Tag Archives: Milky Way

On October 17, 1988.

On October 17, 1988, “Harvest” label released “Opel”, and album compiled from Syd Barrett’s recordings made between 1968 and 1970. It features unreleased material and alternate takes of recordings from sessions for Barrett’s solo albums, “The Madcap Laughs”,  and “Barrett”. It was recorded at “Abbey Road Studios” in London and was produced by Syd Barrett, Peter Jenner, Malcolm Jones, Roger Waters, and David Gilmour.


  • Syd Barrett – vocals, guitar
  • Mike Ratledge – organ
  • Robert Wyatt – drums
  • Hugh Hopper – bass
  • Gareth Cousins – mix engineer

Track listing”

All tracks by Syd Barrett, except where noted.

  1. Opel
  2. Clown and Jugglers
  3. Rats
  4. Golden Hair – lyrics based on a poem by James Joyce
  5. Dolly Rocker
  6. Word Song
  7. Wined and Dined
  8. Swan Lee (Silas Lang)
  9. Birdie Hop
  10. Let’s Split
  11. Lanky (Party One)
  12. Wouldn’t You Miss Me (Dark Globe)
  13. Milky Way
  14. Golden Hair (instrumental version)

On May 12, 1971.


On May 12, 1971, “Columbia” label released the self-titled, debut Weather Report album. It was recorded February – March 1971, and was produced by Shoviza Productions. The album was voted “Jazz Album of the Year” in “Down Beat Readers Poll”, and it won “Swing Journal” magazine “Grand Prix Award” in the “Journal’s Readers’ and Critics” polls.


  • Joe Zawinul– electric and acoustic piano
  • Wayne Shorter– soprano saxophone
  • Miroslav Vitouš– electric and acoustic bass
  • Alphonse Mouzon– drums, voice
  • Airto Moreira– percussion
  • Barbara Burton – percussion
  • Don Alias– percussion

Track listing:

  1. Milky Way – Wayne Shorter, Joe Zawinul
  2. Umbrellas – Wayne Shorter, Miroslav Vitous, Joe Zawinul
  3. Seventh Arrow – Miroslav Vitous
  4. Orange Lady – Joe Zawinul
  5. Morning Lake – Miroslav Vitous
  6. Waterfall – Joe Zawinul
  7. Tears – Wayne Shorter
  8. Eurydice – Wayne Shorter