In June 1981.

In June 1981, “T Records” label released “A Product of … ”, the debut Thompson Twins album.  It was recorded in April 1981, and was produced by Dennis Bovell, Mike Howlett, Tom Bailey, Chris Bell, Peter Dodd, Joe Leeway, John Roog and Jane Shorter.


  • Peter Dodd – guitar, percussion, saxophone, backing vocals
  • John Roog – guitar, percussion, backing vocals
  • Tom Bailey – lead vocals, bass, keyboards, percussion, reeds
  • Chris Bell – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Joe Leeway– congas, percussion, backing vocals
  • Jane Shorter – saxophone, percussion
  • Steve Dewey – engineer, mixing
  • Alan O’Duffy, John Hade, Tom Bailey – mixing
  • Jonathan Phipps – cover art

Track listing:

All the tracks by Tom Bailey, Chris Bell, Peter Dodd, Joe Leeway, John Roog and Jane Shorter, except where noted.

  1. When I See You
  2. Politics
  3. Slave Trade
  4. Could Be Her…Could Be You
  5. Make Believe
  6. Don’t Go Away
  7. The Price
  8. Oumma Aularesso (Animal Laugh) – traditional, arranged by Tom Bailey
  9. Anything Is Good Enough
  10. A Product Of…
  11. Perfect Game
  12. Vendredi Saint – traditiional; arranged by Tom Bailey


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.