Tag Archives: What Is Hip?

On March 25, 2008.

On March 25, 2008, at “Half Note” label released “The Delirium Blues Project: Serve or Suffer”, first album released by joint leadership of Roseanna Vitro and Kenny Werner. It was recorded in August 2007, at “Blue Note” in New York City, and was produced by Jeffrey Levenson.


  • Roseanna Vitro– vocals, arrangements
  • Kenny Werner– keyboards, arrangements
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet
  • James Carter– tenor saxophone
  • Ray Anderson– trombone
  • Geoff Countryman– baritone saxophone
  • Adam Rogers– guitar
  • John Pattitucci– acoustic and electric bass
  • Rocky Bryant – drums

Track listing:

  1. What Is Hip? – Emilio Castillo, John David Garibaldi, Stephen M. Kupka
  2. Goodnight Nelda Grebe, the Telephone Company Has Cut Us Off – Tracy Nelson
  3. Blue – Gildo Mahones, Jon Hendricks
  4. Be Cool – Joni Mitchell
  5. Half Moon – Janis Joplin
  6. In the Dark – Lillian “Lil” Green
  7. Cheater Man – Spooner Oldham, Dan Penn
  8. Everybody’s Cryin’ Mercy – Mose Allison
  9. Don’t Ever Let Nobody Drag Your Spirit Down – Eric Bibb, Maria Muldaur

In May 1973.

In May 1973, “Warner Bros” label released the third, self-titled Tower of Power album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Greg Adams, Brent Byars, Emilio Castillo, Bruce Conte, David Garibaldi, Mic Gillette, Stephen” Doc” Kupka, Lenny Pickett, Francis ”Rocco” Prestia, Jay Spell, Bruce Steinberg, Chester Thompson and Lenny Williams.


  • Greg Adams– trumpet, flugelhorn, backing vocals, string arrangements and conductor
  • Brent Byars – bongos, conga
  • Emilio Castillo– tenor saxophone, backing vocals, production supervisor
  • Bruce Conte– guitar, backing vocals
  • David Garibaldi– drums
  • Mic Gillette– trombone, trumpet, flugelhorn, baritone, backing vocals
  • Stephen “Doc” Kupka– oboe, baritone saxophone, backing vocals
  • Lenny Pickett– clarinet, flute, tenor saxophone, backing vocals
  • Francis “Rocco” Prestia– bass guitar
  • Jay Spell – acoustic piano
  • Bruce Steinberg – harmonica, art direction, design, photography, illustrations, cover design
  • Chester Thompson – organ, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Lenny Williams– lead vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Emilio Castillo and Stephen “Doc” Kupka except when noted.

  1. What Is Hip? – Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka, David Garibaldi
  2. Clever Girl – Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Willie Fulton
  3. This Time It’s Real – David Bartlett, Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka
  4. Will I Ever Find a Love?
  5. Get Yo’ Feet Back on the Ground – Willie Fulton
  6. So Very Hard to Go
  7. Soul Vaccination
  8. Both Sorry Over Nothin’ – Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Lenny Williams
  9. Clean Slate – Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Willie Fulton
  10. Just Another Day – Bruce Conte