Tag Archives: Gilli Smith

On May 25, 1973.


On May 25, 1973, “Virgin” label released “Flying Teapot”, the fourth Gong album. It was recorded in January 1973, at “The Manor Studios” in Oxford, and was produced by Giorgio Gomelsky. In the “Q” & “Mojo” magazines “Classic Special Edition Pink Floyd & The Story of Prog Rock”, “Flying Teapot” was ranked at number 35 on the list of the “40 Cosmic Rock Albums”.


  • Daevid Allen– vocals, guitar
  • Gilli Smyth– vocals
  • Tim Blake– keyboards, vocals
  • Didier Malherbe– saxes, flute
  • Steve Hillage– guitar
  • Christian Tritsch– guitar
  • Francis Moze– keyboards, bass guitar
  • Laurie Allan– drums
  • Rachid Houari – percussion

Track listing:

  1. Radio Gnome Invisible – Daevid Allen
  2. Flying Teapot – Daevid Allen, Francis Moze
  3. The Pot Head Pixies – Daevid Allen
  4. The Octave Doctors And The Crystal Machine – Tim Blake
  5. Zero The Hero And The Witch’s Spell – Daevid Allen, Tim Blake, Christian Tritsch
  6. Witch’s Song/I Am Your Pussy – Gill Smyth, Daevid Allen

On December 7, 1973.

Angels Egg

On December 7, 1973, “Virgin” label released “Angels Egg”, the fifth Gong album. It was recorded August 1973, at the “Manor Mobile” in France, and was produced by Gong. ”Angels Egg” is the second of the Gong’s “Radio Gnome” trilogy of albums, following “Flying Teapot” and preceding “You”.


  • Bloomdido Bad De Grass (Didier Malherbe) – tenor / soprano  saxophone , floot, bi-focal vocal
  • Shakti Yoni (Gilli Smyth) – space whisper, loin cackle
  • Being esq. (Mike Howlett, spelled Howlitt on composer credits) – basso profundo
  • Capt. Hillage (Steve Hillage) – lewd guitar
  • Hi T. Moonweed (the favourite) (Tim Blake) – Cynthia “size a”, lady voce
  • Pierre de Strasbourg (Pierre Moerlen, spelled Moerlin on composer credits) – bread & batteur drums, vibes, marimba
  • Mirielle de Strasbourg (Mireille Bauer) – glockenspiel
  • Dingo Virgin (Daevid Allen) – local vocals, aluminium croon, glissando guitar

Track listing

  1. Other Side of the Sky – Tim Blake, Daevid Allen
  2. Sold to the Highest Buddha – Mike Howlett, Daevid Allen
  3. Castle in the Clouds – Steve Hillage
  4. Prostitute Poem – Gilli Smyth, Steve Hillage
  5. Givin My Luv to You – Daevid Allen
  6. Selene – Daevid Allen
  7. Flute Salad – Didier Malherbe
  8. Oily Way – Daevid Allen, Didier Malherbe
  9. Outer Temple – Tim Blake, Steve Hillage
  10. Inner Temple – Daevid Allen, Didier Malherbe
  11. Percolations – Pierre Moerlen
  12. Love is How u Make It – Pierre Moerlen, Daevid Allen
  13. I Niver Glid Before – Steve Hillage
  14. Eat That Phone Book Coda – Didier Malherbe