Tag Archives: April 21

On April 21, 2017.

On April 21, 2017, “Eagle Rock Entertainment” label released “Novum”, the twelfth Procol Harum studio album. It was recorded October – December 2016, and was produced by Dennis Weinreich.


  • Gary Brooker– piano, accordion, vocals
  • Josh Phillips– organ, vocals
  • Geoff Whitehorn– guitar
  • Matt Pegg– bass guitar
  • Geoff Dunn– drums

Track listing:

Music by Gary Brooker, and Josh Phillips, except where noted. Lyrics by Pete Brown, except where noted.

  1. I Told On You
  2. Last Chance Motel
  3. Image of the Beas – music Gary Brooker, Josh Philips, Geoff Whitehorn
  4. Soldier – lyrics Gary Brooker
  5. Don’t Get Caught
  6. Neighbour
  7. Sunday Morning
  8. Businessman
  9. Can’t Say That
  10. The Only One
  11. Somewhen – lyrics Gary Brooker



On April 21, 2017.

On April 21, 2017, “Island” label released “8”, the eighth Incubus studio album. It was recorded 2016 – 2017, and was produced by Leandro Dusso Jr., Brandon Boyd, Michael Einziger, Jose Pasillas II, Chris Kilmore and Ben Kenney.


  • Brandon Boyd– lead vocals, guitar, melodies, percussion, art direction
  • Michael Einziger– guitar, piano, backing vocals, string orchestration and arrangements, conducting, additional engineering
  • Jose Pasillas II– drums
  • Chris Kilmore– piano, keyboards, mellotron, organ, turntables
  • Ben Kenney– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • James Monti – engineer
  • Cameron Barton – assistant engineer
  • Matt Tuggle – 2nd engineer
  • Bryan Dimaio – 3rd engineer
  • Gabe Sackier, Todd Hurtt – additional engineering
  • Gentry Studer – mastering
  • Brantley Gutierrez – art direction, band photography
  • Alberto Erazo – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Brandon Boyd, Michael Einziger, Jose Pasillas II, Chris Kilmore and Ben Kenney.

  1. No Fun
  2. Nimble Bastard
  3. State of the Art
  4. Glitterbomb
  5. Undefeated
  6. Loneliest
  7. When I Became a Man
  8. Familiar Faces
  9. Love in a Time of Surveillance
  10. Make No Sound in the Digital Forest
  11. Throw Out the Map

On April 21, 2017.

On April 21, 2017, “Daylighting” label released “Risk to Exist”, the sixth Maximo Park studio album. It was recorded in 2016, at “The Loft” in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Tom Schick.


  • Paul Smith – vocals
  • Duncan Lloyd – guitars
  • Lukas Wooller – keyboards
  • Tom English – drums
  • Mimi Parker– backing vocals
  • Paul Rafferty – bass guitar

Track listing:

  1. What Did We Do to You to Deserve This?
  2. Get High (No, I Don’t)
  3. What Equals Love?
  4. Risk to Exist
  5. I’ll Be Around
  6. Work and Then Wait
  7. The hero
  8. The Reason I Am Here
  9. Make What You Can
  10. Respond to the Feeling
  11. Alchemy


On April 21, 2003.

Nina Simone

On April 21, 2003, Eunice Kathleen Waymon aka Nina Simone, died aged 70. She was singer, songwriter, pianist, arranger, and civil rights activist. In her career, Simone has recorded more than forty albums. Many famous musicians have cited Simone as their influence, among the others: Aretha Franklin, Adele, David Bowie, Antony and the Johnsons, Dianne Reeves , Sade , Beyoncé,  Janis Joplin , Nick Cave, Jeff Buckley, Van Morrison, Elkie Brooks, Lena Horne, Bono, Cat Stevens, Peter Gabriel, Mary J. Blige, Lauryn Hill, Elton John, Alicia Keys and Lana Del Rey. John Lennon cited Simone’s version of “I Put a Spell on You” as a inspiration for the Beatles’ song “Michelle”.

For her work, Simone received various awards including:

  • In 2000, “Grammy Hall of Fame Award”for her interpretation of “I Love You, Porgy”
  • Honorary degrees in music and humanities, from the “University of Massachusetts Amherst” and “Malcolm X College”
  • Honorary degree by the “Curtis Institute of Music”
  • In 2002, city of Nijmegen, in Netherlands, named a street the “Nina Simone straat
  • In 2009, Simone was inducted into the “North Carolina Music Hall of Fame”
  • In 2010, her home town Tryon, in North Carolina, placed her statue in the “Trade Street”


On April 21, 1998.


On April 21, 1998, “Atlantic’ label released “Walking into Clarksdale” studio album by Jimmy Page and Robert Plant. It was recorded at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Steve Albini.


  • Jimmy Page– acoustic and electric guitars, mandolin, co-production
  • Robert Plant– vocals, co-production
  • Charlie Jones– bass guitar, percussion
  • Michael Lee– drums, percussion
  • Steve Albini– engineering, recording technician
  • Anton Corbijn– photography
  • Cally – design
  • Paul Hicks– assistant engineering
  • Lynton Naiff –string arrangements
  • Ed Shearmur– programming and string pads
  • Tim Whelan– keyboards

Track listing:

All tracks by Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, Charlie Jones, Michael Lee.

  1. Shining in the Light
  2. When the World Was Young
  3. Upon a Golden Horse
  4. Blue Train
  5. Please Read the Letter
  6. Most High
  7. Heart in Your Hand
  8. Walking into Clarksdale
  9. Burning Up
  10. When I Was a Child
  11. House of Love
  12. Sons of Freedom

On April 21, 1992.

The Cure - Wish

On April 21, 1992, “Fiction Records” label released “Wish”, the ninth Cure studio album. It was recorded 1991–1992, at “The Manor” in Oxfordshire, and was produced by David M. Allen and Robert Smith.


  • Robert Smith– vocals, guitars, keyboards, 6-string bass
  • Perry Bamonte– guitars, keyboards, 6-string bass, piano
  • Simon Gallup– bass guitar, keyboards
  • Porl Thompson– guitars
  • Boris Williams– drums, percussion
  • Kate Wilkinson –viola
  • Engineers: Dave Allen, Steve Whitfield
  • Assistant engineer: Chris Bandy
  • Mixing:Mark Saunders
  • Mixing assistants: Andy Baker, William Parry, Danton Supple, Mark Warner
  • Album Cover: Parched Art (Porl Thompson and Andy Vella)

Track lsiting:

All tracks by Perry Bamonte, Simon Gallup, Robert Smith, Porl Thompson, Boris Williams.

  1. Open
  2. High
  3. Apart
  4. From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea
  5. Wendy Time
  6. Doing the Unstuck
  7. Friday I’m in Love
  8. Trust
  9. A Letter to Elise
  10. Cut
  11. To Wish Impossible Things
  12. End