Tag Archives: Malcolm Jones

On October 17, 1988.

On October 17, 1988, “Harvest” label released “Opel”, and album compiled from Syd Barrett’s recordings made between 1968 and 1970. It features unreleased material and alternate takes of recordings from sessions for Barrett’s solo albums, “The Madcap Laughs”,  and “Barrett”. It was recorded at “Abbey Road Studios” in London and was produced by Syd Barrett, Peter Jenner, Malcolm Jones, Roger Waters, and David Gilmour.


  • Syd Barrett – vocals, guitar
  • Mike Ratledge – organ
  • Robert Wyatt – drums
  • Hugh Hopper – bass
  • Gareth Cousins – mix engineer

Track listing”

All tracks by Syd Barrett, except where noted.

  1. Opel
  2. Clown and Jugglers
  3. Rats
  4. Golden Hair – lyrics based on a poem by James Joyce
  5. Dolly Rocker
  6. Word Song
  7. Wined and Dined
  8. Swan Lee (Silas Lang)
  9. Birdie Hop
  10. Let’s Split
  11. Lanky (Party One)
  12. Wouldn’t You Miss Me (Dark Globe)
  13. Milky Way
  14. Golden Hair (instrumental version)

In July 1969.

In July 1969, “Atco” label released the self-titled, debut Blues Image album. It was recorded in 1969 and was produced by Bill Halverson.


  • Mike Pinera– lead and backing vocals, guitar
  • Skip Konte– piano, organ; backing vocals
  • Malcolm Jones – bass
  • Manuel Bertematti – drums
  • Joe Lala- percussion; lead and backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Pinera, Skip Konte, Malcolm Jones, Mauel Bertematti and Joe Lala.

  1. Take Me to the Sunrise
  2. Leaving My Troubles Behind
  3. Outside Was Night
  4. In Front Behind You
  5. Lay Your Sweet Love on Me
  6. (Do You Have) Somethin’ to Say
  7. Lazy Day Blues
  8. Yesterday Could Be Today
  9. Reality Does Not Inspire

On February 21, 1999.

On February 21, 1999, “Ridge” label released “In Search of Angels”, the tenth Runrig album. It was recorded in 1998, at “CaVa Studios” in Glasgow, Scotland, and was produced by Chris Harley.


  • Bruce Guthro: lead vocals
  • Malcolm Jones: guitars, accordion
  • Iain Bayne: drums, percussion
  • Calum Macdonald: percussion
  • Rory Macdonald: vocals, bass guitar
  • Peter Wishart: keyboards

Track listing:

  1. Maymorning
  2. The Message
  3. Rìbhinn Donn (Brown Haired Girl)
  4. Big Sky
  5. Life Is
  6. Dà Mhìle Bliadhna (Two Thousand Years)
  7. This Is Not a Love Song
  8. A Dh’innse na Fìrinn (To Tell You the Truth)
  9. All Things Must Change
  10. Cho Buidhe Is A Bha I Riabh (As Yellow As It Ever Was)
  11. Travelers
  12. In Seaarch of Angels

In April 1970.

In April 1970, “Atco” label released “Open” the second Blues Image album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Richard Podolor.


  • Mike Pinera– lead guitar, lead vocals
  • Skip Konte– keyboards
  • Malcolm Jones – bass
  • Manny Bertematti – drums
  • Joe Lala– percussion, backing vocals
  • Kent Henry– guitars

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Pinera, Skip Konte, Malcolm Jones, Manny Bertematti and Joe Lala, except where noted.

  1. Love Is the Answer
  2. Running the Water
  3. Clean Love
  4. La Bamba – traditional
  5. Consuelate
  6. Ride Captain Ride
  7. Pay My Dues
  8. Fugue U
  9. Parchman Farm – Mose Allison
  10. Wrath of Daisey
  11. Take Me


On January 3, 1970.

Syd Barrett - Mad Cap Laughs

On January 3, 1970, “Harvest” label released “The Madcap Laughs”, the debut Syd Barrett solo album.  It was recorded May 1968 – August 1969, at the “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Syd Barrett, Peter Jenner, Malcolm Jones, David Gilmour and Roger Waters.


  • Syd Barrett– acoustic and electric guitar, vocals, production
  • David Gilmour– bass guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar, drums
  • Jerry Shirley– drums
  • Willie Wilson– bass guitar
  • Robert Wyatt– drums
  • Hugh Hopper– bass guitar
  • Mike Ratledge– keyboards
  • Mick Rock– photography
  • Storm Thorgerson and Aubrey Powell of Hipgnosis – cover designs

Track listing:

All tracks by Syd Barrett, except “Golden Hair” – music by Syd Barrett, based on a poem by James Joyce.

  1. Terrapin
  2. No Good Trying
  3. Love You
  4. No Man’s Land
  5. Dark Globe
  6. Here I Go
  7. Octopus
  8. Golden Hair
  9. Long Gone
  10. She Took A Long Cold Look
  11. Feel
  12. If It’s in You
  13. Late Night