Tag Archives: John Boylan

On April 8, 1977.

On April 8, 1977, “EMI” and “Capitol” labels released “Diamantina Cocktail” the third Little River Band album. It was recorded in 1976 and was produced by John Boylan, Glenn Shorrock, Graham Goble, Beeb Birtles, David Briggs, George McArdle and Derek Pellicci.


  • Glenn Shorrock – lead vocals, piano
  • Graham Goble – vocals, guitars
  • Beeb Birtles – vocals, guitars
  • David Briggs – guitars
  • George McArdle – bass guitar
  • Derek Pellicci – drums, percussion
  • Roger McLachlan – bass
  • Eddy Denton – cor anglais
  • Peter Sullivan – piano
  • Ian Mason – piano
  • Tony Buchanan – saxophones
  • Graeme Lyall – flute

Track listing:

  1. Help Is on Its Way – Glenn Shorrock
  2. The Drifter – Graham Goble
  3. L.A. in the Sunshine – David Briggs, Glenn Shorrock
  4. The Inner Light – Graham Goble
  5. Witchery – Beeb Birtles
  6. Home on Monday – Beeb Birtles, Glenn Shorrock
  7. Happy Anniversary – Beeb Birtles, David Briggs
  8. Raelene, Raelene – Beeb Birtles
  9. Changed and Different – Graham Goble

On March 16, 1978.

On March 16, 1978, “Epic” label released “You Can Tune a Piano, but You Can’t Tuna Fish”, the seventh REO Speedwagon studio album. It was recorded 1977–1978 at “Sound City Studios, Los Angeles, CA, vocals recorded at “Record Plant Studios” in Los Angeles, and “Paragon Recording Studios” in Chicago, and was produced by Kevin Cronin, Gary Richrath, Paul Grupp and John Boylan.


  • Kevin Cronin– lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Gary Richrath– lead and rhythm guitars
  • Neal Doughty– piano, Hammond organ, Moog synthesizer
  • Bruce Hall– bass
  • Alan Gratzer – drums
  • Lon Price – saxophone
  • Angelle Trosclair, Denise McCall, Denny Henson, Tom Kelly– backing vocals
  • Paul Grupp – engineer
  • John Boylan– executive producer

Track listing:

All tracks by Kevin Cronin, except where noted.

  1. Roll With the Changes
  2. Time for Me to Fly
  3. Runnin’ Band – Debbie Mackron, Gary Richrath
  4. Blazin’ Your Own trail Again
  5. Sing to Me – Gary Richracht
  6. Lucky for You – Kevin Cronin, Gary Richrath
  7. Do You Know Where Your Woman is Tonight – Gary Richrath
  8. The Unidentified Flying Tuna Trot – Gary Richrath
  9. Say You Love Me or Say Goodnight – Kevin Cronin, Gary Richrath

In July 1979.

In July 1979, “Capitol” label released “First Under the Wire”, the fifth Little River Band album. It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by John Boylan. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Glenn Shorrock- lead vocals
  • David Briggs- lead guitars, Roland synthesizer guitars, Electric Sitar
  • Beeb Birtles- electric and acoustic guitars, vocals
  • Graham Goble- electric and acoustic guitars, vocals, vocal arrangements
  • Derek Pellicci- Sonor and Syndrums drums, percussion
  • Clive Harrison – bass guitar
  • Mike Clarke – bass
  • Peter Sullivan – piano
  • Peter Jones – piano, keyboards, orchestrations
  • Bill Harrower – saxophones
  • John Boylan- acoustic guitar

Track listing:

  1. Lonesome Loser – David Briggs
  2. The Rumour – Glenn Shorrock
  3. By My Side – Beeb Birtles, Graham Goble
  4. Cool Change – Glenn Shorrock
  5. It’s Not a Wonder – Graham Goble
  6. Hard Life (Prelude) – David Briggs
  7. Hard Life – Graham Goble
  8. Middle Man – Beeb Birtles, Graham Goble
  9. Man on the Run – Beeb Birtles, Graham Goble
  10. Mistress of Mine – Graham Goble

On August 25, 1976.


On August 25, 1976, “Epic” label the debut, self-titled Boston studio album. It was recorded October 1975 – April 1976, and was produced by John Boylan and Tom Scholz. The album introduced to the world the “Boston sound”, music style developed from Scholz’s love of classical music, melodic songs and heavy rock guitars. The album was big commercial success, selling more than 25 million copies worldwide and becoming one of the best-selling debut albums of all time. The album’s singles, “More than a feeling” and “Long time”, were big radio hits. The album was certified Diamond in Canada by “Music Canada” and 17 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Tom Scholz– electric guitars, lead guitar, acoustic guitars, clavinet, organ, bass guitar
  • Brad Delp– lead and harmony vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Sib Hashian– drums
  • Jim Masdea– drums
  • Barry Goudreau– rhythm guitars, lead guitars
  • Fran Sheehan– bass guitar
  • Kim Hart – design consulting
  • Jeff Albertson – photography
  • Ron Pownall – photography
  • Gary Pihl – photo editing
  • Roger Huyssen – cover ilustration
  • Gerard Huerta – cover lettering

Track listing:

All tracks by Tom Scholz, except where noted.

  1. More Than a Feeling
  2. Peace of Mind
  3. Foreplay / Long Time
  4. Rock & Roll Band
  5. Smokin – Brad Delp and Tom Scholz
  6. Hitch a Ride
  7. Something About You
  8. Let Me Take You Home Tonight – Brad Delp