Tag Archives: Maria Muldaur

On November 10, 1997.

On November 10, 1997, Thomas J. Tedesco died aged 67. He was a musician (guitar), part of the loose collective of Los Angeles area’s session musicians known as The Wrecking Crew. As he played on hundreds studio recordings, “Guitar Player” magazine described him as “the most recorded guitarist in music history”. He recorded with the Beach Boys, Chet Baker, the Mamas & the Papas, the Everly Brothers, the Association, Bobby Darrin, Barbra Streisand, Jan and Dean, the 5th Dimension, Elvis Presley, Sam Cooke, Ella Fitzgerald, Frank Zappa, Ricky Nelson, Cher, Neil Diamond, Van Dyke Parks, Michael Franks, Nancy and Frank Sinatra, Richard Harris, Peggy Lee, Johnny Rivers, Al Kooper, Michael Nesmith, Paul Anka, Don Ellis, Minnie Riperton, Maria Muldaur, Leon Russell, Aretha Franklin, Art Garfunkel, J.J. Cale, Quincy Jones, Stephen Bishop, Kenny Loggins, Jack Nitzsche, Sarah Vaughan, Lalo Schifrin, Randy Newman, Hugh Masakela, and Joan Baez. Tedesco performed on soundtracks including The French Connection, Jaws, The Godfather, Field of Dreams, and The Deer Hunter. As a leader he released ten albums.

On March 25, 2008.

On March 25, 2008, at “Half Note” label released “The Delirium Blues Project: Serve or Suffer”, first album released by joint leadership of Roseanna Vitro and Kenny Werner. It was recorded in August 2007, at “Blue Note” in New York City, and was produced by Jeffrey Levenson.


  • Roseanna Vitro– vocals, arrangements
  • Kenny Werner– keyboards, arrangements
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet
  • James Carter– tenor saxophone
  • Ray Anderson– trombone
  • Geoff Countryman– baritone saxophone
  • Adam Rogers– guitar
  • John Pattitucci– acoustic and electric bass
  • Rocky Bryant – drums

Track listing:

  1. What Is Hip? – Emilio Castillo, John David Garibaldi, Stephen M. Kupka
  2. Goodnight Nelda Grebe, the Telephone Company Has Cut Us Off – Tracy Nelson
  3. Blue – Gildo Mahones, Jon Hendricks
  4. Be Cool – Joni Mitchell
  5. Half Moon – Janis Joplin
  6. In the Dark – Lillian “Lil” Green
  7. Cheater Man – Spooner Oldham, Dan Penn
  8. Everybody’s Cryin’ Mercy – Mose Allison
  9. Don’t Ever Let Nobody Drag Your Spirit Down – Eric Bibb, Maria Muldaur

In June 1974.

In June 1974, “Round Records” label released “Compliments” (known as Garcia), the second Jerry Garcia solo album. It was recorded in 1974, and was produced by John Kahn.


  • Jerry Garcia – guitar, vocals, classical guitar
  • Arthur Adams – guitar
  • Michael Omartian- piano, tack piano, Fender Rhodes
  • John Kahn – bass, horn arrangement, string arrangement
  • Ron Tutt – drums
  • Merl Saunders- organ
  • Larry Carlton– guitar
  • Bobbye Hall- percussion
  • Melvin Moore – trumpet
  • Gene Connors – trombone, horn arrangement
  • Jackie Kelso – saxophones
  • Amos Garrett– trombone
  • Joel Tepp- clarinet
  • Richard Greene – violin
  • Merry Clayton- background vocals
  • Maria Muldaur, Clydie King, Patty- background vocals
  • Geoff Muldaur– clarinet
  • Ben Benay – rhythm guitar
  • Tom Rose – clarinet
  • John Rotella – e flat clarinet
  • Willie Green – b flat clarinet
  • Gary Ray – b flat clarinet
  • Julian Sheer – bass clarinet
  • Sid Page– violin
  • Carl Pedersen – violin
  • Nathan Rubin – violin
  • Emily van Valkenburg – violin
  • Miriam Dye – viola
  • Nancy Ellis – viola
  • Terry Adams – cello
  • Judiyaba – cello
  • Arnie Egilsson, Ray Siegal – string bass
  • Sid Sharp – contractor
  • David Nichtern – guitar
  • David Grisman- mandolin
  • Vassar Clements– violin
  • Engineer – Ron Malo
  • Production assistants – Richard Loren, Joshua Blardo
  • Equipment – Ramrod, Steve Parrish
  • Cover art – Victor Moscoso

