Tag Archives: Richard Harris

In September 1964.

In September 1964, “Smash Records” label released “Out of Sight”, the ninth James Brown studio album. It was recorded in 1964, and was produced by James Brown.


  • James Brown – vocals
  • Bobby Byrd – organ, backing vocals
  • Ernie Hayes – piano, organ
  • Les Buie – guitar
  • Billy Butler – guitar
  • Wallace Richardson – guitar
  • Lucas Fats Gonder – organ
  • Bernard Odum – bass
  • Sam Thomas – bass
  • Al Lucas – bass
  • David “Panama” Francis – drums
  • Melvin Parker – drums
  • Nat Kendrick – drums
  • Nat Jones – alto saxophone
  • George Dorsey – alto saxophone
  • Haywood Henry – baritone saxophone
  • Maceo Parker – baritone saxophone
  • Jerome Richardson – tenor saxophone
  • Sam “The Man” Taylor – tenor saxophone
  • Seldon Powell – tenor saxophone
  • Al Brisco Clark – tenor saxophone
  • Eldde Williams – tenor saxophone
  • St. Clair Pinckney – tenor saxophone
  • Joe Dupars – trumpet
  • McKinley Johnson – trumpet
  • Ron Tooley – trumpet
  • Teddy Washington – trumpet
  • Richard Harris – trombone
  • Wilmer Milton – trombone
  • New York Studio Orchestra
  • New York Studio Chorus
  • Sammy Lowe – conductor, arranger
  • Eugen “Baby Lloyd” Stallworth, Bobby Bennett – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Out of Sight – Ted Wright
  2. Come Rain or Come Shine – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer
  3. Good Rockin’ Tonight – Roy Brown
  4. Till Then – Eddie Seiler, Guy Wood, Sol Marcus
  5. Nature Boy – Eden Ahbez
  6. I Wanna be Around – Johnny Mercer, Sadie Vimmerstedt
  7. I Got You – Ted Wright
  8. Maybe the Last Time – Ted Wright
  9. Mona Lisa – Jay Livingston, Ray Evans
  10. I Love You, Porgy – George Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  11. Only You – Ande Rand, Buck Ram
  12. Somethin’ Else – Ted Wright

On March 11, 2019.

On March 11, 2019, Harold Simon Belsky aka Hal Blaine died aged 90. He was musician (drums) regarded to be one of the most recorded studio drummers in the history of the modern music. He had more than 35,000 recording sessions in various music genres including big number of film and TV soundtracks. He worked with Shelley Fabares, The Crystals, Jan & Dean, The Beach Boys, Dean Martin, Lorne Greene, Gary Lewis & the Playboys, The Byrds, Sonny & Cher, Barry McGuire, Petula Clark, Nancy Sinatra, The Mamas & the Papas, Frank Sinatra, Johnny Rivers, The Supremes, The Association, Simon & Garfunkel, Tommy Roe, The 5th Dimension, Henry Mancini, The Carpenters, Neil Diamond, The Partridge Family, The Raiders, Barbra Streisand, John Denver, Captain & Tennille, Diana Ross, Sam Cooke, Van Dyke Parks, John Lennon, Lulu, Dennis Wilson, Paul Simon, Richard Harris, Glen Campbell, Emitt Rhodes, Art Garfunkel, Juice Newton, Michael Nesmith, Cher, Dusty Springfield, Aretha Franklin, J.J. Cale, José Feliciano, Bobby Darin, Rosanne Cash, Cass Elliot, Rodney Crowell, Dion DiMucci, Paul Anka, Barry Mann, Emmylou Harris, Jackie Lomax, Elkie Brooks, Helen Reddy, John Philips, Thelma Houston and Leonard Cohen. As leader Blaine released five albums.

On November 10, 1997.

On November 10, 1997, Thomas J. Tedesco died aged 67. He was a musician (guitar), part of the loose collective of Los Angeles area’s session musicians known as The Wrecking Crew. As he played on hundreds studio recordings, “Guitar Player” magazine described him as “the most recorded guitarist in music history”. He recorded with the Beach Boys, Chet Baker, the Mamas & the Papas, the Everly Brothers, the Association, Bobby Darrin, Barbra Streisand, Jan and Dean, the 5th Dimension, Elvis Presley, Sam Cooke, Ella Fitzgerald, Frank Zappa, Ricky Nelson, Cher, Neil Diamond, Van Dyke Parks, Michael Franks, Nancy and Frank Sinatra, Richard Harris, Peggy Lee, Johnny Rivers, Al Kooper, Michael Nesmith, Paul Anka, Don Ellis, Minnie Riperton, Maria Muldaur, Leon Russell, Aretha Franklin, Art Garfunkel, J.J. Cale, Quincy Jones, Stephen Bishop, Kenny Loggins, Jack Nitzsche, Sarah Vaughan, Lalo Schifrin, Randy Newman, Hugh Masakela, and Joan Baez. Tedesco performed on soundtracks including The French Connection, Jaws, The Godfather, Field of Dreams, and The Deer Hunter. As a leader he released ten albums.

In May 1968.

In May 1958, “Dunhill” label released “A Tramp Shining”, the debut Richard Harris album. It was recorded December 1967-January 1958, and was produced by Jimmy Webb.


  • Richard Harris – vocals
  • Jimmy Webb– arranger, composer
  • William F. Williams – supervision
  • Hal Blaine– drums
  • Larry Knechtel– keyboards
  • Mike Deasy– guitar
  • Joe Osborn– bass guitar
  • Sid Sharp – string arrangements
  • Jules Chaikin – trumpet
  • Jim Horn– saxophone
  • Tommy Tedesco– guitar
  • Armen Steiner – engineer
  • Peter Himmelman – engineer
  • Gary Burden– art direction, design
  • Henry Diltz– photography
  • Patrick Ward – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jimmy Webb.

  1. Prelude
  2. Didn’t We?
  3. Interlude
  4. Paper Chase
  5. Interlude
  6. Name of My Sorrow
  7. Interlude
  8. Lovers Such as I
  9. In the Final Hours
  10. MacArthur Park
  11. Dancing Girl
  12. Interlude
  13. If You Must Leave My Life
  14. A Tramp Shining