Tag Archives: So Long

On January 8, 1970.

On January 8, 1970, “Tamla” label released “That’s the Way Love Is”, the tenth Marvin Gaye studio album. It was recorded in 1969, at “Hitsville U.S.A.” in Detroit, and was produced by Norman Whitfield.


  • Marvin Gaye- lead vocals
  • The Andantes, The Originals- background vocals
  • The Funk Brothers- instrumentation

Track listing:

  1. Gonna Give Her All The Love I’ve Got – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  2. Yesterday – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  3. Groovin’ – Eddie Brigati, Felix Cavaliere
  4. I Wish It Would Rain – Roger Penzabene, Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  5. That’s The Way Love Is – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  6. How Can I Forget? – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  7. Abraham, Martin & John – Dick Holler
  8. Gonna Keep On Tryin’ Till I Win Your Love – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  9. No Time for Tears – Eddie Holland, Norman Whitfield
  10. Cloud Nine – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  11. Don’t You Miss Me A Little Bit, Baby? – Roger Penzabene, Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  12. So Long – Eddie Holland,  Dean Taylor, Norman Whitfield

In December 1968.

In December 1968, “Elektra” label released “The Circle Game”, the sixth Tom Rush album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Arthur Gorson.


  • Tom Rush– guitar, vocals
  • Hugh McCracken, Don Thomas, Eric Gale – electric guitar
  • Jonathan Raskin – acoustic guitar, bass
  • Bruce Langhorne– acoustic guitar
  • Joe Grimm – saxophone
  • Joe Mack, Bob Bushnell– bass
  • Paul Harris– keyboards
  • Buddy Lucas– saxophone
  • Herb Lovelle, Bernard Purdie, Richie Ritz – drums
  • Paul Harris– arrangements
  • Bruce Botnick, Brooks Arthur – engineer
  • Jac Holzman– production supervisor
  • Zal Schreiber – mastering
  • Linda Eastman (McCartney) – photography
  • William S. Harvey – cover design

Track listing:

  1. Tin Angel – Joni Mitchell
  2. Something in the Way She Moves – James Taylor
  3. Urge for Going – Joni Mitchell
  4. Sunshine, Sunshine – James Taylor
  5. The Glory of Love – Billy Hill
  6. Shadow Dream Song – Jackson Browne
  7. The Circle Game – Joni Mitchell
  8. So Long – Charlie Rich
  9. Rockport Sunday – Tom Rush
  10. No Regrets – Tom Rush

In August 1980.

In August 1980, “Arista” label released “Reach for the Sky”, the seventh Allman Brothers Band studio album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Pyramid Eye Recording Studio” in Lookout Mountain, Georgia, and was produced by Mike Lawler and Johnny Cobb.


  • Gregg Allman- keyboards, vocals
  • Dickey Betts- guitar, vocals
  • Dan Toler- guitar
  • David Goldflies – bass
  • Butch Trucks- drums, percussion
  • Jai Johanny Johanson- drums

Track list

  1. Hell & High Water –Dickey Betts
  2. Mystery Woman – Gregg Allman, Dan Toler
  3. From the Madness of the West – Dickey Betts
  4. I Got a Right to be Wrong – Dickey Betts
  5. Angeline – Dickey Betts, Johnny Cobb, Mike Lawler
  6. Famous Last Words – Dickey Betts, Bonnie Bramlett
  7. Keep On Keepin’ On – Dickey Betts, Dan Toler
  8. So Long – Gregg Allman, Dan Toler


In August 1967.

In August 1967, “Mercury” label released “Chuck Berry in Memphis”, the eleventh   Chuck Berry album.  It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by Roy Dea and Boo Frazier.


  • Chuck Berry – guitar, vocals
  • Satch Arnold – drums
  • Tommy Cogbill– bass guitar
  • Bobby Emmons, Reggie Young – piano
  • Andrew Love– tenor saxophone
  • Gene Miller – trumpet
  • James Mitchell – baritone saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry except where noted

  1. Back to Memphis
  2. I Do Really Love You
  3. Ramblin’ Rose – Joe Sherman, Noel Sherman
  4. Sweet Little Rock and Roller
  5. My Heart Will Always Belong to You
  6. Oh Baby Doll
  7. Check Me Out
  8. It Hurts Me Too – Mel London
  9. Bring Another Drink – Bob Bell, Roy Branker
  10. So Long – Irving Melsher, Remus Harris, Russ Morgan
  11. Goodnight, Well It’s Time to Go – Calvin Carter, James Hudson

In July 1971.

In July 1971, “RCA” label released “So Long, Bannatyne”, the ninth Guess Who studio album. It was recorded in1971 at “RCA’s Mid-America Recording Center” in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Jack Richardson.


  • Burton Cummings – piano, lead vocals, saxophone
  • Greg Leskiw – guitar, backing vocals, banjo
  • Kurt Winter – guitar, backing vocals
  • Jim Kale – bass
  • Garry Peterson – drums, backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Burton Cummings and Kurt Winter except where noted.

  1. Rain Dance
  2. She Might Have Been a Nice Girl – Burton Cummings
  3. Goin’ a Little Crazy
  4. Fiddlin’
  5. Pain Train
  6. One Divided – Greg Leskiw
  7. Grey Day – Greg Leskiw
  8. Life in the Bloodstream – Burton Cummings
  9. One Man Army
  10. Sour Suite – Burton Cummings
  11. So Long, Bannatyne


On March 5, 1965.


On March 5, 1965, “Pye” label released “Kinda Kinks”, the second Kinks studio album. It was recorded in December 1964 and February 1965, at “Pye Studios” in London, and was produced by Shel Talmy.


  • Ray Davies- lead vocals, backing vocals, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Dave Davies- lead guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals
  • Pete Quaife- bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Mick Avory- drums
  • Bobby Graham- drums
  • Rasa Davies – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Ray Davies, except where noted.

  1. Look for Me Baby
  2. Got My Feet on the Ground – Ray Davies, Dave Davies
  3. Nothin’ in the World Can Stop Me Worryin’ ‘Bout That Girl
  4. Naggin Woman – Jimmy Anderson, D. “Jay” Miller
  5. Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
  6. Tired of Waiting for You
  7. Dancing in the Street – Marvin Gaye, William “Mickey” Stevenson, Ivy Jo Hunter
  8. Don’t Ever Change
  9. Come on Now
  10. So Long
  11. You Shouldn’t Be Sad
  12. Something Better Beginning