On October 16, 1974.

Its Only Rock n Roll

On October 16, 1974, “Rolling Stones Records” label released “It’s Only Rock ‘n Roll” , the twelfth Rolling Stones studio album. It was recorded November – December 1972; November 1973; January – May 1974, and was produced by The Glimmer Twins. The album marked the 10th anniversary of the band’s debut album and was the last Rolling Stones album with Mick Taylor.


  • Mick Jagger– lead and backing vocals; guitar; electric guitar
  • Keith Richards– electric and acoustic guitar, backing vocals; bass
  • Mick Taylor– electric, acoustic, twelve–string acoustic and slide guitar, backing vocals; synthesizer, congas; bass
  • Bill Wyman– bass guitar; synthesizer
  • Charlie Watts– drums
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano
  • Billy Preston– piano, clavinet, organ
  • Ian Stewart– piano
  • Ray Cooper– percussion
  • Blue Magic– backing vocals
  • Charlie Jolly – tabla
  • Ed Leach – cowbell
  • Kenney Jones– drums
  • Willie Weeks– bass guitar
  • David Bowie– backing vocals
  • Ronnie Wood– twelve–string acoustic guitar, backing vocals

All tracks by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, except where noted.

  1. If You Can’t Rock Me
  2. Ain’t Too Proud to Beg – Norman Whitfield, Eddie Holland
  3. It’s Only Rock ‘n Roll (But I Like It)
  4. Till the Next Goodbye
  5. Time Waits for No One
  6. Luxury
  7. Dance Little Sister
  8. If You Really Want to Be My Friend
  9. Short and Curlies
  10. Fingerprint File



On October 16, 1968.


On October 16, 1968, “Reprise Records” label released “Electric Ladyland”, the third and the final Jimi Hendrix Experience studio album. The double album was recorded July – December 1967, and January – August 1968, and was produced by Jimi Hendrix. The album featured cover of the Bob Dylan song, “All Along the Watchtower,” which became the Experience’s best selling single ever. Magazine “Rolling Stone‍ ” ranked “Electric Ladyland” at number 54 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”.


  • Jimi Hendrix– lead vocals, guitar, piano, percussion, comb and tissue paper kazoo, electric harpsichord, bass
  • Noel Redding– backing vocals, bass,acoustic guitar and lead vocals
  • Mitch Mitchell– backing vocals, drums, percussion, lead vocals
  • Jack Casady– bass
  • Brian Jones– percussion
  • Al Kooper– piano
  • Dave Mason– twelve string guitar, backing vocals
  • The Sweet Inspirations– backing vocals
  • Steve Winwood– organ
  • Chris Wood– flute
  • Larry Faucette – congas
  • Mike Finnigan– organ
  • Buddy Miles– drums
  • Freddie Smith – tenor saxophone

Track listing

All tracks by Jimi Hendrix, except where noted.

  1. And the Gods Made Love
  2. Have You Ever Been to (Electric Ladyland)
  3. Crosstown Traffic
  4. Voodoo Chile
  5. Little Miss Strange – Noel Redding
  6. Long Hot Summer Night
  7. Come On (Let the Good Times Roll) – Earl King
  8. Gypsy Eyes
  9. Burning of the Midnight Lamp
  10. Rainy Day, Dream Away
  11. 1983…(A Merman I Should Turn to Be)
  12. Moon, Turn the Tides…Gently Gently Away
  13. Still Raining, Still Dreaming
  14. House Burning Down
  15. All Along the Watchtower – Bob Dylan
  16. Voodoo Chile (slight return)

On October 15, 1984.


On October 15, 1984, “Virgin Records” released “The Big Express”, the seventh studio album by XTC. The album was recorded at beginning of 1984, at the “Crescent Studios”, in Bath, UK, and was produced by David Lord and XTC.


  • Andy Partridge- vocals, guitar, Linn LM-1
  • Colin Moulding- vocals, bass
  • Dave Gregory- guitar, keyboard, piano
  • Peter Phipps- drums, percussion
  • Stuart Gordon -violin, viola
  • Annie Huchrak – female choir voice
  • Steve Saunders -euphonium

Track listing:

All compositions by Andy Partridge, except where noted.

