Tag Archives: Mongo Santamaria

On April 17, 2017.

On April 17, 2007, “Universal/DDB Records/EmArcy Records” labels released “Red Earth”, the 16th Dee Dee Bridgewater album. It was recorded August – November 2006, at “Studio Bogolan” in Bamako, Mali, and “Studio Davout” in Paris, and was produced by Jean Marie Durand, Dee Dee Bridgewater and Cheick Tidiane Seck.


  • Dee Dee Bridgewater- vocals
  • Ira Coleman- nass
  • Minino Garay – cajon, caxixi, cymbals, drums, percussion
  • Cheick Tidiane Seck- calebasse, Fender rhodes, karignan, Hammond organ, background vocals
  • Baba Sissoko- background vocals
  • Edsel Gomez – piano
  • Lansiné Kouyaté – balafon
  • Habib “Dia” Sangaré – bolon
  • Alou Kouloubali – calebasse
  • Lassy “King” Massassy – rap vocals
  • “Petit” Adama Diarra – djembe
  • Cheick “Sékou” Oumar – djembe
  • Djifli Mamadou Sanogo – djembe
  • Moussa Sissikho – djembe, soloist
  • Maré Sanogo – doum-doum
  • Lamine Tounkara – doum-doum
  • Aly Wagué – flute
  • Gabriel Durand – guitar
  • Modibo Kouyaté – guitar
  • Jacob Soubeiga – guitar
  • Djelimady Tounkara- guitar, soloist
  • Benogo Diakite – kamalngoni, soloist
  • Mamadou Diabaté – kora
  • Cherif Samano – kora
  • Yakhoba Sissokho – kora, soloist
  • Adama Tounkara – ngoni
  • Moriba Koïta – ngoni, soloist
  • Bassekou Kouyate- ngoni, soloist
  • “Pepito” Sekouba Kouyaté – tamav
  • Moussa Sissoko – tama
  • Ramata Diakité- vocals
  • Oumou Sangare- vocals
  • Fatou- background vocals
  • Mamani Keïta- vocals, background vocals
  • Fatoumata Kouyaté – vocals, background vocals
  • Kabiné Kouyaté – vocals, background vocals
  • Amy Sacko – vocals, background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Dee Dee Bridgewater, except where noted.

  1. Afro Blue – Oscar Brown, Jr., Mongo Santamaría
  2. Bad Spirits
  3. Dee Dee – Dee Dee Bridgewater, Baba Sissoko
  4. Mama Don’t Ever Go Away
  5. Long Time Ago – Dee Dee Bridgewater, Wayne Shorter
  6. Children Go ‘Round
  7. The Griots
  8. Oh My Love
  9. Four Women – Nina Simone
  10. No More
  11. Red Earth
  12. Meanwhile – Dee Dee Bridgewater, Edsel Gomez
  13. Compared to What – Lassy “King” Massassy, Gene McDaniels

On January 1, 1961.

On January 1, 1961, “Fantasy” label released “West Side Story”, the 27th Cal Tjader album. It was recorded on October 18, 1960, and consists of musical numbers from Leonard Bernstein’s “West Side Story” in jazz arrangements.


  • Cal Tjader- vibraphone
  • Clare Fischer- piano, celeste, musical director
  • Lonnie Hewitt – piano
  • George Roberts- trombone
  • Red Callender- tuba
  • Vincent D’Rosa, James Decker, Richard Perissi – French horns
  • Paul Horn- flute
  • Gerald Vinci, Marshall Sosson, Herman Clebanoff, Amerigo Merino, Leonard Malarsky, Robert Barene, Jack L. Pepper, Henry Sugar, Alvin Dinkin – violins
  • Virginia Majewski – viola, VIctor Gottlieb – cello
  • Carol Gotthoffer – harp
  • Red Mitchell, Victor Venegas – bass
  • Shelly Manne, Milt Holland- drums
  • Mongo Santamaria- conga
  • Willie Bobo- drums, timbales

 Track listing:

All tracks by Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim, except where noted.

  1. Prologue (Leonard Bernstein) / The Jet Song
  2. Something’s Coming
  3. Maria Interlude
  4. Maria
  5. Tonight
  6. America
  7. Cool
  8. One Hand, One Heart
  9. I Feel Pretty / Somewhere

On January 6, 1993.


On January 6, 1993, John Birks “Dizzy” Gillespie died aged 75. He was musician, singer, composer and bandleader, trumpet virtuoso and improviser,  regarded as one of the greatest jazz trumpeters of all time. Together with Charlie Parker, Gillespie was major figure in the development of bebop and modern jazz. He has recorded and performed with some of the most important musicians in the jazz history, including Charlie Parker, Bud Powell, Charles Mingus, Max Roach, Stan Getz, Sonny Stit,Coleman Hawkins, Sonny Rollins,Benny Golson, Bobby Hackett, Mary Lou Williams, Willie Ruff, Dwike Mitchell, Art Blakey, Al McKibbon, Thelonious Monk, Kai Winding, Joe Turner, Roy Eldridge, Harry “Sweets” Edison, Clark Terry, Oscar Peterson, John Lewis, Hank Jones, Percy Heath, Roy Eldridge,  Machito, Benny Carter, Lalo Schifrin, Count Basie, Freddie Hubbard,  Arturo Sandoval, Phil Woods, Moe Koffman, United Nation Orchestra, Jackie McLean, Percy Heath, Ron Holloway, Ed Cherry, John Lee, Ignacio Berroa, Duke Ellington, Quincy Jones, Gene Krupa, Buddy Rich, Mike Longo, Manhattan Transfer,  Carmen McRae, Katie Bell Nubin,  Mongo Santamaria, Woody Shaw, Lillian Terry and Randy Weston.