Tag Archives: United Kingdom

On June 13, 1995.


On June 13, 1995, “One Little Indian” label released “Post”, the second Björk solo studio album. It was recorded 1994 – 1995, at “Compass Point Studios” in the Bahamas, and was produced by Björk, Tricky and Nellee Hooper. “Post” was certified Platinum in Australia, Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 376 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Björk – vocals, keyboards, organ, string arrangements, brass arrangements, beat programming, arranger
  • John Altman – orchestra arrangements, conductor
  • Gary Barnacle– soprano sax
  • Howie Bernstein– programming, engineer, mixing
  • Stuart Brooks – trumpet
  • Jim Couza– hammer dulcimer
  • Einar Orn – trumpet
  • Eumir Deodato– string arrangements, conductor
  • Marcus Dravs – programming, engineer, mixing
  • Lenny Franchi – programming, engineer
  • Martin Gardiner – lotus flower modeling
  • Isobel Griffiths – orchestral contractor
  • Graham Massey– keyboards, programming
  • Maurice Murphy – trumpet
  • Tony Pleeth – cello
  • Guy Sigsworth– harpsichord
  • Talvin Singh– percussion
  • Rob Smissen – viola
  • Tricky– keyboards, programming
  • Marius de Vries– keyboards, programming
  • Gavin Wright – orchestra leader
  • Al Fisch – engineer
  • Al Stone – engineer
  • Steve Price – engineer
  • Mark “Spike” Stent– mixing
  • Me Company – artwork packaging design
  • Stéphane Sednaoui – photography

Track listing:

  1. Army of Me – Björk, Graham Massey
  2. Hyperballad – Björk
  3. The Modern Things – Björk, Graham Massey
  4. It’s Oh So Quiet – Bert Reisfeld, Hans Lang
  5. Enjoy – Björk, Tricky
  6. You’ve Been Flirting Again – Björk
  7. Isobel – Björk, Marius de Vries, Nellee Hooper Sjón
  8. Possibly Maybe – Björk
  9. I Miss You – Björk, Howie Bernstein
  10. Cover Me – Björk
  11. Headphones – Björk, Tricky



On March 26, 1996.

Golden Heart

On March 26, 1996, “Vertigo” label released “Golden Heart”, the debut Mark Knopfler solo studio album. It was recorded 1994 – 1996, at “Emerald Sound Studios”,”Javelina Recording Studios”, “AIR Studios” and  “Windmill Lane Studios”, and was produced by Mark Knopfler and Chuck Ainlay. The album reached the top ten position on album charts in Austria, Belgium, Finland, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom


  • Mark Knopfler– guitar, vocals
  • Richard Bennett– acoustic guitar, guitar, tiplé
  • Sonny Landreth– National steel guitar, backing vocals
  • Don Potter– acoustic guitar
  • Paul Franklin– pedal steel guitar
  • Derek Bell– Irish harp
  • Paul Brady– whistle
  • Seán Keane– violin
  • Dónal Lunny– bouzouki
  • Máirtín O’Connor– accordion
  • Liam O’Flynn– uilleann pipes
  • Steve Conn – accordion
  • Jo-El Sonnier– accordion
  • Michael Doucet– fiddle
  • Matt Rollings– piano
  • Barry Beckett– piano
  • Hargus “Pig” Robbins– piano
  • Bill Cuomo – Hammond organ
  • Guy Fletcher– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Steve Nathan – Hammond organ), keyboards
  • Paul Moore – bass (13), string bass
  • Michael Rhodes – bass
  • Glenn Worf– bass, string bass
  • Eddie Bayers– drums
  • Robbie Casserly – drums
  • Chad Cromwell– drums
  • Danny Cummings– backing vocal, percussion
  • Terry McMillan– djembe
  • Billy Ware – triangle
  • Brendan Croker– backing vocals
  • Vince Gill– backing vocals
  • Chuck Ainlay–  engineer, mixing
  • Brian Masterson – engineer
  • Graham Lewis – assistant engineer, mixing assistant
  • Denny Purcell – mastering
  • Jonathan Russell – mastering assistant
  • David Scheinmann – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark Knopfler.

  1. Darling Pretty
  2. Imelda
  3. Golden Heart
  4. No Can Do
  5. Vic and Ray
  6. Don’t You Get It
  7. A Night in Summer Long Ago
  8. Cannibals
  9. I’m the Fool
  10. Je Suis Désolé
  11. Rüdiger
  12. Nobody’s Got the Gun
  13. Done with Bonaparte
  14. Are We in Trouble Now

On October 7, 1978.

Dire Straits first album

On Octoebr 7, 1978, “Vertigo” label released the self titled, debut Dire Straits studio album. It was recorded February – March 1978, at the “Basing Street Studios”, London, and was produced by Muff Winwood. The album featured the hit single “Sultans of Swing”, which became the band’s trademark and helped the album to be certified 2 x Platinum in the US and UK.


  • Mark Knopfler– vocals, lead and rhythm guitars
  • David Knopfler– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • John Isley– vocals, bass
  • Pick Withers– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark Knopfler.

  1. Down to the Waterline
  2. Water of Love
  3. Setting me Up
  4. Six Blade Knife
  5. Southbound Again
  6. Sultans of Swing
  7. In the Gallery
  8. Wild West End
  9. Lions

On June 9, 2015.



On June 9, 2015, Hans Last aka James Last (also known as “Hansi”) died aged 86. Being composer and big bandleader, he was best known for his “happy music”, an upbeat, easy-listening covers of classical music, polka, rock, pop and soul hits with his big band. His work was denied by the music critics but the audience loved his music, especially in United Kingdom and in his native Germany. In his five decades long career, Last released more than 190 albums and sold more than 80 millions album copies worldwide, becoming the most successful commercial big band leader after the second World War Two.