Lou Donaldson: Sunny Side Up

In 1961, “Blue Note” label released “Sunny Side Up”, the twelve  Lou Donaldson  album. It was recorded in February 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Lou Donaldson- alto saxophone
  • Horace Parlan- piano
  • Bill Hardman- trumpet
  • Laymon Jackson – bass
  • Sam Jones- bass
  • Al Harewood- drums

Track listing:

  1. Blues for J.P. – Horace Parlan
  2. The Man I Love – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  3. Politely – Bill Hardman
  4. It’s You or No One – Cahn, Styne
  5. The Truth – Lou Donaldson
  6. Goose Grease – Lou Donaldson
  7. Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise – Oscar Hammerstein II, Sigmund Romberg



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.