Tag Archives: Jefferson Airplane

On January 11, 2005.

On January 11, 2005, Spencer Dryden died aged 66. He was musician (drums) member of The Ashes (later The Peanut Butter Conspiracy), The Dinosaurs, New Riders of the Purple Sage, but best known as drummer of Jefferson Airplane. Dryden was Charlie Chaplin nephew.


On September 27, 2018.

On September 27, 2018, Martyn Jerel Buchwald aka Marty Balin died aged 76. He was singer, musician (guitar, keyboards) and songwriter, member of KBC Band, Jefferson Starship, but best known as the founder and one of the lead singers and songwriters of Jefferson Airplane.

In November 1969.

In November 1969, “RCA” label released “Volunteers”, the fifth Jefferson Airplane album. It was recorded in April 1969, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Al Schmitt.


  • Grace Slick– vocals, piano, organ, recorder
  • Paul Kantner– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Marty Balin– vocals, percussion
  • Jorma Kaukonen– lead guitar, vocals
  • Jack Casady– bass
  • Spencer Dryden– drums, percussion
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano
  • Stephen Stills– Hammond organ
  • Jerry Garcia– pedal steel guitar
  • Joey Covington– congas, chair
  • David Crosby– sailboat
  • Ace of Cups– vocals
  • Bill Laudner– lead vocals
  • Rich Schmitt – engineer
  • Maurice (Pat Ieraci) – 16-track
  • Gut – album design, ate PB & J
  • Milton Burke, Jefferson Airplane – album design
  • Jim Marshall – cover photo
  • Jim Smircich – back photo
  • Littie Herbie Greene – PB & J photo

Track listing:

  1. We Can Be Together – Paul Kantner
  2. Good Shepherd – traditional, arr. by Jorma Kaukonen
  3. The Farm – Paul Kantner, Gary Blackman
  4. Hey Frederick – Grace Slick
  5. Turn My Life Down – Jorma Kaukonen
  6. Wooden Ships – David Crosby, Paul Kantner, Stephen Stills
  7. Eskimo Blue Day – Grace Slick, Paul Kantner
  8. A Song for All Seasons – Spencer Drtden
  9. Meadowlands – Lev Knipper
  10. Volunteers – Marty Balin, Paul Kantner


In September 1971.

In September 1971, “Grunt” label released “Bark”, the sixth Jefferson Airplane studio album. It was recorded October 1970 – June 1971, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Jack Cassidy, Joey Covington, Paul Kantner, Jorma Kaukonen, Grace Slick and Papa John Creach.


  • Jack Casady– bass guitar, bass balalaika
  • Joey Covington– percussion, drums, vocals
  • Paul Kantner– guitar, vocals
  • Jorma Kaukonen– lead guitar, vocals
  • Grace Slick– piano, vocals
  • Papa John Creach– violin
  • Bill Laudner – vocal
  • Will Scarlett – harmonia
  • A Train – additional ideas
  • Allen Zentz – engineer
  • Masterful Maurice (Pat Ieraci) – engineer
  • Acy Lehman – package concept and design
  • Grace Slick – portraits
  • Bill Thompson – portrait of Grace
  • Gary Blackman – art direction, bag poem

Track listing:

  1. When the Earth Moves Again – Paul Kantner
  2. Feel So Good – Jorma Kaukonen
  3. Crazy Miranda – Grace Slick
  4. Pretty as You Feel – Joey Covington, Jack Casady, Jorma Kaukonen
  5. Wild Turkey – Jorma Kaukonen
  6. Law man – Grace Slick
  7. Rock and Roll Island – Paul Kantner
  8. Third Week in the Chelsea – Jorma Kaukonen
  9. Never Argue with a German If You’re Tired or European Song – Grace Slick
  10. Thunk – Joey Covington
  11. War Movie – Paul Kantner

In September 1968.

In September 1968, “RCA Victor” label released “Crown of Creation”, the fourth Jefferson Airplane studio album. It was recorded February – June 1958, at “RCA Victor Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Al Schmitt.


