Tag Archives: James Joyce

On October 17, 1988.

On October 17, 1988, “Harvest” label released “Opel”, and album compiled from Syd Barrett’s recordings made between 1968 and 1970. It features unreleased material and alternate takes of recordings from sessions for Barrett’s solo albums, “The Madcap Laughs”,  and “Barrett”. It was recorded at “Abbey Road Studios” in London and was produced by Syd Barrett, Peter Jenner, Malcolm Jones, Roger Waters, and David Gilmour.


  • Syd Barrett – vocals, guitar
  • Mike Ratledge – organ
  • Robert Wyatt – drums
  • Hugh Hopper – bass
  • Gareth Cousins – mix engineer

Track listing”

All tracks by Syd Barrett, except where noted.

  1. Opel
  2. Clown and Jugglers
  3. Rats
  4. Golden Hair – lyrics based on a poem by James Joyce
  5. Dolly Rocker
  6. Word Song
  7. Wined and Dined
  8. Swan Lee (Silas Lang)
  9. Birdie Hop
  10. Let’s Split
  11. Lanky (Party One)
  12. Wouldn’t You Miss Me (Dark Globe)
  13. Milky Way
  14. Golden Hair (instrumental version)

In June 1968.

In June 1968, “Vanguard” label released “Baptism: A Journey Through Our Time”, the ninth Joan Baez album. It was recorded in 1968, at “Vanguard Studios” in New York, and was produced by Maynard Solomon. The album featured poetry spoken and sung by Joan Baez.


  • Joan Baez – vocals, guitar

Track listing:

  1. Old Welsh Song – Henry Treece
  2. I Saw the Vision of Armies – Walt Whitman
  3. Minister of War – Arthur Waley
  4. Song In the Blood – Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Jacques Prévert
  5. Casida of the Lament – L. Gili, Federico García Lorca
  6. Of the Dark Past – James Joyce
  7. London – William Blake
  8. In Guernica – Norman Rosten
  9. Who Murdered the Minutes – Henry Treece
  10. Oh, Little Child – Henry Treece
  11. No Man Is an Island – John Donne
  12. Portrait of the Artist As a Young Man – James Joyce
  13. All the Pretty Little Horses – traditional
  14. Childhood III – Arthur Rimbaud, Louis Varese
  15. The Magic Wood – Henry Treece
  16. Poems from the Japanese – Kenneth Rexroth
  17. Colours – Peter Levi, Robin Milner-Gulland, Yevgeny Yevtushenko
  18. All in Green Went My Love Riding – E. Cummings
  19. Gacela of the Dark Deat – Federico García Lorca, Stephen Spender
  20. The Parable of the Old Man and the Young – Wilfred Owen
  21. Evil – Cameron, Arthur Rimbaud
  22. Epitaph for a Poet – Countee Cullen
  23. Mystic Numbers- 36
  24. When The Shy Star Goes Forth In Heaven – James Joyce
  25. The Angel – William Blake
  26. Old Welsh Song – Henry Treece


On January 3, 1970.

Syd Barrett - Mad Cap Laughs

On January 3, 1970, “Harvest” label released “The Madcap Laughs”, the debut Syd Barrett solo album.  It was recorded May 1968 – August 1969, at the “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Syd Barrett, Peter Jenner, Malcolm Jones, David Gilmour and Roger Waters.


  • Syd Barrett– acoustic and electric guitar, vocals, production
  • David Gilmour– bass guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar, drums
  • Jerry Shirley– drums
  • Willie Wilson– bass guitar
  • Robert Wyatt– drums
  • Hugh Hopper– bass guitar
  • Mike Ratledge– keyboards
  • Mick Rock– photography
  • Storm Thorgerson and Aubrey Powell of Hipgnosis – cover designs

Track listing:

All tracks by Syd Barrett, except “Golden Hair” – music by Syd Barrett, based on a poem by James Joyce.

  1. Terrapin
  2. No Good Trying
  3. Love You
  4. No Man’s Land
  5. Dark Globe
  6. Here I Go
  7. Octopus
  8. Golden Hair
  9. Long Gone
  10. She Took A Long Cold Look
  11. Feel
  12. If It’s in You
  13. Late Night