Tag Archives: Richard Podolor

On March 27, 1972.

On March 27, 1972, “Dunhill” label released “Seven Separate Fools”, the eighth Three Dog Night album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Richard Podolor.


  • Mike Allsup– guitar
  • Jimmy Greenspoon– keyboards
  • Danny Hutton– lead and background vocals
  • Chuck Negron– lead and background vocals
  • Joe Schermie– bass guitar
  • Floyd Sneed– drums
  • Cory Wells– lead and background vocals
  • Patrick Sullivan – cello
  • Gary Itri – acoustic guitar
  • Ed Caraeff- art direction, photography, design concept
  • David Larkham – graphics, typography, design concept

Track listing:

  1. Black and White – David I. Arkin, Earl Robinson
  2. My Old Kentucky Home (Turpentine and Dandelion Wine) – Randy Newman
  3. Prelude to Morning – Jimmy Greenspoon
  4. Pieces of April – Dave Loggins
  5. Going in Circles – Jaiananda, Ted Myers
  6. Chained – Russ Ballard
  7. Tulsa Turnaround – Larry Collins, Alex Harvey
  8. In Bed – Tom Baird, Lynn Henderson, Wes Henderson
  9. Freedom for the Stallion – Allen Toussaint
  10. The Writing’s on the Wall – Domenic Troiano
  11. Midnight Runaway – Gary Itri

In November 1971.

In November 1971, “Dunhill” label released “For Ladies Only”, the sixth Steppenwolf studio album. It was recorded November 1970 – May 1971, at “American Recording Studios” in Studio City, California, and was produced by Richard Podolor.


  • John Kay– vocals, guitar
  • Kent Henry– lead guitar
  • George Biondo– vocals, bass guitar
  • Goldy McJohn– keyboards
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums
  • Bill Cooper – engineer
  • Tom Gundelfinger – photography, design

Track listing:

  1. For Ladies Only – Jerry Edmonton, Kent Henry, John Kay, Goldy McJohn
  2. I’m Asking – Jerry Edmonton, Goldy McJohn
  3. Shackles and Chains – John Kay
  4. Tenderness – Mars Bonfire
  5. The Night Time’s for You – Mars Bonfire, Morgan Cavett
  6. Jaded Strumpet – Jerry Edmonton
  7. Sparkle Eyes – George Biondo, John Kay
  8. Black Pit – Kent Henry, Goldy McJohn
  9. Ride With Me –Mars  Bonfire
  10. In Hopes of a Garden – George Biondo


In November 1970.

In November 1970, “Dunhill” label released “Steppenwolf 7”, the seventh   Steppenwolf album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Richard Podolor.


  • John Kay– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica
  • Larry Byrom– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Goldy McJohn– keyboards
  • George Biondo– bass, backing vocals
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums
  • Richard Podolor, Bill Cooper – engineer
  • Tom Gundelfinger – photography
  • Gary Burden– art direction, liner design, artwork

Track listing:

  1. Ball Crusher
  2. Forty Days and Forty Nights
  3. Fat Jack
  4. Renegade
  5. Foggy Mental Breakdown
  6. Snowblind Friend
  7. Who Needs Ya’
  8. Earschplittenloudenboomer
  9. Hippo Stomp

In November 1969.

In November 1969, “ABC Dunhill” label released “Monster”, the fourth Steppenwolf album. It was recorded in 1969, at “American Recording Co. Studio”, in California, and was produced by Gabriel Mekler.


  • John Kay– vocals, harmonica, guitar
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums
  • Goldy McJohn– keyboards
  • Nick St. Nicholas– bass
  • Larry Byrom– lead guitar
  • Bill Cooper – engineer
  • Richard Podolor– engineer

Track listing:

  1. Monster/Suicide/America – John Kay, Jerry Edmonton, Nick St. Nicholas, Larry Byrom
  2. Draft Resister – John Kay, Goldy McJohn, Larry Byrom
  3. Power Play – John Kay
  4. Move Over – John Kay, Gabriel Mekler
  5. Fag – Larry Byrom, Jerry Edmonton, Nick Nicholas
  6. What Would You Do (If I Did That to You) – Francen, Porter
  7. From Here to There Eventually – John Kay, Goldy McJohn, Jerry Edmonton

In October 1968.

In October 1968, “ABC Dunhill” label released “The Second”, the second  Steppenwolf studio album. It was recorded in 1968, at “American Recording Co”, and was produced by Gabriel Mekler.


  • John Kay– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica
  • Michael Monarch– lead guitar
  • Goldy McJohn– organ, piano
  • Rushton Moreve– bass
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums, vocals, lead and co-lead vocals
  • Bill Cooper, Richard Podolor– engineer
  • Gary Burden– cover design
  • Henry Diltz– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Kay, except where noted.

  1. Faster Than the Speed of Life – Mars Bonfire
  2. Tighten Up Your Wig
  3. None of Your Doing – John Kay, Gabriel Mekler
  4. Spiritual Fantasy
  5. Don’t Step on the Grass, Sam
  6. 28 – Mekler
  7. Magic Carpet Ride – John Kay, Rushton Moreve
  8. Disappointment Number – unknown
  9. Lost and Found by Trial and Error
  10. Hodge, Podge, Strained Through a Leslie
  11. Resurrection
  12. Reflections – JohnKay, Gabriel Mekler


In April 1970.

In April 1970, “Atco” label released “Open” the second Blues Image album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Richard Podolor.


  • Mike Pinera– lead guitar, lead vocals
  • Skip Konte– keyboards
  • Malcolm Jones – bass
  • Manny Bertematti – drums
  • Joe Lala– percussion, backing vocals
  • Kent Henry– guitars

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Pinera, Skip Konte, Malcolm Jones, Manny Bertematti and Joe Lala, except where noted.

  1. Love Is the Answer
  2. Running the Water
  3. Clean Love
  4. La Bamba – traditional
  5. Consuelate
  6. Ride Captain Ride
  7. Pay My Dues
  8. Fugue U
  9. Parchman Farm – Mose Allison
  10. Wrath of Daisey
  11. Take Me


On August 13, 1970.


On August 13, 1970, “Atco” label released “Metamorphosis”, the fourth Iron Butterfly, studio album. It was recorded May – July 1970, and was produced by Richard Podolor. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 403 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. “Metamorphosis” is noted for having one of the earliest uses of the Talk box on a rock album.


  • Doug Ingle– organ, lead vocals
  • Lee Dorman– bass
  • Ron Bushy– drums
  • Mike Pinera– guitar, lead vocals
  • Larry “Rhino” Reinhardt– guitar
  • Richard Podolor– sitar, twelve-string guitar
  • Bill Cooper – twelve-string guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Doug Ingle, Ron Bushy, and Lee Dorman, except where noted.

  1. Free Flight
  2. New Day
  3. Shady Lady – lyrics by Robert Woods Edmonson
  4. Best Years of Our Life
  5. Slower Than Guns – lyrics by Robert Woods Edmonson
  6. Stone Believer
  7. Soldier in Our Town – lyrics by Robert Woods Edmonson
  8. Easy Rider (Let the Wind Pay the Way) – lyrics by Robert Woods Edmonson
  9. Butterfly Bleu