Tag Archives: Doug Watkins

In November 1956.

In November 1956, “Prestige” label released “4, 5 and 6”, the third Jackie McLean album. It was recorded in July 1956, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, and was produced Bob Weinstock.


  • Jackie McLean – alto sax
  • Hank Mobley – tenor sax
  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Mal Waldron – piano
  • Doug Watkins – bass
  • Art Taylor – drums

Track listing:

  1. Sentimental Journey – Ben Homer, Bud Greeen, Les Brown
  2. Why Was I Born – Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II, Kenny Drew
  3. Contour – Kenny Drew
  4. Confirmation – Charlie Parker
  5. When I Fall in Love – Edward Heyman, Victor Young
  6. Abstraction – Mal Waldron

in october 1960.

In October 1960, “Blue Note” label released “Soundin’ Off”, the fourth Dizzy Reece album. It was recorded in May 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Dizzy Reece – trumpet
  • Walter Bishop Jr. – piano
  • Doug Watkins – bass
  • Art Taylor – drums

Track listing:

  1. A Ghost of a Chance – Bing Crosby, Ned Washington, Victor Young
  2. Once in a While – Michael Edwards, Bud Green
  3. Eb Pob – Dizzy Reece
  4. Yesterdays – Otto Harbach, Jerome Kern
  5. Our Love Is Here to Stay – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  6. Blue Streak – Dizzy Reece

In August 1957.

In August 1957, “New Jazz” and “Prestige” labels released “The Cats”, the second Tommy Flanagan album. It was recorded in April 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Tommy Flanagan– piano
  • Idrees Sulieman– trumpet
  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • Kenny Burrell– guitar
  • Doug Watkins– bass
  • Louis Hayes– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Tommy Flanagan except where noted.

  1. Minor Mishap
  2. How Long Has This Been Going On? – GeorgeGershwin, Ira Gershwin
  3. Eclypso
  4. Solacium
  5. Tommy’s Tune


In June 1956.

In June 1956, “Prestige” label released “Lights Out!”, the second Jackie Mclean album. It was recorded in 1956, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Jackie McLean – alto saxophone
  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • Elmo Hope- piano
  • Doug Watkins- bass
  • Art Taylor- drums

Track listing:

  1. Lights Out – Jackie McLean
  2. Up – Jackie McLean
  3. Lorraine – Donald Byrd
  4. A Foggy Day – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  5. Kerplunk – Donald Byrd
  6. Inding – Jackie McLean

In December 1960.

In December 1960, “Blue Note” label released “Byrd in Flight”, the 16th Donald Byrd album. It was recorded January – July 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • Jackie McLean- alto saxophone
  • Hank Mobley- tenor saxophone
  • Duke Pearson– piano
  • Doug Watkins – bass
  • Reggie Workman – bass
  • Lex Humphries- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Donald Byrd except where noted.

  1. Ghana
  2. Little Girl Blue – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  3. Gate City – Duke Pearson
  4. Lex
  5. Bo – Duke Pearson
  6. My Girl Shirl – Duke Pearson

In January 1957.

In January 1957, “Prestige” label released “Mobley’s Message”, the third Hank Mobley album. It was recorded in July, 1956,  at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Hank Mobley- tenor saxophone
  • Donald Byrd– trumpet
  • Barry Harris– piano
  • Doug Watkins– bass
  • Art Taylor– drums
  • Jackie McLean- alto saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Hank Mobley, except where noted.

  1. Bouncing with Bud – Bud Powell
  2. 52nd Street Theme – Thelonious Monk
  3. Minor Disturbance
  4. Au Privave – Charlie Parker
  5. Little Girl Blue – Hart, Rodgers
  6. Alternating Current


In November 1960.

In November 1960, “New Jazz” label released “Forrest Fire”, the fourth Jimmy Forrest album. It was recorded in August 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Esmond Edwards.


  • Jimmy Forrest- tenor saxophone
  • Larry Young- organ
  • Thornel Schwartz- guitar
  • Jimmie Smith- drums
  • Unknown – congas
  • Esmond Edwards – supervisor
  • Rudy Van Gelder- engineer

Track listing:

  1. Remember – Irving Berlin
  2. Dexter’s Deck – Dexter Gordon
  3. Jim’s Jam – Jimmy Forest
  4. Bags’ Groove – Milt Jackson
  5. When Your Lover Has Gone – Einar Aaron Swan
  6. Help! – Doug Watkins


In March 1959.

In March 1959, “Blue Note” label released “Newk’s Time”, the fourteen Sonny Rollins studio album. It was recorded on September 22, 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Sonny Rollins– tenor saxophone
  • Wynton Kelly– piano
  • Doug Watkins– bass
  • Philly Joe Jones– drums
  • Recorded by – Rudy Van Gelder
  • Cover photo – Francis Wolff

Track listing:

  1. Tune Up – Miles Davis
  2. Asiatic Raes – Kenny Dorham
  3. Wonderful! Wonderful! – Sherman Edwards-Ben Raleigh
  4. The Surrey with the Fringe on Top – Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II
  5. Blues for Philly Joe – Sonny Rollins
  6. Namely You – Gene de Paul-Johnny Mercer

On February 4, 2013.


On February 4, 2013, Donaldson Toussaint L’Ouverture “Donald” Byrd II died aged 80. He was trumpeter, best known as founder and leader the band The Blackbyrds, and regarded as one of the pioneeres of the fusion of funk and soul genres with jazz music. He had successful solo career, and has recorded and performed with big number of famous musicians including Herbie Hancock, Pepper Adams, Gigi Gryce, Jackie McLean, Hank Mobley, Dexter Gordon, George Wallington, Kenny Clarke, Cannonball Adderley, Oscar Pettiford, Hank Jones, Ernie Wilkins, Art Blakey, Rita Reys, Elmo Hope, Phil Woods, Gene Ammons, Art Farmer, Paul Chambers, Doug Watkins, Sonny Rollins, Kenny Burrell, Gigi Gryce, Lou Donaldson, Jimmy Smith, Art Taylor, Kenny Drew, Sonny Clark, John Jenkins, Red Garland, John Coltrane, Pepper Adams, Michel Legrand, Dizzy Reece, Mundell Lowe, Thelonious Monk, Chris Connor, Eric Dolphy, Cal Tjader, Sam Rivers, Wes Monthomery, Stanley Turrentine, Guru and Ahmad Jamal.