  • Marty Balin– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Grace Slick– vocals, piano, organ
  • Paul Kantner– rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Jorma Kaukonen– lead guitar, vocals
  • Spencer Dryden– drums, piano, organ, vocals
  • Jack Casady– Yggdrasil bass
  • Charles Cockey – guitar, vocals
  • David Crosby– guitar
  • Tim Davis– congas
  • Bill Goodwin– talking drums
  • Dan Woody – bongos
  • Gene Twombly – sound effects
  • Richie Schmitt – engineer
  • Pat Ieraci – 8-Track
  • Hiro– cover and back photo
  • USAF– bomb photo
  • Van Hamersveld– album design, art direction

Track listing:

  1. Lather – Grace Slick
  2. In Time – Paul Kantner, Marty Balin
  3. Triad – David Crosby
  4. Star Track – Jorma Kaukonen
  5. Share a Little Joke – Marty Balin
  6. Chushingura – Spencer Dryden
  7. If You Feel – Marty Balin, Gary Blackman
  8. Crown of Creation – Paul Kantner
  9. Ice Cream Phoenix – Jorma Kaukonen, Charles Cockey
  10. Greasy Heart – Grace Slick
  11. The House at Pooneil Corners – Paul Kantner, Marty Balin

On May 28, 2012.

On May 28, 2012, “Kscope” label released “Childhood’s End”, the ninth Ulver studio album. It was recorded in 2008 and 2011, at “Crystal Canyon Studios” in Oslo, and was produced by Kristoffer Rygg, Tore Ylwizaker, Jørn H. Sværen and Daniel O’Sullivan. Album cover features a photograph by Hoang Van Danh of Phan Thi Kim Phuc fleeing a napalm attack by the South Vietnamese Air Force in 1972. The album is a collection of covers of “60s psychedelic tracks.


  • Kristoffer Rygg- vocals, programming
  • Tore Ylwizaker – keyboards, programming
  • Jørn H. Sværen – miscellaneous
  • Daniel O’Sullivan- guitar, bass, keyboards
  • Tomas Pettersen, Lars Pedersen – drums
  • Alexander Kloster-Jensen – electric guitar
  • Lars Christian Folkvord – bass
  • Espen Jørgensen, Trond Mjøen – electric and acoustic guitar
  • Mats Engen – bass, vocals, backing vocals
  • Sisi Sumbundu, Ingvild Langgård – vocals
  • Anders Møller – tambourine, shaker, congas
  • Ole Alexander Halstensgård – electronic effects

Track listing:

  1. Bracelets of Fingers (The Pretty Things) – Dick Taylor, Phil May, Wally Walter
  2. Everybody’s Been Burned (The Byrds) – David Crosby
  3. The Trap (Bonniwell’s Music Machine) – Sean Bonniwell
  4. In the Past (We the People) – Wayne Proctor
  5. Today (Jefferson Airplane) – Marty Balin, Paul Kantner
  6. Can You Travel in the Dark Alone? (Gandalf) – Peter Sando
  7. I Had Too Much to Dream (Last Night) (The Electric Prunes) – Annette Tucker, Nancie Mantz
  8. Street Song (The 13th Floor Elevators) – Stacy Sutherland
  9. 66-5-4-3-2-1 (The Troggs) – Reg Presley
  10. Dark Is the Bark (The Left Banke) – George Cameron, Steve Martin Caro, Tom Finn
  11. Magic Hollow (The Beau Brummels) – Ron Elliott, Sal Valentino
  12. Soon There’ll Be Thunder (Common People) – Denny, Jerrald Robinett
  13. Velvet Sunsets (Music Emporium) – William Cosby, Thom Wade
  14. Lament of the Astral Cowboy (Curt Boettcher) – Curt Boettcher
  15. I Can See the Light (The Fleur de Lys) – Bryn Haworth, Gordon Haskell
  16. Where Is Yesterday (The United States of America) – Dorothy Moskowitz, Ed Bogas, Gordon Marron

On March 24, 2010.

On March 24, 2010, James Joseph Marshall died aged 74. He was a photographer, best known for his photographs of famous rock musicians, including The Beatles (final paid live concert in San Francisco’s Candlestick Park), Led Zeppelin, Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, Neil Young, Janis Joplin, Bob Dylan, Jim Morrison, The Allman Brothers Band, The Who, Guns N’ Roses and Santana. He was also the chief photographer at Woodstock.