Track listing:

  1. Let It Rock – Chuck Berry
  2. When The Hunter Gets Captured by the Game – Smokey Robinson
  3. That’s What Love Will Make You Do – Henderson Thigpen, James Banks, Eddy Marion
  4. Russian Lullaby – Irving Berlin
  5. Turn On The Bright Lights – Albert Washington
  6. He Ain’t Give You None – Van Morrison
  7. What Goes Around – Mac Rebbenack
  8. Let’s Spend The Night Together – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
  9. Mississippi Moon – Peter Rowan
  10. Midnight Town – Robert Hunter, John Kahn


In April 1978.

In April 1978, “Arista” label released “Cats Under the Stars”, the first Jerry Garcia Band album. It was recorded 1977-1978, at the “Grateful Dead’s Club Front” in San Rafael, a warehouse space that had been acquired for band rehearsals and later converted to a studio, and was produced by Jerry Garcia and John Kahn.


  • Jerry Garcia- guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux- vocals
  • Keith Godchaux- keyboards, background vocals
  • John Kahn- basses, keyboards, guitar, orchestration
  • Ron Tutt – drums, percussion
  • Merl Saunders- organ
  • Maria Muldaur- background vocals
  • Stephen Schuster – flute, clarinet, saxophone
  • Brian Godchaux – violin
  • Candy Godchaux – violin
  • Engineers – Betty Cantor-Jackson, Bob Matthews
  • Assistants – Harry Popick, Steve Parrish, Bill Candelario, Ramrod
  • Cover art – Kelly Mouse Studios

Track listing:

  1. Rubin And Cherise – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  2. Love In The Afternoon – Robert Hunter, John Kahn
  3. Palm Sunday – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  4. Cats Under The Stars – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  5. Rhapsody In Red – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia, John Kahn
  6. Rain – Donna Godchaux
  7. Down Home – John Kahn
  8. Gomorrah – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia

On April 25, 1975.


On April 25, 1975, “Warner Bros” label released “Stampede”, the fifth Doobie Brothers studio album. It was recorded September – October 1974, at “Warner Brothers Studios” in  North Hollywood, “Burbank Studios” in Burbank,”Curlom Studios” in Chicago,“The Record Plant” in Sausalito, CA “, and “Creative Workshop” in Nashville, and was produced by Ted Templeman. The album has been certified Gold in the US by the “RIAA”.


  • Tom Johnston– guitars, vocals
  • Patrick Simmons– guitars, vocals
  • Jeff “Skunk” Baxter– guitar, steel guitar
  • Tiran Porter– bass, vocals
  • John Hartman– drums
  • Keith Knudsen– drums, vocals
  • Bill Payne– keyboards
  • Ry Cooder– bottleneck guitar
  • Maria Muldaur– vocals
  • Karl Himmel – drums and percussion
  • Conte and Pete Candoli – trumpets
  • Bobbye Hall Porter– congas
  • Victor Feldman– marimba, percussion
  • Sherlie Matthews– vocals
  • Venetta Fields– vocals
  • Jessica Smith – vocals
  • Ted Templeman– percussion
  • Engineer: Donn Landee, Travis Turk
  • Concert Master: Harry Bluestone
  • String Arrangements: Nick DeCaro, Curtis Mayfield, Paul Riser
  • Horn Arrangements:Curtis Mayfield, Paul Riser
  • Orchestration: Richard Tufo
  • Design: Barbara Casado, John Casado
  • Photography: Jill Maggid, Michael Maggid
  • Art Direction: Ed Thrasher

Track listing:

  1. Sweet Maxine – Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons
  2. Neal’s Fandango – Patrick Simmons
  3. Texas Lullaby – Tom Johnston
  4. Music Man – Tom Johnston
  5. Slack Key Soquel Rag – Patrick Simmons
  6. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While) – Holland-Dozier-Holland
  7. I Cheat the Hangman – Patrick Simmons
  8. Précis – Jeff Skunk Baxter
  9. Rainy Day Crossroad Blues – Tom Johnston
  10. I Been Workin’ on You – Tom Johnston
  11. Double Dealin’ Four Flusher – Patrick Simmons