Tag Archives: North Hollywood

On October 17, 1995.

On October 17, 1995, “Verve” label released “High Life”, the twentieth Wayne Shorter album. It was recorded in 1995, at Bill Schnee’s studio in North Hollywood,  and was produced by Marcus Miller. In 1997, “High Life” won the “Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Jazz Album”. 


  • Wayne Shorter – tenor, soprano, alto and baritone saxophones
  • Rachel Z – piano, synthesizers, sound design, sequencing
  • David Gilmore – electric guitar
  • Marcus Miller – bass guitar, bass clarinet, rhythm programming
  • Will Calhoun – drums
  • Lenny Castro – percussion
  • Airto Moreira – percussion
  • Terri Lyne Carrington – drums
  • Munyungo Jackson – percussion
  • Kevin Ricard – percussion
  • David Ward – additional sound design

Track listing:

All tracks by Wayne Shorter.

  1. Children of the Night
  2. At the Fair
  3. Maya
  4. On the Milky Way Express
  5. Pandora Awakened
  6. Virgo Rising
  7. High Life
  8. Midnight in Carlotta’s Hair
  9. Black Swan (in memory of Susan Portlynn Romeo)

On September 23, 1977.


On September 23, 1977, “Warner Bros” label released “Little Criminals”, the fifth  Randy Newman album. It was recorded July–September 1977, at “Warner Bros. Recording Studios” in North Hollywood, and “The Burbank Studios”, and was produced by Lenny Waronker and Russ Titelman.


  • Randy Newman- vocals, keyboards, synthesizer, piano
  • Mike Boddicker- additional synthesizer and synthesizer programming
  • The Eagles, Glenn Frey, D. Souther, Tim Schmit – backing vocals
  • Klaus Voormann – bass
  • Milt Holland – congas
  • Waddy Wachtel, Glenn Frey – guitar
  • Willie Weeks – bass
  • Andy Newmark, Rick Marotta, Jim Keltner – drums
  • Joe Walsh – guitar, slide guitar
  • Ralph Grierson – piano
  • Jim Keltner -temple blocks
  • Ry Cooder – mandolin

Track listing:

All tracks by Randy Newman.

  1. Short People
  2. You Can’t Fool the Fatman
  3. Little Criminals
  4. Texas Girl at the Funeral of Her Father
  5. Jolly Coppers on Parade
  6. In Germany Before the War
  7. Sigmund Freud’s Impersonation of Albert Einsteinin America
  8. Baltimore
  9. I’ll Be Home
  10. Rider in the Rain
  11. Kathleen (Catholicism Made Easier)
  12. Old Man on the Farm

On May 26, 1972.

Winds of Change

On May 26, 1972, “A&M” label released “Wind of Change”, the first Peter Frampton solo album. It was recorded October 1971 – April 1972,at “Devonshire Sound Studios” in North Hollywood; “Olympic Studios” and  “Island Studios” in London, and was produced by Peter Frampton and Chris Kimsey.


  • Peter Frampton- lead vocals, lead guitar, acoustic guitar, organ, keyboards, drums, percussion, dulcimer, harmonium, vocals
  • Frank Carillo- rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Mick Jones- rhythm guitar
  • Andy Bown- bass, organ, electric piano, mellotron, percussion, backing vocals
  • Rick Wills- bass
  • Klaus Voorman- bass
  • Billy Preston- piano, organ
  • Mike Kellie- drums, percussion
  • Ringo Starr- drums, percussion
  • Chris Karan- congas
  • Frank Ricotti- shaker
  • Del Newman- strings, arrangements, flute, marimba
  • Jim Price- brass
  • Engineers: Peter Frampton, Chris Kimsey

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Frampton, except “Jumpin’ Jack Flash”, by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards

  1. Fig Tree Bay
  2. Wind of Change
  3. Lady Lieright
  4. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  5. It’s a Plain Shame
  6. Oh for Another Day
  7. All I Wanna Be (Is by Your Side)
  8. The Lodger
  9. Hard
  10. Alright

On May 1, 1975.


