Tag Archives: Richard Hewson

On July 11, 1975.

On July 11, 1975, “Threshold” and “Decca” labels released “From Mighty Oaks” the debut Ray Thomas album. It was recorded 1974 – 1975, and was produced by Ray Thomas and Derek Varnals.


  •  Ray Thomas – lead and backing vocals, flute, bass flute, harmonica
  • Richard Hewson– orchestral arranger, conductor
  • J. Cole– pedal steel guitar
  • Nicky James – backing vocals, percussion
  • John Jones – acoustic guitar, electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Trevor Jones – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Mike Moran– keyboards
  • Dave Potts – drums, percussion
  • Mike Silver– acoustic guitar, backing vocal
  • Derek Varnals – recording engineer
  • Dave Baker – 2nd engineer
  • Phil Travers – illustration, design
  • Graham Hughes – photography
  • Mike Pulland – photography

Track listing:

  1. From Mighty Oaks – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  2. Hey Mama Life – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  3. Play It Again – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  4. Rock-A-Bye Baby Blues – Nicky James
  5. High Above My Head – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  6. Love Is the Key – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  7. You Make Me Feel Alright – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  8. Adam and I – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  9. I Wish We Could Fly – Ray Thomas



In October 1973.

In October 1973, “Sovereign” label released “Ashes Are Burning”, the fourth  Renaissance studio album. It was recorded April – August, at “De Lane Lea Studios” in London, and was produced by Dick Plant, Annie Haslam, John Tout, John Camp and Terence Sullivan.


  • Annie Haslam– lead and backing vocals
  • John Tout – keyboards, backing vocals
  • John Camp – bass, co-lead and backing vocals
  • Terence Sullivan – drums, backing vocals, percussion
  • Michael Dunford – acoustic guitar
  • Andy Powell– guitar
  • Richard Hewson– strings arrangements
  • Dick Plant – engineer
  • Richard Goldblatt – assistant engineer
  • Hipgnosis– cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Michael Dunford and Betty Thatcher, except where noted.

  1. Can You Understand?
  2. Let It Grow
  3. On the Frontier – Jim McCarty, Betty Thatcher
  4. Carpet of the Sun
  5. At the Harbour
  6. Ashes Are Burning

On December 6, 1968.


On December 6, 1968, “Apple” label released the self-titled, debut James Taylor album. It was recorded July – October 1968, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Peter Asher. It was the first recording by a non-British artist released by “Apple” label, and would also be Taylor’s only release on that label.


  • James Taylor– acoustic guitar, electric guitar, vocals, percussion
  • Peter Asher– percussion, vocals
  • Louis Cennamo– bass
  • Richard Hewson– strings, bassoon, oboe
  • Skaila Kanga – harp
  • Paul McCartney– bass
  • Bishop O’Brien – drums, percussion
  • Freddie Redd– keyboards
  • Don Shinn– keyboards
  • Mick Wayne– guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor, except where noted.

  1. Don’t Talk Now
  2. Something’s Wrong
  3. Knocking ‘Round the Zoo
  4. Sunshine Sunshine
  5. Taking It In
  6. Something in the Way She Moves
  7. Carolina in My Mind
  8. Brighten Your Night With My Day
  9. Night Owl
  10. Rainy Day Man – James Taylor, Zach Wiesner
  11. Circle Round the Sun – traditional arr. James Taylor
  12. Blues Is Just a Bad Dream

On October 15, 1973.


On October 15, 1973, “Reprise” label released “Mystery to Me”, the eighth Fleetwood Mac studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Rolling Stones Mobile Unit”, and was produced by Fleetwood Mac and Martin Birch.


  • Bob Welch– electric guitar, acoustic guitar, bass guitar, lead and backing vocals
  • Bob Weston– electric guitar, slide guitar, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Christine McVie– keyboards, lead and backing vocals
  • John McVie– bass guitar
  • Mick Fleetwood– drums, percussion
  • Richard Hewson– string arrangements
  • Engineer: Martin Birch
  • Assistant Engineers: Desmond Majekodunmi, Paul Hardiman
  • Photography by Clive Arrowsmith
  • Cover design and art direction by Modula

Track listing:

  1. Emerald Eyes – Bob Welch
  2. Believe Me – Christine McVie
  3. Just Crazy Love – Christine McVie
  4. Hypnotized – Bob Welch
  5. Forever – Bob Weston, John McVie, Bob Welch
  6. Keep On Going – Bob Welch
  7. The City – Bob Welch
  8. Miles Away – Bob Welch
  9. Somebody – Bob Welch
  10. The Way I Feel – Christine McVie
  11. For Your Love – Graham Gouldman
  12. Why – Christine McVie