “Battersea Power Station”.


  • Dave Brock– vocals, guitar, synthesizers, sound FX, quark
  • Robert Calvert– vocals, percussion, morse, strangeness
  • Simon House– vocals, keyboards, violin, anvil, charm
  • Adrian Shaw– vocals, bass guitar, hand-claps
  • Simon King– drums, percussion, no-vocal
  • Dave Charles – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Spirit of the Age – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  2. Damnation Alley – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock, Simon House
  3. Fable of a Failed Race – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  4. Quark, Strangeness and Charm – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  5. Hassan I Sabbah – Robert Calvert, Paul Rudolph
  6. The Forge of Vulcan – Simon House
  7. The Days of the Underground – Robert Calvert,Dave Brock
  8. The Iron Dream – Simon King