On April 25, 1975.


On April 25, 1975, “Warner Bros” label released “Stampede”, the fifth Doobie Brothers studio album. It was recorded September – October 1974, at “Warner Brothers Studios” in  North Hollywood, “Burbank Studios” in Burbank, ”Curlom Studios” in Chicago, “The Record Plant” in Sausalito, CA “, and “Creative Workshop” in Nashville, and was produced by Ted Templeman.


  • Tom Johnston– vocals, guitars
  • Patrick Simmons– vocals, guitars
  • Jeff “Skunk” Baxter– guitar, steel guitar
  • Tiran Porter– bass, vocals
  • John Hartman– drums
  • Keith Knudsen– drums, vocals
  • Karl Himmel – drums, percussion
  • Bobbye Hall Porter– congas
  • Victor Feldman– marimba, percussion
  • Ted Templeman– percussion
  • Bill Payne– keyboards
  • Ry Cooder– bottleneck guitar
  • Conte, Pete Candoli – trumpets
  • Maria Muldaur– vocals
  • Sherlie Matthews– vocals
  • Venetta Fields– vocals
  • Jessica Smith – vocals
  • Nick DeCaro – string arrangements
  • Curtis Mayfield, Paul Riser – string and horn arrangements
  • Richard Tufo – orchestration
  • Donn Landee, Travis Turk – engineer
  • Ed Thrasher – art direction
  • Barbara Casado, John Casado – design
  • Jill Maggid, Michael Maggid – photography

Track listing:

  1. Sweet Maxine – Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons
  2. Neal’s Fandango – Patrick Simmons
  3. Texas Lullaby – Tom Johnston
  4. Music Man – Tom Johnston
  5. Slack Key Soquel Rag – Patrick Simmons
  6. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While) – Holland-Dozier-Holland
  7. I Cheat the Hangman – Patrick Simmons
  8. Précis – Jeff Skunk Baxter
  9. Rainy Day Crossroad Blues – Tom Johnston
  10. I Been Workin’ on You – Tom Johnston
  11. Double Dealin’ Four Flusher – Patrick Simmons

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.