On September 21, 1976.

On September 21, 1976, “A&M” label released “The Gist of the Gemini”, the fourth Gino Vannelli studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “AIR Studios” in London, and was produced by Gino Vannelli, Joe Vannelli, and Geoff Emerick.


  • Gino Vannelli – lead and backing vocals, acoustic piano, clavinet, arrangements
  • Joe Vannelli– acoustic and electric pianos, clavinet, synthesizers, string, and brass arrangements
  • Richard Baker – organ, synthesizers, synth bass, string, and brass arrangements
  • Jay Graydon– electric guitar
  • Ross Vannelli – guitar, backing vocals
  • Graham Lear– drums
  • John J. Mandell – timpani, percussion
  • Dido Morris – congas, cuica, timbales
  • Dianne Brooks– backing vocals
  • Brenda Russell– backing vocals
  • The John McCarthy Choir – backing vocals
  • Geoff Emmerick – engineer
  • Jon Kelly, Steve Prestage – assistant engineer
  • Norm Kinney – remixing
  • Bernie Grundman – mastering
  • Fabio Nicola – art direction
  • Clive Arrowsmith, Gered Mankowitz – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gino Vannelli.

  1. Love of My Life
  2. Ugly Man
  3. A New Fix for ’76
  4. Omens of Love
  5. Fly into This Night
  6. War Suite
  7. Prelude to the War
  8. The Battle Cry
  9. To the War
  10. Carnal Question
  11. After the Last Battle
  12. To the War (Reflection)
  13. Summers of My Life


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.