On November 13, 1981.


On November 13, 1981, “Virgin” label released “Tin Drum”, the fifth and final Japan studio album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Steve Nye, David Sylvian, Mick Karn, Steve Jansen, and Richard Barbieri.


  • David Sylvian– vocals, guitar, keyboard, keyboard programming, tapes, cover concept
  • Mick Karn– fretless bass guitar, African flute, dida
  • Steve Jansen– acoustic drums, electronic drums, keyboard percussion
  • Richard Barbieri– keyboard, keyboard programming, tapes
  • Simon House– violin
  • Yuka Fujii – backing vocals
  • Steve Nye– engineer
  • Phil Bodger – engineer assistant
  • Steve Joule – design
  • Fin Costello – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by David Sylvian, except where noted.

  1. The Art of Parties
  2. Talking Drum
  3. Ghosts
  4. Canton – Steve Jansen, David Sylvian
  5. Still Life in Mobile Homes
  6. Visions of China – Steve Jansen, David Sylvian
  7. Sons of Pioneers – Mick Karn, David Sylvian
  8. Cantonese Boy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.