Tag Archives: Half moon

In December 1974.

In December 1974, “ABC” label released “Rufusized”, the third Rufus studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “The Record Plant” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Bob Monaco.


  • Chaka Khan– lead vocals, background vocals
  • Tony Maiden – lead guitar, background vocals
  • Kevin Murphy– organ, clavinet, background vocals, acoustic piano, ARP synthesizer
  • Bobby Watson – bass, background vocals
  • André Fischer – drums, percussion
  • Clare Fischer, Kevin Murphy – string and horn arrangements
  • Gerald Vinci – concertmaster
  • Gary Olazabal, Austin Godsey, Mike Braunstein – engineers

Track listing:

  1. Once You Get Started – Gavin Christopher
  2. Somebody’s Watching You – Tony Maiden, Chaka Khan, Bobby Watson
  3. Pack’d My Bags – Tony Maiden, Chaka Khan
  4. Your Smile – Lalomie Washburn
  5. Rufusized (Instrumental) – Chaka Khan, Tony Maiden, Bobby Watson, Kevin Murphy, André Fischer
  6. I’m a Woman (I’m a Backbone) – Lalomie Washburn
  7. Right is Right – Tony Maiden, Kevin Murphy, Chaka Khan
  8. Half Moon – John Hall
  9. Please Pardon Me (You Remind Me of a Friend) – Brenda Gordon, Brian Russell
  10. Stop on By – Bobby Womack, Pete Thomas



On January 11, 1971.


On January 11, 1971, “Columbia” label released “Pearl”, the second and final Janis Joplin solo studio album. It was recorded September – October, 1970, and was produced by Paul A. Rothchild. This was the only Janis Joplin album recorded with the Full Tilt Boogie Band. The album was certified 4 x Platinum in US by the “RIAA”.


  • Janis Joplin – vocals, guitar
  • Richard Bell – piano
  • Ken Pearson –organ
  • John Till– electric guitar
  • Brad Campbell –bass guitar
  • Clark Pierson –drums
  • Bobby Womack– acoustic guitar
  • Bobbye Hall– conga, percussion
  • Phil Badella, John Cooke, Vince Mitchell –backing vocals
  • Sandra Crouch –tambourine
  • Barry Feinstein, Tom Wilkes – photography, design for Camouflage Productions

Track listing:

  1. Move Over – Janis Joplin
  2. Cry Baby – Jerry Ragovoy, Bert Berns
  3. A Woman Left Lonely – Dan Penn, Spooner Oldham
  4. Half Moon – John Hall, Johanna Hall
  5. Buried Alive in the Blues – Nick Graventies
  6. My Baby – Jerry Ragovoy, Mort Shuman
  7. Me and Bobby McGee – Kris Kristofferson, Fred Foster
  8. Mercedes Benz – Janis Joplin, Bob Neuwirth, Michael McClure
  9. Trust Me – Bobby Womack
  10. Get It While You Can – Jerry Ragovoy, Mort Shuman