Tag Archives: Wynton Marsalis

On July 8, 2008.

On July 8, 2008, “Blue Engine” label released “Two Men with the Blues”, album by Willie Nelson and Wynton Marsalis. It was recorded on January 12 – 13, 2007, at “Lincoln Center” in New York City, and was produced by Delfeayo Marsalis.


  • Wynton Marsalis– vocals, trumpet
  • Willie Nelson– vocals, guitar
  • Walter Blanding – saxophone
  • Carlos Henriquez – bass
  • Dan Nimmer– piano
  • Mickey Raphael– harmonica
  • Ali Jackson– drums

Track listing:

  1. Bright Lights, Big City – Jimmy Reed
  2. Night Life – Willie Nelson
  3. Caldonia – Fleecie Moore
  4. Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael
  5. Basin Street Blues – Spencer Williams
  6. Georgia on My Mind – Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell
  7. Rainy Day Blues – Willie Nelson
  8. My Bucket’s Got a Hole in It – Clarence Williams
  9. Ain’t Nobody’s Business – Porter Grainger, Everett Robbins
  10. That’s All – Merle Travis
  11. Down by the Riverside



On June 4, 2013.

On June 4, 2013, “Concord Jazz” label released “Inspiration: A Tribute to Nat King Cole”, the 36 George Benson studio album. It was recorded in 2013, and was produced by John Burk.


  • George Benson- vocals, guitar
  • Lil’ Georgie Benson- vocals, ukulele
  • Randy Waldman- piano
  • Tim May – guitar
  • Michael O’Neill- baritone guitar, banjo
  • Chuck Berghofer- bass
  • Gregg Field – drums
  • Michael Fisher – percussion
  • Sheila E.- percussion
  • Janey Clewer, Alvin Chea, Don Chelton – background vocals
  • Chris Papastephanou, Randy Waldman- background vocals
  • Wynton Marsalis– trumpet
  • Idina Menzel– vocals
  • Till Brönner– trumpet
  • Judith Hill- vocals

Henry Mancini Institute Orchestra:

  • Trumpets – Ryan Chapman, Chris Burbank, Gilbert Paz, Jared Hall
  • Trombones – Chris Gagne, Kendall Moore, Stephen Szabadi, Major Bailey
  • Alto saxophones – Neil Carson, Kevin McKeown
  • Tenor saxophones – Mark Small, Alex Weitz
  • Baritone saxophone – Derek Smith
  • Flute – Cassandra Eisenreich
  • French horn – Jon Anderson
  • Violin – Steffen Zeichner (Concertmaster & Soloist), Abby Young, Adam Diderrich, Karin O’Keefe, Zack Piper, Michelle Godbee, Patricia Jancova, Tomas Cotik, Victor Colmenares, James Reynolds, Jonah Osawa, * Rob Patrignani, Arianne Urban, Michelle Mlacker, Katrina Schaeffer
  • Viola – Robyn Savitzky, Kathryn Severing, Marcela Fernandez, Lauren Miller
  • Cello – Joy Adams, Cecilia Huerta, Andrew Kromholz, Chia-Li Yu, Sarah Gongaware
  • Bass – Rachel Hershey, Jeff Kipperman, Yen-Ling Lin
  • Harp – Christina Hardister
  • Dean – Shelton Berg
  • Artistic director – Terence Blanchard
  • Artistic coordinator – Scott Flavin
  • Managing director – Stephen Guerra

Track listing:

  1. Mona Lisa – (as Lil’ Georgie Benson)
  2. Just One of Those Things – Cole Porter
  3. Unforgettable – Irving Gordon
  4. Walkin’ My Baby – Roy Turk, Fred E. Ahlert
  5. When I Fall in Love – Victor Young, Edward Heyman
  6. Route 66 – Bobby Troup
  7. Nature Boy – Eden Ahbez
  8. Ballerina – Carl Sigman, Bob Russell
  9. Smile – Charlie Chaplin, John Turner, Geoffrey Parsons
  10. Straighten Up and Fly Right – Nat King Cole, Irving Mills
  11. Too Young – Sidney Lippman, Sylvia Dee
  12. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter – Joe Young, Fred E. Ahlert
  13. Mona Lisa – Jay Livingston, Ray Evans

On January 28, 2014.


On January 28, 2014, “Blue Castle Records” label released “Croz”, the fourth David Crosby studio album. The first Crosby’s studio album in 20 years, was recorded 2011 – 2013, and was produced by Daniel Garcia.


  • David Crosby— vocals, electric guitar
  • Todd Caldwell — Hammond B-3 organ
  • Steve DiStanislao— drums, percussion
  • Marcus Eaton — acoustic guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar, electric guitar, electric sitar, vocals
  • Shane Fontayne— electric guitar, bass, percussion, vocals
  • Mark Knopfler— lead guitar
  • Wynton Marsalis— trumpet
  • Kevin McCormick — bass
  • James Raymond — piano, keyboards, synthesizer bass, drum programming, vocals
  • Leland Sklar— bass
  • Steve Tavaglione— electronic wind instrument, soprano saxophone

Track listing:

  1. What’s Broken – James Raymond
  2. Time I Have – David Crosby
  3. Holding on to Nothing – David Crosby, Sterling Price
  4. The Clearing – James Raymond
  5. Radio – David Crosby, James Raymond
  6. Slice of Time – David Crosby, Marcus Eaton, James Raymond
  7. Set That Baggage Down – David Crosby, Shane Fontayne
  8. If She Called – David Crosby
  9. Dangerous Night – David Crosby, James Raymond
  10. Morning Falling – David Crosby, James Raymond
  11. Find a Heart – David Crosby, Marcus Eaton, James Raymond

On October 20, 2005.


On October 20, 2005, Shirley Valerie Horn died aged 71. Being singer and pianist, she became one of the best known and most successful female singers in the jazz history. She performed and recorded with many jazz greats including Miles Davis, Dizzy Gillespie, Toots Thielemans, Ron Carter, Carmen McRae, Wynton Marsalis, Stuff Smith, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Charlie Haden, Oscar Peterson,  Joe Williams, Jeffery Smith, Clark Terry, Bill Charlap and others. For her work she had received many awards including: “Grammy Award for Best Jazz Vocal Performance”; “National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Masters Award”, and “Honorary Doctor of Music Degree” from the “Berklee College of Music”.

On February 23, 1997.

Tony Williams

On February 23, 1997, Anthony Tillmon “Tony” Williams died aged 51. He is regarded as one of the most important and influential jazz drummers ever. In his career he has performed and recorded with some of the biggest names in the jazz history, including: Miles Davis, Geri Allen, Arcana, Chet Baker, George Cables, Ron Carter, Stanley Clarke, Eric Dolphy, Kenny Dorham, Gil Evans, Tommy Flanagan, Hal Galper, Stan Getz, Dexter Gordon, Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Wallace Roney, Jonas Hellborg, Joe Henderson, Andrew Hill, Terumasa Hino, Allan Holdsworth, Hank Jones, Charles Lloyd, Michael Mantler, Ray Manzarek, Branford Marsalis, Wynton Marsalis, John McLaughlin, Jackie McLean, Marcus Miller, Mulgrew Miller, Grachan Moncur III, Jaco Pastorius, Michel Petrucciani, Pop Workshop, Public Image Limited, Don Pullen, Sam Rivers, Sonny Rollins, Wallace Roney, Travis Shook, McCoy Tyner, Sadao Watanabe and Weather Report. In 1969, Tony Williams formed a trio, the Tony Williams Lifetime, with John McLaughlin on guitar and Larry Young on organ.