On May 1, 1975, “Warner Bros” label released “Gorilla”, the sixth James Taylor studio album. It was recorded March – April, 1975 at “Warner Bros. Studios” in North Hollywood and “The Burbank Studios” in Burbank, and was produced by Russ Titelman and Lenny Waronker.


  • James Taylor – vocals, acoustic, electric and high-string acoustic guitar, ukulele
  • David Crosby- vocals
  • Graham Nash- vocals
  • Carly Simon- vocals
  • Valerie Carter- vocals
  • Clarence McDonald – piano, ARP String Ensemble synthesizer, Fender Rhodes electric piano
  • Randy Newman- horn organ
  • Nick DeCaro – organ, strings, accordion
  • Arthur Adams – electric guitar
  • Lowell George- vocals, slide guitar
  • Danny Kortchmar- electric guitar
  • Al Perkins- pedal steel guitar
  • David Grisman- mandolin
  • Lee Sklar- bass
  • Willie Weeks- bass
  • Jim Keltner- drums
  • Andy Newmark- drums
  • Russ Kunkel- drums, percussion, shaker, tambourine, congas
  • Milt Holland- percussion, wind chimes
  • Victor Feldman- percussion
  • David Sanborn- saxophone
  • Chuck Findley- trumpet
  • George Bohannon – trombone
  • Jules Jacob – clarinet, oboe
  • Gayle Levant – harp

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor, except where noted.

  1. Mexico
  2. Music
  3. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You) – Holland/Dozier/Holland
  4. Wandering – traditional; arrangement and additional lyrics by James Taylor
  5. Gorilla
  6. You Make It Easy
  7. I Was a Fool to Care
  8. Lighthouse
  9. Angry Blues
  10. Love Songs
  11. Sarah Maria


On April 25, 1975.


On April 25, 1975, “Warner Bros” label released “Stampede”, the fifth Doobie Brothers studio album. It was recorded September – October 1974, at “Warner Brothers Studios” in  North Hollywood, “Burbank Studios” in Burbank,”Curlom Studios” in Chicago,“The Record Plant” in Sausalito, CA “, and “Creative Workshop” in Nashville, and was produced by Ted Templeman. The album has been certified Gold in the US by the “RIAA”.


  • Tom Johnston– guitars, vocals
  • Patrick Simmons– guitars, vocals
  • Jeff “Skunk” Baxter– guitar, steel guitar
  • Tiran Porter– bass, vocals
  • John Hartman– drums
  • Keith Knudsen– drums, vocals
  • Bill Payne– keyboards
  • Ry Cooder– bottleneck guitar
  • Maria Muldaur– vocals
  • Karl Himmel – drums and percussion
  • Conte and Pete Candoli – trumpets
  • Bobbye Hall Porter– congas
  • Victor Feldman– marimba, percussion
  • Sherlie Matthews– vocals
  • Venetta Fields– vocals
  • Jessica Smith – vocals
  • Ted Templeman– percussion
  • Engineer: Donn Landee, Travis Turk
  • Concert Master: Harry Bluestone
  • String Arrangements: Nick DeCaro, Curtis Mayfield, Paul Riser
  • Horn Arrangements:Curtis Mayfield, Paul Riser
  • Orchestration: Richard Tufo
  • Design: Barbara Casado, John Casado
  • Photography: Jill Maggid, Michael Maggid
  • Art Direction: Ed Thrasher

Track listing:

  1. Sweet Maxine – Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons
  2. Neal’s Fandango – Patrick Simmons
  3. Texas Lullaby – Tom Johnston
  4. Music Man – Tom Johnston
  5. Slack Key Soquel Rag – Patrick Simmons
  6. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While) – Holland-Dozier-Holland
  7. I Cheat the Hangman – Patrick Simmons
  8. Précis – Jeff Skunk Baxter
  9. Rainy Day Crossroad Blues – Tom Johnston
  10. I Been Workin’ on You – Tom Johnston
  11. Double Dealin’ Four Flusher – Patrick Simmons