  1. Wake Up – Coiln Moukding
  2. All You Pretty Girls
  3. Shake You Donkey Up
  4. Seagulls Screaming Kiss Her, Kiss Her
  5. This World Over
  6. The Everyday Story of Smalltown
  7. I Bought Myself a Liarbird
  8. Riegn of Blows
  9. You’re the Wish You Are I Had
  10. I Remember the Sun
  11. Train Running Low on Soul Coal

On October 14, 1977.

Bing Crosby

On October 14, 1977, Harry Lillis “Bing” Crosby, Jr. died aged 74. Being singer and actor, Crosby is the best-selling recording artist of the 20th century. He has sold over one billion records, tapes, compact discs and digital downloads worldwide. Crosby is one of the 22 people to have three stars on the “Hollywood Walk of Fame” (a star for motion pictures, radio, and audio recording); in 1944, he won an “Academy Award for Best Actor” for his role as Father Chuck O’Malley in the movie “Going My Way” and he received the first “Grammy Global Achievement Award”.

On October 14, 1977.


On October 14, 1977, “RCA” label released “Heroes” the twelfth David Bowie studio album. “Heroes” is the second album of Bowie’s “Berlin Trilogy” with Brian Eno. The other two releases are Low and Lodger”.  It was recorded July – August 1977, at the “Hansa Studio by the Wall” in West Berlin, and was produced by Bowie and Tony Visconti. “NME” magazine voted “Heroes” album of year 1977.


  • David Bowie– vocals, keyboards, guitars, saxophone, koto, backing vocals
  • Carlos Alomar– rhythm guitar
  • Dennis Davis– drums, percussionJoe the Lion,
  • George Murray– bass
  • Brian Eno– synthesisers, keyboards, guitar treatments
  • Robert Fripp– lead guitar
  • Tony Visconti– backing vocals
  • Antonia Maass – backing vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by David Bowie, except where noted.

  1. Beauty and the Beast
  2. Joe the Lion
  3. Heroes – David Bowie, Brian Eno
  4. Sons of the Silent Age
  5. Blackout
  6. V-2 Schneider
  7. Sense of Doubt
  8. Moss Garden
  9. Neukoln – David Bowie, Brian Eno
  10. The Secret Life of Arabia – David Bowie, Brian Eno, Carlos Alomar

On October 14, 1968.

Prophets Seers And Sages

On October 14, 1968, “Regal Zonophone” label released “Prophets, Seers & Sages: The Angels of the Ages”, the second Tyrannosaurus Rex (later T. Rex) studio album. It was recorded April – August 1968, at the “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Visconti.


  • Marc Bolan– vocals, guitar
  • Steve Peregrin Took- bongos, African drums, kazoo,pixiephone, Chinese gong

Track listing:

All tracks by Marc Bolan

  1. Deboraarobed
  2. Stacey Grove
  3. Wind Quartets
  4. Conesuela
  5. Trelawny Lawn
  6. Aznageel the Mage
  7. The Friends
  8. Salamanda Palaganda
  9. Our Wonderful Brownskin Man
  10. O Harley
  11. Eastern Spell
  12. The Travelling Tragition
  13. Juniper Suction
  14. Scenescot Dynasty

On October 13, 1987.


On October 13, 1987, “A&M” label released“…Nothing Like the Sun”, the second Sting studio album. It was recorded March–August, 1987,at the “Air Studios”, in Montserrat, and was  produced by Sting, Hugh Padgham, Bryan Loren and Neil Dorfsman.


  • Sting– lead vocals, bass guitar, guitar
  • Manu Katché– drums
  • Kenny Kirkland– keyboards
  • Mino Cinelu– percussion, vocoder
  • Branford Marsalis– saxophone
  • Andy Newmark– drums
  • Gil Evans& His Orchestra
  • Hiram Bullock– guitar
  • Kenwood Dennard– drums
  • Mark Egan– bass
  • Andy Summers, Eric Clapton, Fareed Haque, Mark Knopfler– guitar
  • Rubén Blades– spoken Spanish
  • Ken Helman– piano
  • Renée Geyer, Vesta Williams, Dollette McDonald, Janice Pendarvis– background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Sting, except where noted.

  1. The Lazarus Heart
  2. Be Still My Beating Heart
  3. Englishman in New York
  4. History Will Teach Us Nothing
  5. They Dance Alone
  6. Fragile
  7. We’ll Be Together
  8. Straight to My Heart
  9. Rock Steady
  10. Sister Moon
  11. Little Wing – Jimi Hendrix
  12. The Secret Marriage – Hanns Eisler, Sting


This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas