Tag Archives: Billboard

On December 6, 1988.


On December 6, 1988, Roy Kelton Orbison died aged 52. Being singer-songwriter and musician, thanks to his distinctive and impassioned voice, he was named “Caruso of Rock” and nicknamed the Big O. In the period between 1960 and 1964, 22 of his songs placed on the Billboard Top 40. In 1987, Roy Orbison was inducted in the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” and in “Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame”; in 1989 in the “Songwriters Hall of Fame”. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked him at number 37 on its list of the “Greatest Artists of All Time” and number 13 on the list of the “100 Greatest Singers of All Time’. In 2002, “Billboard” magazine ranked Orbison at number 74 in its list of the “Top 600 Recording Artists”. Orbison won six “Grammy Awards”, including “Lifetime Achievement Award” in 1998.



On November 15, 1986.


On November 15, 1986, “Def Jam” label released “Licensed to Ill”, the debut Beastie Boys studio album. It was recorded in 1986, and was produced by Rick Rubin and Beastie Boys. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 217 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time and in 2013 the same magazine named it the best debut album of all time. “Licensed to Ill” was the first rap album to top the Billboard album chart. In February 1987, the album was certified Platinum in the US by “RIIA’.


  • Beastie Boys – group
  • Joe Blaney – mixing
  • Steven Ett –audio engineer
  • Kerry King– lead guitar
  • Steve Byram – art direction
  • Sunny Bak– photography
  • World B. Omes (David Gambale) – cover art
  • Keene Carse – Trombone
  • Danny Lipman – Trumpet
  • Tony Orbach – Tenor Sax

Track listing:

All tracks by Beastie Boys and Rick Rubin, except where noted.

  1. Rhymin & Stealin
  2. The New Style
  3. She’s Crafty
  4. Posse in Effect
  5. Slow Ride
  6. Girls
  7. (You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party!)
  8. No Sleep till Brooklyn
  9. Paul Revere – Adam Horovitz,Darryl McDaniels, Rick Rubin, Joseph Simmons
  10. Hold It Now, Hit It
  11. Brass Monkey
  12. Slow and Low – Darryl McDaniels, Rick Rubin, Joseph Simmons
  13. Time to Get Ill


On February 4, 1977.

Fleetwood Mac Rumours

On February 4, 1977, “Warner Bros” label released “Rumours”, the eleventh Fleetwood Mac studio album.  It was recorded in 1976, at “Criteria Studios” in Miami; “Record Plant Studios” in Los Angeles; “Zellerbach Auditorium” in Berkeley and “Wally Heider Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lindsey Buckingham,  Mick Fleetwood, Christine McVie, John McVie, Stevie Nicks, Ken Caillat and Richard Dashut. “Rumours” won “Grammy Award for Album of the Year” in 1978, the three major US trade publications – “Billboard”, “Cash Box, and Record World”, named it “Album of the Year” for 1977. The album has sold over 40 million copies worldwide, becoming one of the best-selling albums of all time. Rumours has received Diamond certifications in several countries, including the US, Canada, and Australia. “Rumours” was certified 11 x Platinum in UK by the “BPI”; it has received a “Diamond Award” in US by “RIAA” for a 20 x Platinum certification or 20 million units shipped. In 1998, magazine “Q”  ranked  “Rumours” at number three in its list of “50 Best Albums of the 70’s’; in 1999,  “Vibe”  featured it as one of “100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century”; in  2003, “VH1” ranked “Rumours” at number 16 during its “100 Greatest Albums countdown”and magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked it at number 25 in its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Lindsey Buckingham– guitars, dobro, percussion, vocals
  • Stevie Nicks– vocals
  • Christine McVie– keyboards, vocals
  • John McVie– bass guitar
  • Mick Fleetwood– drums, percussion, harpsichord
  • Desmond Strobel – design
  • Larry Vigon – calligraphy
  • Herbert W. Worthington– photography

Track listing:

  1. Second hand News – Lindsey Buckingham
  2. Dreams – Stevie Nicks
  3. Never Going Back Again – Lindsey Buckingham
  4. Second Hand News – Lindsey Buckingham
  5. Dreams – Stevie Nicks
  6. Never Going Back Again – Lindsey Buckingham
  7. Don’t Stop – Christine McVie
  8. Go Your Own Way – Lindsey Buckingham
  9. Songbird – Christine McVie
  10. The Chain – Lindsey Buckingham, Mick Fleetwood, Christine McVie, John McVie and Stevie Nicks
  11. You Make Loving Fun – Christine McVie
  12. I Don’t Want to Know – Stevie Nicks
  13. Oh Daddy – Christine McVie
  14. Gold Dust Woman – Stevie Nicks


On December 5, 2012.

Dave Brubeck

On December 5, 2012, David Warren “Dave” Brubeck died aged 91. Being pianist, bandleader and composer, he was one of the great post-bop jazz innovators and one of the most influential and popular artists in the jazz history. Brubeck was author of numerous jazz standards, including “In Your Own Sweet Way”,”The Duke”. “Pick Up Sticks”, “Unsquare Dance” and “Blue Rondo à la Turk”. “The Dave Brubeck Quartet” album “Time Out” released in 1959, was based upon the use of time signatures that were unusual for jazz such as 9/8 and 5/4. The album featured Paul Desmond’s track “Take Five”, peaked at #2 on the “Billboard” pop albums chart, has been certified platinum by the “RIAA”, and became one of the best selling jazz albums of all time. As a recognition for his work, Brubeck received many awards, including:

  • Connecticut Arts Award (1987)
  • National Medal of Arts, National Endowment for the Arts (1994)
  • Down Beat Hall of Fame (1994)
  • Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award (1996)
  • Doctor of Sacred Theology, Doctorate honoris causa, University of Fribourg, Switzerland (2004)
  • Laetare Medal(University of Notre Dame) (2006)
  • BBC Jazz Lifetime Achievement Award (2007)
  • Benjamin Franklin Award for Public Diplomacy (2008)
  • Inducted into California Hall of Fame (2008)
  • Eastman School of MusicHonorary Degree (2008)
  • Kennedy Center Honor (2009)
  • George Washington University Honorary Degree (2010)
  • Honorary Fellow of Westminster Choir College, Princeton, New Jersey (2011)

Additionally, the main-belt asteroid “5079 Brubeck” was named after Brubeck.



On September 24, 1991.

Nirvana Nevermind

On September 24, 1991, “DGC” label released “Nevermind” the second Nirvana studio album.  It was recorded in 1991, at “Sound City Studios”, in Van Nuys, and “Smart Studios”,in Madison, and was produced by Butch Vig. This was the first album to feature drummer Dave Grohl. The album feature compositions “Smells Like Teen Spirit”, “Come as You Are”, “Lithium”, and “In Bloom”. “The album was certified Diamond in the US by the “RIIA”. “Nevermind” has sold over 30 million copies worldwide. By January 1992, it had replaced Michael Jackson’s album “Dangerous” at number one on the “Billboard 200” chart.


  • Kurt Cobain– lead and backing vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Krist Novoselic– bass, voice
  • Dave Grohl– drums, backing vocals
  • Chad Channing– cymbals, drums
  • Kirk Canning – cello

All compositions by Kurt Cobain, except where noted.

  1. Smells Like Teen Spirit – Kurt Cobain, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic
  2. In Bloom
  3. Come as You Are
  4. Breed
  5. Lithium
  6. Polly
  7. Territorial Pissings – Kurt Cobain, Chet Powers
  8. Drain You
  9. Lounge Act
  10. Stay Away
  11. On a Plain
  12. Something in the Way