Tag Archives: Russ Morgan

On August 12, 1957.

On August 12, 1957, “Decca” label released “Rockin’ the Oldies”, the fifth Bill Haley and His Comets album. It was recorded March – April, 1957, in New York, and was produced by Milt Gabler.


  • Bill Haley– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Franny Beecher– lead guitar
  • Billy Williamson– steel guitar
  • Johnny Grande– piano
  • Al Rex– double bass
  • Ralph Jones– drums
  • Frankie Scott- tenor saxophone

Track listing:

  1. The Dipsy Doodle – Larry Clinton
  2. You Can’t Stop Me from Dreaming – Cliff Friend, Dave Franklin
  3. Apple Blossom Time- Albert Von Tilzer, Neville Fleeson
  4. Moon Over Miami- Joe Burke, Edgar Leslie
  5. Is It True What They Say About Dixie?
  6. Carolina in the Morning- Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn
  7. Miss You- Charles Tobias, Henry Tobias, Harry Tobias
  8. Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone- Sam H. Stept, Sidney Clare
  9. Ain’t Misbehavin’- Harry Brooks, Fats Waller, Andy Razaf
  10. One Sweet Letter from You – Harry Warren, Lew Brown, Sidney Clare
  11. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter- Joe Young, Fred E. Ahlert
  12. Somebody Else is Taking My Place – Dick Howard, Bob Ellsworth, Russ Morgan


On January 17, 1969.

On January 17, 1969, “Atlantic” label released “Soul ’69”, the fourteen Aretha Franklin studio album. It was recorded April 17–18 and September 24, 1968, at “Atlantic Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Tom Dowd and Jerry Wexler.


  • Aretha Franklin – vocals, piano
  • Junior Mance– piano
  • Spooner Oldham– organ
  • Joe Zawinul– organ, piano, Fender Rhodes
  • Kenny Burrell– guitar
  • Jimmy Johnson– guitar
  • Ron Carter– bass guitar
  • Jerry Jemmott– bass guitar
  • Tommy Cogbill– bass guitar
  • Bruno Carr – drums
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Grady Tate– drums
  • Jack Jennings – vibraphone
  • Louie Goicdecha, Manuel Gonzales – percussion
  • David Newman– tenor saxophone, flute
  • King Curtis, Seldon Powell– tenor saxophone
  • George Dorsey, Frank Wess– alto saxophone
  • Pepper Adams– baritone saxophone
  • Joe Newman, Bernie Glow, Richard Williams, Snook Young,  Ernie Royal– trumpet
  • Jimmy Cleveland, Urbie Green, Benny Powell, Thomas Mitchell – trombone
  • Evelyn Greene, Wyline Ivy – backing vocals
  • Arif Mardin – arrangements

Track listing:

  1. Ramblin’ – Big Maybelle
  2. Today I Sing the Blues – Curtis Reginald Lewis
  3. River’s Invitation – Percy Mayfield
  4. Pitiful – Rosie Marie McCoy, Charlie Singleton
  5. Crazy He Calls Me – Bob Russell, Carl Sigman
  6. Bring It On Home to Me – Sam Cooke
  7. Tracks of My Tears – Smokey Robinson, Pete Moore, Marv Tarplin
  8. If You Gotta Make a Fool of Somebody – Rudy Clark
  9. Gentle on My Mind – John Hartford
  10. So Long – Russ Morgan, Remus Harris, Irving Melsher
  11. I’ll Never Be Free – Bennie Benjamin, George David Weiss
  12. Elusive Butterfly – Bob Lind

On January 1, 1976.

On January 1, 1976, “Polydor” label released “Hot”, the 45th James Brown studio album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by James Brown.


  • James Brown – lead vocals, arrangements
  • Dave Matthews– arrangements
  • Bob Both- recording supervisor, engineer
  • David Stone, Major Little – engineer
  • Michael Doret – artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by James Brown; except where noted.

  1. Hot (I Need to Be Loved, Loved, Loved, Loved)
  2. So Long – Irving Melsher, Remus Harris, Russ Morgan
  3. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons – Deek Watson, William Best
  4. Try Me
  5. The Future Shock of the World
  6. Woman
  7. Most of All 0 Hank Thompson
  8. Goodnight My Love – Gus Arnheim, Harry Tobias, Jules Lemare

Please, Please, Please

In August 1967.

In August 1967, “Mercury” label released “Chuck Berry in Memphis”, the eleventh   Chuck Berry album.  It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by Roy Dea and Boo Frazier.


  • Chuck Berry – guitar, vocals
  • Satch Arnold – drums
  • Tommy Cogbill– bass guitar
  • Bobby Emmons, Reggie Young – piano
  • Andrew Love– tenor saxophone
  • Gene Miller – trumpet
  • James Mitchell – baritone saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry except where noted

  1. Back to Memphis
  2. I Do Really Love You
  3. Ramblin’ Rose – Joe Sherman, Noel Sherman
  4. Sweet Little Rock and Roller
  5. My Heart Will Always Belong to You
  6. Oh Baby Doll
  7. Check Me Out
  8. It Hurts Me Too – Mel London
  9. Bring Another Drink – Bob Bell, Roy Branker
  10. So Long – Irving Melsher, Remus Harris, Russ Morgan
  11. Goodnight, Well It’s Time to Go – Calvin Carter, James Hudson