Tag Archives: Love Hurts

In December 1975.

In December 1975, “Island” label released “Short Cut Draw Blood”, the third Jim Capaldi studio album. It was recorded 1974 – 1975, at “Muscle Shoals Sound Studio” in Sheffield, “Island Studios” in London, and was produced by Steve Smith, Jim Capaldi and Chris Blackwell.


  • Jim Capaldi- vocals, drums, percussion, drum machine
  • Jess Roden – guitar
  • Paul Kossoff – guitar
  • Chris Spedding – guitar
  • Pete Carr – guitar
  • Ray Allen – saxophone, percussion
  • Steve Winwood- guitar, organ, piano, bass, Mellotron, harpsichord
  • Chris Wood- flute
  • Remi Kabaka– drums, percussion
  • Rebop Kwaku Baah– percussion
  • John “Rabbit” Bundrick- piano, clavinet
  • Phil Chen– bass
  • Rosko Gee – bass
  • Jean Roussel – piano
  • Gerry Conway – drums
  • Jimmy Johnson- guitar, horn arrangements
  • Peter Yarrow- acoustic guitar
  • Barry Beckett- piano, organ
  • Rico Rodriguez – trombone
  • David Hood– bass
  • Roger Hawkins- drums, spoons
  • Muscle Shoals Horns- horns
  • Harry Robinson – string arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Capaldi, except where noted.

  1. Goodbye Love
  2. It’s All Up to You
  3. Love Hurts – Boudleaux Bryant
  4. Johnny Too Bad – The Slickers
  5. Short Cut Draw Blood
  6. Living on a Marble
  7. Boy With A Problem
  8. Keep On Trying
  9. Seagull

In April 1975.

In April 1975, “Mooncrest” label released “Hair of the Dog”, the sixth Nazareth studio album. It was recorded 1074-1975, at “Escape Studios” in Kent, “AIR Studios” in London, and was produced by Manny Charlton.


  • Dan McCafferty– lead vocals, talk box
  • Manny Charlton– guitar, synthesizer
  • Pete Agnew– bass, backing vocals
  • Darrell Sweet– drums, backing vocals
  • Max Middleton– piano
  • Simon Phillips- tabla
  • Vicki Brown, Liza Strike, Barry St. John – backing vocals
  • Vicky Silva – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Manny Charlton, Dan McCafferty, Pete Agnew, Darrell Sweet, except where noted.

  1. Hair of the Dog
  2. Miss Misery
  3. Guilty – Randy Newman
  4. Changin’ Times
  5. Beggars Day – Nils Lofgren
  6. Rose in the Heather
  7. Whiskey Drinkin’ Woman
  8. Please Don’t Judas Me
  9. Love Hurts – Boudleaux Bryant


In January 1974.


In January 1974, “Reprise” label released “Grievous Angel”, the second Gram Parsons solo album. It was compiled from summer 1973 sessions recorded at “Wally Heider Studio 4” in Hollywood, produced by Gram Parsons, and was released four months after his death in September 1973. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 425  on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time.


  • Gram Parsons: lead vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Emmylou Harris: vocals
  • Glen D. Hardin: piano, electric piano
  • James Burton: electric lead guitar
  • Emory Gordy, Jr.: bass
  • Ronnie Tutt: drums
  • Herb Pedersen: acoustic rhythm guitar, electric rhythm guitar
  • Al Perkins: pedal steel
  • Bernie Leadon: acoustic guitar, electric lead guitar, dobro
  • Byron Berline: fiddle, mandolin
  • D. Smart: drums
  • Steve Snyder: vibes
  • Linda Ronstadt: harmony vocal
  • Kim Fowley,Phil Kaufman, Ed Tickner, Jane & Jon Doe: “Background blah-blah”

Track listing:

  1. Return of the Grievous Angel – Gram Parsons, Tom Brown
  2. Hearts on Fire – Walter Egan, Tom Guidera
  3. I Can’t Dance – Tom T. Hall
  4. Brass Buttons – Gram Parsons
  5. $1000 Wedding – Gram Parsons
  6. Medley Live from Northern Quebec:
  • Cash on the Barrelhead – Charlie Louvin,Ira Louvin
  • Hickory Wind – Gram Parsons, Bob Buchanan
  1. Love Hurts – Boudleaux Bryant
  2. Ooh Las Vegas – Gram Parsons,Ric Grech
  3. In My Hour of Darkness – Gram Parsons,Emmylou Harris

On November 28, 2006.


On November 28, 2006, “Epic” label released “Light Grenades”, the sixth Incubus studio album. It was recorded January – July 2006, at “Henson Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and at “Southern Tracks Recording” in Atlanta, Georgia, and was produced by Brendan O’Brien.


  • Brandon Boyd- lead vocals, percussion, guitar
  • Mike Einziger- lead guitar, Rhodes, string arrangements, bass guitar
  • Jose Pasillas- drums
  • Ben Kenney- bass guitar, vocals
  • Chris Kilmore- turntables, Hammond B3, Moog Voyager, Rhodes,  piano, Marxophone, theremin

Track listing:

All tracks by Incubus.

  1. Quicksand
  2. A Kiss to Send Us Off
  3. Dig
  4. Anna Molly
  5. Love Hurts
  6. Light Grenades
  7. Earth to Bella (Part I)
  8. Oil and Water
  9. Diamonds and Coal
  10. Rogues
  11. Paper Shoes
  12. Pendulous Threads
  13. Earth to Bella (Part II)


On February 7, 1976.

James Gang Jesse Come Home

On February 7, 1976, “Atco” label released “Jesse Come Home”, the ninth and final James Gang album. It was recorded in December 1975, and was produced by Howard and Ron Albert.


  • Bob Webb – guitars, lead and backing vocals
  • Phil Giallombardo – keyboards, lead and backing vocals, piano
  • Dale Peters – bass guitar, backing vocals, percussion
  • Jim Fox– drums, backing vocals, percussion, keyboards
  • Nelson Flaco Pedron – percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Phil Giallombardo and Bob Webb, except where noted.

  1. I Need Love – Phil Giallombardo
  2. Another Year
  3. Feelin’ Alright – Jay Giallombardo, Jim Fox, Dale Peters, Bob Webb
  4. Peasant Song
  5. Hollywood Dream
  6. Love Hurts
  7. Pick Up the Pizzas – Bob Webb
  8. Stealin’ the Show
  9. When I Was a Sailor