On June 17, 1977.

Quark Strangeness And Charm

On June 17, 1977, “Charisma” label released “Quark, Strangeness and Charm”, the seventh Hawkwind studio album. It was recorded in February 1977, at “Rockfield Studios”, and was produced by Dave Brock, Robert Calver, Simon House, Adrian Shaw, and Simon King. The art cover designed by Hipgnosis and Geoff Halpin, features photographs are of the control room at “Battersea Power Station”.


  • Dave Brock– vocals, guitar, synthesizers, sound FX, quark
  • Robert Calvert– vocals, percussion, morse, strangeness
  • Simon House– vocals, keyboards, violin, anvil, charm
  • Adrian Shaw– vocals, bass guitar, hand-claps
  • Simon King– drums, percussion, no-vocal
  • Dave Charles – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Spirit of the Age – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  2. Damnation Alley – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock, Simon House
  3. Fable of a Failed Race – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  4. Quark, Strangeness and Charm – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  5. Hassan I Sabbah – Robert Calvert, Paul Rudolph
  6. The Forge of Vulcan – Simon House
  7. The Days of the Underground – Robert Calvert,Dave Brock
  8. The Iron Dream – Simon King

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.