Tag Archives: Bob Matthews

Jerry Garcia: Garcia

On November 20, 1972, “Warner Bros” label released “Garcia”, the debur Jerry Garcia album. It was recorded in July 1971, and was produced by Bill Kreutzmann, Bob Matthews and Betty Cantor.


  • Jerry Garcia – acoustic guitar, electric guitar, pedal steel guitar, bass, piano, organ, samples, vocals, mixing
  • Bill Kreutzmann – drums
  • Bob Matthews – engineer, mixing
  • Betty Cantor – engineer, mixing
  • Ramrod – engineer, mixing, production assistant
  • Bob Seidemann – design, cover photography
  • Herb Greene – Jerry Garcia photography

Track listing:

  1. Deal – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  2. Bird Song – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  3. Sugaree – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  4. Loser – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  5. Late for Supper – Jerry Garcia, Bill Kreutzmann
  6. Spidergawd – Jerry Garcia, Bill Kreutzmann
  7. Eep Hour – Jerry Garcia, Bill Kreutzmann
  8. To Lay Me Down – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  9. An Odd Little Place – Jerry Garcia, Bill Kreutzmann
  10. The Wheel – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia, Bill Kreutzmann

In November 1982.

In November 1982, “Arista” label released “Run for the Roses”, the fourth Jerry Garcia solo album. It was recorded September – December 1981, and was produced by Jerry Garcia and John Kahn.


  • Jerry Garcia– vocals, guitar
  • John Kahn– bass, fretless bass, synthesizer, piano, clavinet, guitar
  • Ron Tutt– drums, percussion
  • Melvin Seals, Merl Saunders– organ
  • James Warren, Michael O’Martian – piano, clavinet
  • Michael Neuman – trumpet
  • Liz Stires, Julie Stafford – vocals
  • Betty Cantor-Jackson, Ron Malo – engineer
  • Bob Matthews – mixing
  • George Horn – mastering
  • Victor Moscoso – artwork

Track listing:

  1. Run For The Roses – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter
  2. I Saw Her Standing There – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  3. Without Love – Clyde McPhatter
  4. Midnight Getaway – Jerry Garcia, John Kahn, Robert Hunter
  5. Leave The Little Girl Alone – John Kahn, Robert Hunter
  6. Valerie – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter
  7. Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door – Bob Dylan


In April 1978.

In April 1978, “Arista” label released “Cats Under the Stars”, the first Jerry Garcia Band album. It was recorded 1977-1978, at the “Grateful Dead’s Club Front” in San Rafael, a warehouse space that had been acquired for band rehearsals and later converted to a studio, and was produced by Jerry Garcia and John Kahn.


  • Jerry Garcia- guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux- vocals
  • Keith Godchaux- keyboards, background vocals
  • John Kahn- basses, keyboards, guitar, orchestration
  • Ron Tutt – drums, percussion
  • Merl Saunders- organ
  • Maria Muldaur- background vocals
  • Stephen Schuster – flute, clarinet, saxophone
  • Brian Godchaux – violin
  • Candy Godchaux – violin
  • Engineers – Betty Cantor-Jackson, Bob Matthews
  • Assistants – Harry Popick, Steve Parrish, Bill Candelario, Ramrod
  • Cover art – Kelly Mouse Studios

Track listing:

  1. Rubin And Cherise – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  2. Love In The Afternoon – Robert Hunter, John Kahn
  3. Palm Sunday – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  4. Cats Under The Stars – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia
  5. Rhapsody In Red – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia, John Kahn
  6. Rain – Donna Godchaux
  7. Down Home – John Kahn
  8. Gomorrah – Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia

On June 14, 1970.


On June 14, 1970, “Warner Bros” label released “Workingman’s Dead”, the fourth Grateful Dead studio album. It was recorded in February 1970, at “Pacific High Recording”  in San Francisco, and was produced by Bob Matthews, Betty Cantor, and Grateful Dead. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 262 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Jerry Garcia– vocals, lead and pedal steel guitar, banjo
  • Bob Weir – vocals, co-lead vocals
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan)– vocals, keyboards, harmonica,
  • Phil Lesh– vocals, bass,
  • Bill Kreutzmann– drums, percussion
  • Mickey Hart– drums, percussion
  • David Nelson– acoustic guitar
  • Alembic – engineer
  • Mouse Studios, Toon N Tree – cover photography, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter, except where noted.

  1. Uncle John’s Band
  2. High Time
  3. Dire Wolf
  4. New Speedway Boogie
  5. Cumberland Blues – Jerry Garcia, Phil Lesh, Robert Hunter
  6. Black Peter
  7. Easy Wind – Robert Hunter
  8. Casey Jones