Tag Archives: Van Gelder Studios

On August 2, 2005.

On August 2, 2005, “Savant” label released “Fun House”, the 15th Reuben Wilson album. It was recorded in December 2004, at “Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Melvin Sparks.


  • Reuben Wilson– Hammond B-3
  • Cochemea Gastelum – tenor saxophone
  • Melvin Sparks– guitar
  • Mike Clark– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Reuben Wilson except where noted

  1. Easy Talk – Gene Redd, Hank Marr
  2. Fun House
  3. For the Love of You – The Isley Brothers, Chris Jasper
  4. Ronnie’s Bonnie
  5. Love Time
  6. Sweet Feet
  7. Minor Yours
  8. Loft Funk – Mike Clark

In July 1963.

In July 1963, “Impulse!” label released “John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman”, an album by John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman. It was recorded in March 1963, at “Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele. In 2013, the album was inducted in the “Grammy Hall of Fame”.


  • Johnny Hartman– vocals
  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Jimmy Garrison– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums

Track listing:

  1. They Say It’s Wonderful – Irving Berlin
  2. Dedicated to You – Sammy Cahn, Saul Chaplin, Hy Zaret
  3. My One and Only Love – Guy Wood, Robert Melin
  4. Lush Life – Billy Strayhorn
  5. You Are Too Beautiful – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  6. Autumn Serenade – Peter DeRose, Sammy Gallop

In December 1963.

In December 1963, “Argo” label released “Here’s Love”, the eleventh Hank Jones album. It was recorded on October 19, 1963, at “Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Esmond Edwards.


  • Hank Jones- piano
  • Kenny Burrell- guitar
  • Milt Hinton- bass
  • Elvin Jones- drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Meredith Wilson

  1. Here’s Love
  2. My Wish
  3. You Don’t Know
  4. Dear Mister Santa Claus
  5. That Man Over There
  6. Arm in Arm
  7. The Big Clown Balloons
  8. Love, Come Take Me Again
  9. Pine Cones and Holly Berries
  10. My State, My Kansas, My Home

On August 6, 1976.

On August 6, 1976, “CTI” label released “End of a Rainbow”, the debut Patti Austin album. It was recorded April – June 1976, at  “Mediasound Studios” in New York City, “Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood, New Jersey, and was produced by Creed Taylor.


  • Patti Austin– vocals
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet
  • Michael Brecker, Joe Farrell– tenor saxophone
  • Ronnie Cuber– baritone saxophone
  • Richard Tee– clavinet
  • Michael Abene – piano
  • Barry Miles– synthesizer
  • Eric Gale, Steve Khan– guitar
  • Jeff Berlin, Will Lee, Chuck Rainey– bass guitar
  • Steve Gadd, Andy Newmark– drums
  • Ralph MacDonald– percussion
  • Vivian Cherry, Frank Floyd, Gwen Guthrie, Zachary Sanders – background vocals
  • Harry Cykman, Max Ellen, Barry Finclair, Paul Gershman, Harry Glickman, Emanuel Green, Harold Kohon, Harry Lookofsky, Guy Lumia, Joe Malin, David Nadien, Max Pollikoff, Matthew Raimondi, Richard Sortomme – violin
  • Al Brown, Ted Israel, Manny Vardi– viola
  • Charles McCracken, Alan Shulman– cello
  • Chuck Israels– arco bass
  • Gloria Agostini – harp
  • David Matthews– arranger
  • Bob James- conductor

Track listing:

All tracks by Patti Austin except where noted

  1. Say You Love Me
  2. In My Life
  3. You Don’t Have To Say You’re Sorry
  4. More Today Than Yesterday – Pat Upton
  5. Give It Time
  6. There Is No Time
  7. What’s at the End of a Rainbow
  8. This Side of Heaven
  9. Sweet Sadie the Savior

In January 1963.

In January 1963, “Moodsville” label released “Bluesy Burrell”, the 18th Kenny Burrell album. It was recorded on September 14, at ”Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Ozzie Cadena.


  • Kenny Burrell- guitar
  • Coleman Hawkins- tenor saxophone
  • Tommy Flanagan- piano
  • Major Holley- bass
  • Eddie Locke- drums
  • Ray Barretto- congas

Track listing:

All tracks by Kenny Burrell, except where noted.

  1. Tres Palabras – Osvaldo Farrés
  2. No More
  3. Guilty – Harry Akst, Gus Kahn, Richard A. Whiting
  4. Montono Blues
  5. I Thought About You – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Mercer
  6. Out of This World – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer
  7. It’s Getting Dark

In March 1958.

In March 1958, “Prestige” label released “John Coltrane with the Red Garland Trio”, the third John Coltrane studio album. It was recorded on August 23, 1957, at “Van Gelder Studios” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • Red Garland– piano
  • Paul Chambers– bass
  • Art Taylor– drums

Track listing:

  1. Traneing In – John Coltrane
  2. Slow Dance – Alonzo Levister
  3. Bass Blues – John Coltrane
  4. You Leave Me Breathless – Ralph Freed, Friedrich Hollaender
  5. Soft Lights and Sweet Music – Irving Berlin