Tag Archives: James Gordon

In December 1967.

In December 1967, “Warner Bros” label released “Song Cycle”, the debut Van Dyke Parks album. It, was recorded in 1967 at “Sunset Sound Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lenny Waronker.


  • Van Dyke Parks– main performer, vocals
  • Ron Elliott, Dick Rosmini– guitar
  • Misha Goodatieff – violin
  • Virginia Majewski – viola
  • Carl Fortina – accordion
  • Nicolai Bolin, Vasil Crlenica, William Nadel, Alan Reuss, Leon Stewart, Thomas Tedesco– balalaika
  • Don Bagley, Gregory Bemko, Chuck Berghofer, Harry Bluestone, Samuel Boghossian, Dennis Budimir, Joseph Ditullio, Jesse Ehrlich, Nathan Gershman, Philip Goldberg, Armand Kaproff, William Kurasch, Leonard Malarsky, Jerome Reisler, Orville Rhodes, Trefoni Rizzi, Lyle Ritz, Joseph Saxon, Ralph Schaffer, Leonard Selic, Frederick Seykora, Darrel Terwilliger, Bob West – strings
  • Gayle Levant – harp
  • Norman Benno, Arthur Briegleb, Vincent DeRosa, George Fields, William Green, James Horn, Richard Hyde, Jay Migliori, Thomas Morgan, Ted Nash, Richard Perissi, Thomas Scott, Thomas Shepard– woodwind
  • Billie J. Barnum, Gerri Engeman, Karen Gunderson, James and Vanessa Hendricks, Durrie and Gaile Parks, Julia E. Rinker, Paul Jay Robbins, Nik Woods – choir
  • Hal Blaine, Gary Coleman, James Gordon, Earl Palmer– percussion
  • Steve Young– folk (“Vine Street” introduction tape)

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Dyke Parks, except where noted.

  1. Vine Street – Randy Newman
  2. Palm Desert
  3. Widow’s Talk
  4. Laurel Canyon Blvd
  5. The All Golden
  6. Van Dyke Parks (Public Domain)
  7. Public Domain
  8. Donovan’s Colours – Donovan Leitch
  9. The Attic
  10. Laurel Canyon Blvd
  11. By the People
  12. Pot Pourri



In June 1969.

In June 1969, “Columbia” label released the second, self-titled Johnny Winter studio album. It was recorded February-March 1969 in Nashville, and was produced by Johnny Winter.


  • Johnny Winter – lead guitar, slide guitar, harmonica, vocals
  • Uncle John Turner – percussion
  • Tommy Shannon– bass
  • Edgar Winter– keyboards, alto saxophone
  • Elsie Senter – backing vocals
  • Carrie Hossel – backing vocals
  • Peggy Bowers – backing vocals
  • Stephen Ralph Sefsik – alto saxophone
  • Norman Ray – baritone saxophone
  • Walter “Shakey” Horton– harmonica
  • Willie Dixon– acoustic bass
  • Karl Garin – trumpet
  • Wynn Butler – tenor saxophone
  • Eddie Kramer– production consultant
  • Marvin Devonish – production assistant
  • Steve Paul– spiritual producer

Track listing:

  1. I’m Yours & I’m Hers – Johnny Winter
  2. Be Careful with a Fool – Joe Josea, B. King
  3. Dallas – Johnny Winter
  4. Mean Mistreater – James Gordon
  5. Leland Mississippi Blues – Johnny Winter
  6. Good Morning Little School Girl – Sonny Boy Williamson
  7. When You Got a Good Friend – Robert Johnson
  8. I’ll Drown in My Tears – Henry Glover
  9. Back Door Friend – Lightnin’ Hopkins, Stan Lewis

On March 15, 1977.


On March 15, 1977, “Capitol” label released “Islands”, the seventh The Band studio album. It was recorded in December 1976 and January 1977, at
”Shangri-la Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by The Band.


  • Rick Danko– bass guitar, vocals
  • Levon Helm– drums, vocals
  • Garth Hudson– organ, synthesizer, accordion, piccolo, tenor, alto, and baritone saxophones
  • Richard Manuel– acoustic and electric pianos, vocals
  • Robbie Robertson– guitars, vocals
  • James Gordon– flute
  • Tom Malone– trombone
  • John Simon– alto saxophone
  • Larry Packer– violin

Track listing:

All tracks by Robbie Robertson, except where noted.

  1. Right as Rain
  2. Street Walker – Rick Danko and Robbie Robertson
  3. Let the Night Fall
  4. Ain’t That a Lot of Love – Homer Banks and Willia Dean Parker
  5. Christmas Must Be Tonight
  6. Islands – Rick Danko, Gart Hudson and Robbie Robertson
  7. The Saga of Pepote Rouge
  8. Georgia on My Mind – Hoagy Carmichael and Stuart Gorrell
  9. Knockin’ Lost John
  10. Livin’ in a Dream